We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty and pretty”
Review of Vila Alencastre

Vila Alencastre
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$31
Cuisines: European, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasty and pretty”
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Off the beaten track and good for it. Lovely bit of fish, nice outdoor seating area with flowers. Saw some locals eating here, which must count for something.

Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    61
    11
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alderney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Marvellous meal”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Good quality, good value restaurant. Food very good, hot and cooked the way you want it. Very nice setting and ambiance good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank deborah g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“kids with everything”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Attractive place to eat. Enjoyed the food but the experience was marred by the number of families and children. If you like eating in a playground, this is the place for you.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank piedradesol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“#1 on our list of restaurants in Porto Santo”
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

We spent a week in Porto Santo and have to say this was our best restaurant / meal. It was hard to find as it wasn't near the other places but made it worth our while. The chicken on the spit was wonderful, moist and seasoning perfect. The service was spot on. If we ever make it back to Porto Santo this will be a definite must. Also - had we found this restaurant earlier in the week it, we have returned for another meal. Obrigada Vila Alencastre.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Asillc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Funchal, Portugal
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not easy to find but worth it”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Nice restaurant with a nice decor and friendly staff.
Like all the places in porto santo they work with a small number of staff members but you have to understand this because it's a very small Island and I assume it's not worth it to hire a lot of members when you don't have a lot of guests.
Food not beeing amazing it's still nice and you'll find a good value for Money.
My self beeing a frequent visitor in Porto Santo don't have any doubts in recomending.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaikelF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vila Alencastre also viewed

Porto Santo Island, Madeira Islands
Porto Santo Island, Madeira Islands
 
Porto Santo Island, Madeira Islands
Porto Santo Island, Madeira Islands
 
Porto Santo Island, Madeira Islands
Porto Santo Island, Madeira Islands
 

Been to Vila Alencastre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing