We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing off-season stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Porto Santo & SPA
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Relaxing off-season stay”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I was seeking peace and solitude on my one-week off-season holiday. For that purpose you cannot imagine any better place than Porto Santo Hotel in March. Only a couple of rooms were occupied and you could have the wonderful beach, garden and pool basically for yourself.

A decent breakfast was served every morning and also bars were open despite the small number of guests. Nothing to complain about service.

You have to admit that rooms are unmodern but in a way quite cute in their retro-style. Age of the hotel can best be seen in bathrooms.

Definitely no luxury, but a very relaxing place to stay at least in off-season.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matkamuisto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    68
    37
    25
    13
See reviews for
54
85
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The location was really nice and the grounds were really well kept. The beach bar was lovely and the staff were helpful and chatty. We found all of the staff really helpful and wanting to please. The service is personal and the hotel has a family feel about it. The rooms are a little dated but they are big and the bed was really comfortable. Lovely to have our own balcony.

Room Tip: The even numbers are the quiet rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank UKPPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as a young couple in late April and we were extremely disappointed. The hotel is in extremely poor condition and is absolutely in way a four star. It is old and there is no atmosphere whatsoever. The rooms are so dated and in poor condition. No tea and coffee making facilities and twin beds pushed together to make a double. They are really dark and dingy and have no view at all except for trees which makes the room darker. The decor is awful. We did not find the staff too helpful. I can see sme more potential to the hotel in the summer months. It didn't help that there were only five people staying in the hotel and made for a depressing atmosphere but whatever the weather one thing is for sure having stayed in many hotels this is by no means a four star.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank xxlauren3xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Porto Santo Island hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Right on the beach, lots of wildlife! Communal areas are stunning and well kept. Staff are friendly although many only have basic English, I didn't find it a problem. Spa is of a high standard but rather pricy even though there is a 25% discount for hotel guests.

Cleaning staff were excellent and went out of their way to notice when you were at breakfast so they could work without disturbing you. Rooms are dated and basic but more than adequate. They include a TV with 30 channels, plenty of which are in English.

Breakfasts were included in the price and were fresh and restaurant staff wanted to please. Other food was average and pricy but not bad. It took 15min to walk into town at a leisurely pace, (not 30 like the other reviewer said), where there was an adequate choice of restaurants and cafes, the best being the fish restaurant in the town square. The supermarket is also there and is very good.

Overall, an enjoyable stay. I came home totally relaxed.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PebblesLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

But hotel is seriously outdated and in need of a spruce up. The spa however is brand new and looks amazing. I was not allowed to use the spa at all due to being pregnant which I was rather annoyed about. The spa was the main reason I chose to stay here.
It is in a lovely location right by some amazing restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shererazade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Although the rooms could be freshened up a bit, everything else about the hotel stay was excellent. The Infinity Pool, the Bar Atlantico, the Spa cannot be faulted and the attitude of the staff to requests is that nothing is too much trouble. Dining on the terrace with a tremendous menu. I have stayed in many hotels in England that do not live up to their promise. But I will go back to this one again and again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jkblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, Surrey
Level Contributor
145 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

This was our first trip to Porto Santo, a wonderful hidden treasure (out of season certainly) to tourists of any nationality in February. The weather was not as it should have been, but nor was it on our first holiday in Madeira and we went back! Whether we return to Hotel Porto Santo entirely depends on them. First the positives - it was open, while most of its beachside neighbours were closed until April; our "villa" was clean tidy and under the circumstances perfect for a hideaway out of the wind when we'd enough of the island's unique and beautiful beach; access to the beach was easy and the town was an enjoyable 30-minute walk along the sand, and the nearby restaurants, all of which were open, welcomed us with open arms, even when we were they only customers. Also the lady who was running the excellent spa, was, according to my wife very good, but did not speak English and was only there for three of our days. Sadly, being made welcome was not the case with the hotel management and staff (with the exception of a jolly trio or even quartet of housemaids who took over each morning for 15 minutes!). Hotel Porto Santo has 94 rooms and five villas. The maximum room occupancy during our five days was five, minimum 3! Yes, pretty demoralising, but as the travel company affirmed afterwards, why not make the 6-9 guests feel really special so we would rush home and tell all our friends about this hidden winter treasure. Ironically, the only member of staff who paid us any attention at all was the desk clerk on the morning we departed! Our arrival was OK but without any offer to show us the facilities, particularly in the villa. The breakfast staff where we were the only diners most mornings - others presumably having eaten or still to eat - just stood around looking sad (though when asked one of them cooked very good eggs), as did the desk clerks, and the folk running the bar. This was at the beach and was also the only hotel lunch facility. However, the palm umbrellas were not watertight and sadly, the weather was not all blue sky, so lunch there was largely not an option. No one spoke more than a couple of words of English, and we do not understand, never mind speak Portuguese, so conversation was at best difficult, and largely involved shrugs, particularly when we asked why it was so empty. The outdoor facilities - poolside loungers, crazy golf, table tennis, were left abandoned.

I won't go on. We enjoy each other's company and we definitely enjoyed the solitude of the five-mile beach, and we may well return to the island. Whether Hotel Porto Santo continues to open in winter and attract more guests will largely depend on whether the owner or manager convinces the travel companies that they will make their guests feel special whether they occupy three rooms or 99!

Room Tip: The five villas - two bedroom, two bathroom, wet room and sitting/dining room with a walled garden a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto Santo Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Pestana Ilha Dourada - Hotel & Villas
Pestana Ilha Dourada - Hotel & V...
#1 of 1 in Cabeco da Ponta
22 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pestana Colombos Premium Club
Pestana Colombos Premium Club
#1 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
629 reviews
1.3 mi away
Vila Baleira Porto Santo
Vila Baleira Porto Santo
#3 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Quinta Do Serrado
Hotel Quinta Do Serrado
#4 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
199 reviews
0.6 mi away
Torre Praia Hotel
Torre Praia Hotel
#5 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
235 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aparthotel Luamar
Aparthotel Luamar
#8 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porto Santo & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porto Santo & SPA

Property: Hotel Porto Santo & SPA
Address: | Campo de Baixo, Porto Santo Island 9400-015, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Porto Santo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Porto Santo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Porto Santo & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Porto Santo & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing