We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service that puts a 5 star to shame”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Porto Santo & SPA
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Service that puts a 5 star to shame”
Reviewed 12 September 2012

I have just had my first ever week in Porto Santo attending a wedding that was held at the Hotel. Firstly the staff - never have I met such a polite and accomadating group with the Manager Roul (sorry for the spelling) being a true star who really did make the wedding day so special.

With out question the Hotel fronts down onto the best part of the beech with golden sands and no a stone or piece of seaweed in sight.

Regarding the hotel, the rooms are well appointed and kept very clean, the food choice was excellent and the bar by the beach was brilliant, with attentive service.

The real surprise was the infinity pool which was hardly used by other guest never did we have an issue getting a bed and this included coming down at midday.

This is a real treasure of an island and this hotel and its staff make for an even better holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank langlord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    64
    36
    25
    13
See reviews for
54
81
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I've just returned havin spent a week in Porto Santo. The weather was amazing an we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Porto Santo Hotel.

The staff are incredibly friendly and go out of their way to help you! The pool is gorgeous and so is the beach and beach bar. Food is lovely and very big portions.

We have stayed in a couple of hotels on the island and this is our favourite. It has the best pool, beach and location to be able to walk into town.

My sister had her weddin here and the staff and manager Roel made it a truely special day to remember! Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank fbunny81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
113 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I know that this location would deserve a much better hotel, but, let's be simple and enjoy what the place and surroundings have of offer. A lot of things could be better, i know, but still, you feel at home and you can spend a couple of memorable days.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ZeBanaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
124 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

It's an old hotel, but with a great location. the spa is beautiful, and new, just like the swimming pool. Has mini golf and a bar by the beach. Catch a sun and jump to the sea in 10 seconds :) Staff is very loyalty and knows great english

The rooms are old and the breakfast must have big changes (terrible)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank João F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I stayed here for one night in february. I believe this hotel is the oldest hotel in Porto Santo. The garden is really nice and the wonderfull beach with its famous healing golden/yellow sand is just further down from the garden. The rooms was nice and elegant, but you can notice that the hotel is a bit old and I also wonder why the rooms are noe overlooking the sea. That mentioned the staff are knowledgable, friendly and proffesional. The breakfast very good and the spa next door is great. BUT. Very strange that you as a hotel guest have to pay to use the pool and hamman. As others have written in reviews of this hotel. It seems that the owner of the Spa and Hotel dont understand that if it is called a spa hotel then the guests MUST have free a access to the spa. That is what a Spa Hotel is offering. So that was strange. But apart from this I really enjoyed my stay here and the healthy sand that actually is
pure magic is incredible.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TravellerfromtheNort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CARLISLE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We originally booked into Hotel Quinta do Serrado and had the 'Confirmed with Vendor' paperwork but when we arrived there on 26 December 2011 the proprietor told us by telephone he did not have a booking for us and he closed from November to March each year. We were then taken to Porto Santo hotel and spa as we needed somewhere to stay until the travel agent got it sorted. I wish we went anywhere but here. The beds are so hard I woke up with sore hips and the bathrooms are small and cramped. There are no tea making facilities. The cot we got for the baby was metal and one of the pull up sides was broken so the cot was standing at an angle and was wobbly. My husband ordered a Jack Daniels and coke, a Baileys and a coke and was charged 26 euros - what!!! Also who wants hot dog sausages at a buffet breakfast!!! Totally agree it's either 2* or at a push 3*.

Location is wonderful and outside definitely looks better than inside. Go to Gran Anfi at Anfi del Mar, Gran Canaria instead, pure 5* Gold Crown luxury.

If you want to book a taxi they will charge you 1 euro each and every time.

On a positive note, there was plenty of hot water and clean towels.

Room Tip: A good tip is to stay in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Yvonne-Carlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Porto Santo Island hotels

LONDON
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

This Hotel is really awful. Rude receptionist, dated, tired rooms with no view, No basic requirements such as coffee maker, water, room service etc. There is no way this hotel has 4 stars. Be warmed, this is two star accommodation at best.

We arrived late and tired and our stay began by being interrogated by the rudest receptionist I have ever met. How or why Ms. Coulo got a job in the hospitality industry I will never know.

Our first room hadn't been decorated since the 70's. We we're moved to a 'suite' which was a slightly bigger version of the same tired, shabby, run down, basic room we first saw. The following day we paid an additional €80 per night supplement to stay in a 'villa'. We spent the evening chasing a giant cockroach around the Bathroom and the night listening to more of the same scuttling around the unswept floor.

The Manager that was on during the day was very friendly, professional and helpful and did his best to make our stay tolerable, but given the state of this run down, shabby, dive hotel there was not really a lot he could do.

Do not be fooled by the brochure showing a clean new room. This is not what you will get. We spoke to several people during our short stay and they we're all in disbelief at how incredibly bad the accommodation was.

The last straw came when the receptionist added €8.50 to our bill to make a local call to confirm our address.

This hotel should be bulldozed. It make Fawlty Towers look like the Burj Al Arab. Don't ruin your stay in this beautiful Island - look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for the room in the Brochure and see what you are told.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Flipgun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto Santo Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Pestana Ilha Dourada - Hotel & Villas
Pestana Ilha Dourada - Hotel & V...
#1 of 1 in Cabeco da Ponta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pestana Colombos Premium Club
Pestana Colombos Premium Club
#1 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
1.3 mi away
Vila Baleira Porto Santo
Vila Baleira Porto Santo
#3 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Aparthotel Luamar
Aparthotel Luamar
#8 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.6 mi away
Torre Praia Hotel
Torre Praia Hotel
#5 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Quinta Do Serrado
Hotel Quinta Do Serrado
#4 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porto Santo & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porto Santo & SPA

Property: Hotel Porto Santo & SPA
Address: | Campo de Baixo, Porto Santo Island 9400-015, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Porto Santo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Porto Santo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Porto Santo & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Porto Santo & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing