We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Porto Santo Golfe

Porto Santo Golfe
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Eastbourne, E.Sussex
Level Contributor
73 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great Food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We went here the first week in October and unfortunately the restaurant was almost empty with only four other guests dining. However, although the menu was small it was excellently cooked and presented with discreet but attentive service. The wine was good value Portuguese from a small select list.
We would imagine in high season this would be more popular as there are beautiful views over the the island. It is also a high quality restaurant with excellent furnishing and decor which looks more expensive than it really is. They will also pick up and return you to your hotel free if charge.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bluejazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    30
    3
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sidcup,Kent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Overpriced & poor customer service !”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

Severiano Balasteros designed it may be but unfortunately I and my 3 friends never got to play it in any form !
We had been advised my our hotel the Pestana Porto Santo on the deals that were available at this course to Include 18 holes buggy and club hire , this came out at around €100 per person which we decided was far too expensive as 2 of our 4 were not actually golfers and were just coming to make up numbers, so we decided that the pitch and putt was our best option at €15 pp , great value ? Wrong ! As many of you will know when playing pitch and putt in the UK you are furnished with a pitching wedge, a putter, and of course a ball which may or may not have a small deposit secured on it. So after walking into the clubhouse we asked to play p&p which was as the hotel had informed us €15 however, we were then told we had to hire a full set of clubs at a min of €25 so we voiced our shock at this and eventually we were told to go downstairs and get some clubs to use foc, so we went down to the club dispensary to be met by a guy who was really not sure what was going on even though we had just had the shop ring him, he started handing us drivers and 5 woods etc so after explaining we were only playing p&p we asked after 4-balls only to be told we have to buy them ! Well that was the last straw as if we had paid for everything they wanted us to pay for it would have cost €50, so we explained how it works in the UK and how we would have
probably come back in a couple of days to play the twilight summer offer that they now mentioned at $105 for 2 players with clubs and buggy, but they didn't seem Interested so we left without hitting a ball more out of principle than anything else ! Now far be it from me to tell anyone how to run a business but to turn away probably $100 on that day plus another $150 a few days later seems madness to me especially when the course was empty and judging by other posts on here seems to be par for the course ( excuse the pun ) ! I really would have like to have played this course but I think a sensible deal with the Pestana hotel , maybe $60-70 with a buggy and clubs would generate much more
interest !

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulBrisenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food and wine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We enjoyed the view of the Golf Course. The waitess han good knowledge of Wine list. We all choose different meals and all were excellent.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cuddley246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Santo Island, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent restaurant!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Portuguese friends recently took us to this restaurant where we enjoyed one of the best meals we have ever had in the seven years we have been visiting Porto Santo.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jennie_wadley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenerife, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“in one door out the other”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

very little to see inside inside few posters few coins couple of rooms lameneted cards with text in english need to take your'e glasses to read them.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Porto Santo Golfe also viewed

Porto Santo Island, Madeira Islands
 
Porto Santo Island, Madeira Islands
Porto Santo Island, Madeira Islands
 

Been to Porto Santo Golfe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing