We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vila Baleira Porto Santo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 20 May 2013

If you are looking for a relaxing holiday then this is the one for you, the staff are all very friendly and very helpful.
The entertainment crew are excellent and they interact with the children well, and the older folks who just want to relax, they will sit around and enjoy a good conversation and laugh and be sure to talk to Sara she is just great and a personality to match in fact they all do.
The food is good and if you just prefer plain food then the snack bar will do you a steak and chips.
The hotel rooms are kept very clean and the beds are made daily and fresh towels as well, the wife and I found the beds comfortable and if you need extra blankets they are in the wardrobe.
The best rooms are on the 7th and 8th floor and the views are beautiful looking out over the sea.
The pool is a salt water pool and a kids splash pool as well and plenty of loungers to use, but the beach is out of this world and a nice slow walk is just what the doctor ordered.
The hotel bar is very good and the service is always with a smile which goes along way in my book. The drink is always the local brands and the beer is very good as well.
I found that to have a massage was a little expensive so we decided not to have one, but the rest of the holiday helped us relax just as well.
The holiday on hole was well worth the money and would return to the island and the same hotel in a crack as we know that we would be well looked after.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rickie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmcamartins, Gerente geral at Vila Baleira Porto Santo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and kind comments about your experience in Vila Baleira.

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and let us express our gratitude by thanking you for sharing your positive thoughts about the friendly and efficient staff, room, cleanliness food quality, pools and entertainment.

Your comments motivates us to continue trying to exceed expectations of our guests.

On my own behalf and on that of the Vila Baleira Hotel team, we hope we have the honour of hosting you again in a near future.

Kind regards

Bruno Martins
General Manager
bruno.martins.bal@ferpinta.pt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,000)
There are newer reviews for Vila Baleira Porto Santo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 141 of 2,000 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2013

Porto Santo lovely. The hotel was OK but not great.Very hard beds and the food was poor. 98% Italian guests. Lovely beach. Not much to do s only suitable for a quiet relaxing holiday.easy short transfer from airport, only down side for Brits is Thomson only fly from Gatwick.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cheralyn t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmcamartins, Gerente geral at Vila Baleira Porto Santo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and comments about your experience in Vila Baleira.

Reagrding about your comments about the food, we think that we are now on the right track.

Your comments are very important for us, and we work every day pursuing service improvement to continue exceed expectations of our guests.

On my own behalf and on that of the Vila Baleira Hotel team, we hope we have the honour of hosting you again in a near future.

Kind regards

Bruno Martins
General Manager
bruno.martins.bal@ferpinta.pt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

If you want somewhere clean, organized, a few steps from the sea, this is the place. I found a sea better than Sicily (and I am an Italian and I shouldn't say that). It's an emerald/blueish see, with a golden sand. Just amazing.
The hotel is a good hotel. There isn't much in the evening but a week is just well worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marziatoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmcamartins, Gerente geral at Vila Baleira Porto Santo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and kind comments about your experience in Vila Baleira.

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and let us express our gratitude by thanking you for sharing your positive thoughts here.

Your comments are very important for us, and we work every day pursuing service improvement to continue exceed expectations of our guests.

On my own behalf and on that of the Vila Baleira Hotel team, we hope we have the honour of hosting you again in a near future.

Kind regards

Bruno Martins
General Manager
bruno.martins.bal@ferpinta.pt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

This is the tallest building on the island, so you can always find your way back. Mind you, getting lost on an island this size would really take some doing.
The staff were very helpful and the service at the bar/restaurant very friendly.
The beach is stunning - over 5 miles long and virtually deserted.
Some travel companies will want to charge separately for a transfer - book a taxi, it'll probably be cheaper as the size of the island means the fare can never be huge anyway.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ChrisBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmcamartins, Gerente geral at Vila Baleira Porto Santo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and kind comments about your experience in Vila Baleira.

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and let us express our gratitude by thanking you for sharing your positive thoughts about the friendly and efficient staff and our wonderful beach!

Your comments are very important for us. We work every day pursuing service improvement to continue exceed expectations of our guests.

On my own behalf and on that of the Vila Baleira Hotel team, we hope we have the honour of hosting you again in a near future.

Kind regards

Bruno Martins
General Manager
bruno.martins.bal@ferpinta.pt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The Vilabaleria was a wonderful hotel. Due to the size of our family, we needed two rooms. When we arrived, we found that our rooms had been smoked in despite their no smoking policy. The reception staff was absolutely wonderful and changed our rooms to ones that were not smoked in. Our view out of the balcony while changed was still nice to see.

Our rooms were comfortable. The beds were a little hard, but that was remedied when we put a fuzzy blanket under the sheet, no problem! We weren't there to spend time in the room, we were there for the beach!

The staff in the restaurant were very attentive. As they came to know us, they anticipated our needs and would have a table preset for us and quickly move to get our drinks. The cooks leaned to anticipate our needs as well, especially during breakfast. It was nice because with 4 boys, they managed to deplete things like the bacon and they would refill the buffet for us while we were there.

At the beginning of the week our children were the only ones there. So, we used the kids club a couple of times. Mariana was kind enough to lend us sand toys, because my kids 9 and 7 were happy enough to just be on the beach with the toys. We tried to watch a movie one of the days, but due to technical difficulties and another event that was scheduled, they could not get it worked out. THe kids had fun and we played table tennis instead.

Twice during our holiday we had the unfortunately happening of the wind blowing items of clothing off our balcony, the staff had our items immediately and was kind enough to offer to wash one of the items. I had also figured out that I had accidentally left my sunglasses in our first set of rooms, they again retrieved them so quickly! The amount of attention that the staff repeatedly gave us made us feel like the only guests at the hotel!

The gym was nice. My husband and I used it one day. There is plenty to do and a variety of machines and weights to use. It was clean and well taken care of, a member of the cleaning staff came in to check it over while were there. I did try the Yoga one morning. While the instructor was nice, I did wonder what kind of Yoga she was teaching (as an instructor myself). She did not speak English, so I did not ask her.

We stayed on Porto Santo for a week. We had a lovely vacation it is a beautiful island and so peaceful. Everyone that we met or talked to was just lovely. When we arrived, the island had been in drought for about 18 months, it happened that they received rain and strong winds while we were there. So, while it was not 100% beach weather, we managed to at least walk on the beach every day. It was hard to be upset, knowing that they needed the rain so much.

We took the jeep tour on one of the rainy mornings. Unfortunately we were not able to see the lava forms that we had been hoping to see. But we were still able to see a lot of other interesting things on the island. Our tour guide was really sweet and we giggled with him about his 'American' accent (being American ourselves). We also walked into the Vilabaleira and went to Christopher Columbus home/museum. It was a Euro to get in and the kids were free, thankfully because it was really more about Portugal's history of discovering new lands.

I am glad that we stayed at the Vilbeleira versus the other hotels. As we were leaving the island, we made a stop to pick up others at one of the leading hotels there, the staff seemed warm and friendly, but also all sorts of silly, having costumed animals and such see their guests off

All in all we had a very nice vacation. It is a very green energy island which is very refreshing. There is evidence all over the island in seeing the solar panels and wind turbines. Yay for Porto Santo! It also is very quaint with little commercialization. They have taken steps to keep it thank way.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FaboFinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmcamartins, Gerente geral at Vila Baleira Porto Santo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and kind comments about your experience in Vila Baleira.

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and let us express our gratitude by thanking you for sharing your positive thoughts about the friendly and efficient staff.

Your comments are very important for us. We work every day pursuing service improvement to continue exceed expectations of our guests.

On my own behalf and on that of the Vila Baleira Hotel team, we hope we have the honour of hosting you again in a near future.

Kind regards

Bruno Martins
General Manager
bruno.martins.bal@ferpinta.pt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

This island is a magic place. If you want to have a moment for yourself, relax and reshape your energies, this is the place to go. Don't wait for fancy places or hotel.. Unfortunately i know this island deserver much more, but i am sure time will bring it. The hotel is a common place, service is nice, but a lot of things to evolve!

Room Tip: Try to get high floors.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZeBanaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmcamartins, Gerente geral at Vila Baleira Porto Santo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and comments about your experience in Vila Baleira.

Your comments are very important for us, and we work every day pursuing service improvement to continue exceed expectations of our guests.

On my own behalf and on that of the Vila Baleira Hotel team, we hope we have the honour of hosting you again in a near future.

Kind regards

Bruno Martins
General Manager
bruno.martins.bal@ferpinta.pt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

What a fantastic holiday. The hotel was clean, the rooms where clean and the staff extremely friendly. The food was good although after eating at the hotel several days it was a welcome change to eat out. The hotel has a fantastic pool and the beach is immaculate. The island get very little rain so the sun is usually out. If you enjoy piece and quiet and want to relax with a good book this is the one for you. To see the island, hire a quad or take the jeep safari. Taxi's into town are a little bit over priced so take advantage of the bus service. Many of the restaurants have a free shuttle service and you can book through reception. My advise would be, don't play it safe and go all inclusive. Instead maybe try half board,there are many fantastic restaurants on the island and the menus are in English. The local food is fantastic and the island is beautiful. In a couple of years this place will be overwhelmed by tourists, so book now whilst it is unspoilt.
+ Not a clubbing resort, grate for couples
- A week should be enough

Room Tip: Get a room at the front of the hotel and as high up as possible so you can see the fantastic blue se...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmcamartins, Gerente geral at Vila Baleira Porto Santo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and kind comments about your experience in Vila Baleira.

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and let us express our gratitude by thanking you for sharing your positive thoughts about the friendly and efficient staff, food quality. cleanliness, pools and our wonderfuol beach!

Reagrding your comments we are working to improve guest satisfaction by adding more things to our gastronomy and the opening of 1 new restaurant and a Wellness Bar.

That´s why your comments are very important for us. We work every day pursuing service improvement to continue exceed expectations of our guests.

On my own behalf and on that of the Vila Baleira Hotel team, we hope we have the honour of hosting you again in a near future.

Kind regards

Bruno Martins
General Manager
bruno.martins.bal@ferpinta.pt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto Santo Island hotels
0.5 mi away
Pestana Colombos All Inclusive
Pestana Colombos All Inclusive
#1 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
721 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Porto Santo & SPA
Hotel Porto Santo & SPA
#7 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pestana Ilha Dourada
Pestana Ilha Dourada
#1 of 1 in Cabeco da Ponta
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Quinta Do Serrado
Hotel Quinta Do Serrado
#5 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
209 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Praia Dourada
Hotel Praia Dourada
#9 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
130 reviews
2.0 mi away
Torre Praia Hotel
Torre Praia Hotel
#6 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Baleira Porto Santo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Baleira Porto Santo

Address: Sitio do Cabeco da Ponta | Apartado 243, Porto Santo Island 9400-909, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Porto Santo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Porto Santo Island
#1 Green Hotel in Porto Santo Island
#2 Luxury Hotel in Porto Santo Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Porto Santo Island
#2 Spa Hotel in Porto Santo Island
Price Range: £50 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Baleira Porto Santo 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located about 4 km's from the center, the Hotel Vila Baleira Thalassa was originally built with the intention of attracting to the island who wanted to take advantage of the medicinal qualities of its sands and is the best equipped hotel in Porto Santo. The complex consists of 3 distinct areas: In the main building are the rooms, reception, main bar, restaurant, shops, conference rooms, kids club, games room, amphitheater and indoor swimming pool. Connected to the hotel by a tunnel is Baleira Talassa & Spa, a fully independent structure where all thalassotherapy and spa treatments as well as gym and Diving Centre Rheadive work. Also accessible through the tunnel is an outdoor leisure area with outdoor pool, children pool, outdoor children's room, children's playground, shooting, <>, volleyball and beach soccer, the Beach Club and the walkway beach access. The social areas of the hotel and the rooms are spacious and decorated with light colors and local materials. Open from April to October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vila Baleira Porto Santo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilabaleira Thalassa Porto Santo
Hotel Vilabaleira Thalassa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing