We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two Star Hotel Pretending to be Four Star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Porto Santo & SPA
LONDON
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Two Star Hotel Pretending to be Four Star”
Reviewed 22 November 2011

This Hotel is really awful. Rude receptionist, dated, tired rooms with no view, No basic requirements such as coffee maker, water, room service etc. There is no way this hotel has 4 stars. Be warmed, this is two star accommodation at best.

We arrived late and tired and our stay began by being interrogated by the rudest receptionist I have ever met. How or why Ms. Coulo got a job in the hospitality industry I will never know.

Our first room hadn't been decorated since the 70's. We we're moved to a 'suite' which was a slightly bigger version of the same tired, shabby, run down, basic room we first saw. The following day we paid an additional €80 per night supplement to stay in a 'villa'. We spent the evening chasing a giant cockroach around the Bathroom and the night listening to more of the same scuttling around the unswept floor.

The Manager that was on during the day was very friendly, professional and helpful and did his best to make our stay tolerable, but given the state of this run down, shabby, dive hotel there was not really a lot he could do.

Do not be fooled by the brochure showing a clean new room. This is not what you will get. We spoke to several people during our short stay and they we're all in disbelief at how incredibly bad the accommodation was.

The last straw came when the receptionist added €8.50 to our bill to make a local call to confirm our address.

This hotel should be bulldozed. It make Fawlty Towers look like the Burj Al Arab. Don't ruin your stay in this beautiful Island - look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for the room in the Brochure and see what you are told.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Flipgun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    62
    36
    25
    13
See reviews for
53
81
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

The room did not appear to have been altered since it was built in the 60s. No tea or coffee facilities in the room and no mini bar. Room safe was charged extra. Some hairs in the bathroom were there when we arrived and were still there when we left. Apart from reception the staff where not very friendly. We had to ask for assistance to get our cases to the room (no lift). Pool area not very attractive and some umbrellas were broken. Got the impression that the hotel did not have sufficient staff. On the plus side the breakfasts were good (althought the orange juice seemed more like watery squash than fresh orange). Lounge area is nice and bright with good views.The location is excellent and the bar by the beach is very pleasant. The beach is first class. With a bit of effort and imagination this could be a very good hotel, but at the moment- - - - shame.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Norman R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Porto Santo Island hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

The staff are always very polite and helpful. The beach is perfect. We keep coming back because we know whether it's for a short break or two weeks, every minute will be fantastic. Our only regret is having to leave.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank crzer0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

This hotel is in the best location on the island, right on beach, close to centre and restaurants! The beach bar has a very good menu and we ate there a lot. I would recommend staying in the 2 bedroom 3 bathroom villa's there are amazing, huge and completly private. Definitely worth the money. The spa is out of this world. We love this hotel so much, next year we're having our wedding there. The manager is fantastic, he's helped us and put up with all my demands! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sebel101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

As other reviews have mentioned the rooms are a bit dated and the bathroom smelt a bit like a swimming pool - most odd, but the location of the hotel is good. The entertainment is poor and one night we waited in vain for a member of staff to appear behind the bar to serve us a drink . Saying all that we would definately go back as the beach is lovely and the beach bar is a good place for a snack and a drink. Nobody hurries you along, you can sit there all day if you want to. The hotel food was good you have a choice of two starters and two mains and you are served at the table. Only had a buffet one night.The town is a 20 minute walk away either along the road or the beach. If you book restaurants a lot of them provide a free pick up service which is excellent. It is a lovely island for a quiet holiday.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue187051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Good as usually.
This is not a cute hotel. Not a charm hotel, even less a modern view hotel.
This is a hotel for relax, with a very nice and educated staff. You are free to appreciate a relaxing holidays without the feeling of time. Don't use watch.
Every thing is very clean and working.
What is unforgivable at breakfast, is the lack of fresh orange juice, and the exclusive Porto Santo watermelon.
Excellent soup on the bar by the beach.
I hope next year to be there, will be the fifth time in ten years.
Its unique to leave the hats, umbrellas and towels on the beach, gone for lunch or a walk, and on return, everything left is still there.

Room Tip: 103, 105, 107 and 109 are very close to the main hotel entrance and parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PESNAREIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Hotel Porto Santo SPA is an excellent choice for those wishing to enjoy in peace and tranquility in beautifull natural setting provided by its environemet. The hotels' architecture is genuine and authentic 60-ies style including the room furnishings, an optimal choice for those that like 60-ies. Moreover, the recently added SPA has understated luxurious flair and even if new, it perfectly matches the architectural style of the hotel. The hotel is surrounded with a tediously kept palm tree garden, featuring a medium size swimming pool with sun beds. The bottom of the garden opens into a hotels' beach side cafee where the refreshments are provided, no need to mention, the golden sandy beach stretches just below and the beach towels are provided by the hotel. I would like to recommend this hotel for couples in search of a peace and natural beauty to enjoy their holidays, for older people because of easy access to everything one may need, or for single travelers in search of haven after buisy urbanite lives they may lead. The hotels web page is true to reality and hotels staff extremely friendly and nice.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto Santo Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Pestana Ilha Dourada - Hotel & Villas
Pestana Ilha Dourada - Hotel & V...
#1 of 1 in Cabeco da Ponta
15 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pestana Colombos Premium Club
Pestana Colombos Premium Club
#1 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
598 reviews
1.4 mi away
Vila Baleira Porto Santo
Vila Baleira Porto Santo
#3 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Aparthotel Luamar
Aparthotel Luamar
#6 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
90 reviews
0.6 mi away
Torre Praia Hotel
Torre Praia Hotel
#5 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
229 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Quinta Do Serrado
Hotel Quinta Do Serrado
#4 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porto Santo & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porto Santo & SPA

Property: Hotel Porto Santo & SPA
Address: | Campo de Baixo, Porto Santo Island 9400-015, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Porto Santo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Porto Santo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Porto Santo & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Porto Santo & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing