We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing Holiday” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vila Baleira Porto Santo

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Vila Baleira Porto Santo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing Holiday”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Just got back from Vila Baleira and had a very relaxing holiday. Personally I do not think this is a 4 Star hotel, it is in fantastic position and the cleanliness is second to none but as an all inclusive guest you are treated as second class in comparison to half board guests. They always get preferential treatment at the bar, snack bar and restaurant. It is not clear at the bar what all inclusive guests are entitled to, we found out in the second week that we could have a cocktail (only choice of three) but nowhere did it say that. There should be list at the bar stating what is available to all inclusive. Food was not bad but not great and choice limited, salad bar never had cold meat at lunch or dinner and they need 2 ice cream scoops (queue so long in aug with one scoop!). We did not have small children with us but there was not normal children's options. Breakfast was very good and plenty of choice.

Snack bar - staff were miserable and service poor, we gave up going for lunch as you waited so long before they served you and it was not clear the procedure to follow if all inclusive.

Saying all that we loved Porto Santo, hotel in good position and beach amazing. Not a place for night life but very relaxing and get away from it all. Definitely do jeep safari, this was an excellent trip and well worth seeing all island. Boat trip expensive and can be bit rocky coming back.

I thought it would have been nice to have some decking overlooking the beach with few tables and chairs. Good news is we never had to get up early for sunbeds which is a big plus for August and pool area always quiet and not crammed.

A good hotel but could be better with few tweaks.

Room Tip: 7th and 8th floor have best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Micky065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmcamartins, General Manager at Vila Baleira Porto Santo, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and comments about your experience in Vila Baleira.

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and let us express our gratitude by thanking you for sharing your positive thoughts about the location and cleanliness.

This year we have introduced the all inclusive package for all guests and at the momenti we have now quite a few clients coming in this regime. We don´t have guest of first or second class, and we apologyse if for some reason we passed this impression.

We have now all outlets working fully since the beginning of the season, and we think (with few adjustments left) that we offer now a better service and more variety in the all inclusive.

That´s why your comments are very important for us, and we work every day pursuing service improvement to continue exceed expectations of our guests.

On my own behalf and on that of the Vila Baleira Hotel team, we hope we have the honour of hosting you again in a near future.

Kind regards

Bruno Martins
General Manager
bruno.martins.bal@ferpinta.pt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    656
    821
    176
    45
    19
See reviews for
622
732
56
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

enjoy the golden beach and excellent restaurant, incredible natural view, salt water pool and kindnesss and hospitality from the crew, also includes entretainers and activities. great for children. poor games room. nice gym and thalossotherapy center.

Helpful?
3 Thank jcvcrespo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
bmcamartins, General Manager at Vila Baleira Porto Santo, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and kind comments about your experience in Vila Baleira.

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and let us express our gratitude by thanking you for sharing your positive thoughts, especially about the friendly and efficient staff, entertainment amd the Spa Thalasso that we are very proud of.

Your comments motivates all our staff to continue exceed expectations of our guests.

On my own behalf and on that of the Vila Baleira Hotel team, we hope we have the honour of hosting you again in a near future.

Kind regards

Bruno Martins
General Manager
bruno.martins.bal@ferpinta.pt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

this was our 2nd visit here went last july 2012 fell in love with this place hotel brilliant staff great very friendly so this year spent our 2 week honeymoon here would like to thank margeitta and Tania for the lovely touches we made it that extra special

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmcamartins, General Manager at Vila Baleira Porto Santo, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and kind comments about your experience in Vila Baleira.

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and let us express our gratitude by thanking you for sharing your positive thoughts, especially about the friendly and efficient staff.

For us is a great proud and satisfaction that in such special moment of your lives we where up to the challenge.

Your comments motivates us to continue working every day pursuing service improvement to continue exceed expectations of our guests.

On my own behalf and on that of the Vila Baleira Hotel team, we hope we have the honour of hosting you again in a near future.

Kind regards

Bruno Martins
General Manager
bruno.martins.bal@ferpinta.pt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Us-we are two 50-something’s looking for a weeks chilling in the sun. Wanted a shortish flight (3 hours) and transfer; nice beach; decent hotel with pool; and food. Well we think we came up trumps.

Porto Santo-A barren rock. Lacks most resources except sunshine and beach. But what a beach, fantastic. Golden sand stretching the whole length of the island. And the climate? Lovely, shorts and t-shirts all year round. And the people? Brilliant also. Genuine, helpful, friendly. There is not a lot to do here though. Golf, swim, sail, jeep safari. The latter is an ideal way to spend a half day and see the island. Little commercialisation on the beach or in the one town. Little scope for retail therapy. Limited nightlife. But fantastic to chill.

The Hotel-The biggest and possibly not the most attractive building on PS, but functional and recently refurbished. (The island now has strict conservation controls so tall buildings and buildings on the northern, rural side of the island are not allowed. Beds on the beach are also limited).Less than 15 mins transfer time. Bed rooms are a good size with air con. Beds firm. Shower powerful. Large balcony. We chose the half board plus option with Thomson rather than the AI deal as we were not bothered by lunch, which apparently was probably “the” meal of the day. As a result we got drinks with dinner and through much of the day. I certainly do not agree with the criticism from Liley44 and others. There was always plenty of food and we thought plenty of choice. Perhaps not so much cordon bleu for the class of hotel but fine for us. Yes, if you wanted special coffee, fine wine or malt whisky you paid extra. Where’s the surprise? You could pretty much have what you wanted for breakfast. Had a good games room. Decent bar and lounge. Outside is a lovely pool with a well run cafe. There is a gym, spa facility and diving school although the latter was closed while we were there. There seemed to be just about enough beds round the pool. It is also worth noting the hotel also provides towels for residents. The animation team seemed to do a good job although there were few kids when we were there.

In summary, do your research and decide what you are looking for. For us the island was a wonderful place to chill. And the Vilabaleira Thalassa Hotel provided satisfactory, reasonable value accommodation. If it sounds good to you go now because it is very underdeveloped. We would definitely go back for a week, especially as an early/late season break.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank oxfordrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmcamartins, General Manager at Vila Baleira Porto Santo, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and kind comments about your experience in Vila Baleira.

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and let us express our gratitude by thanking you for sharing your positive thoughts with us.

Your comments are very important for us, and we work every day pursuing service improvement to continue exceed expectations of our guests.

On my own behalf and on that of the Vila Baleira Hotel team, we hope we have the honour of hosting you again in a near future.

Kind regards

Bruno Martins
General Manager
bruno.martins.bal@ferpinta.pt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Just got back from 7 nights all inclusive and have to say if your idea of great holiday is walking on 9km of perfect, unspolit, rubish free golden sand with the the bluest of seas rolling in and staying in a hotel where the staff are just so helpful and nothing is to much trouble then this could be the place to go.
it is a very popular hotel with Portuguese and Italian Familes so the odd crying child at meal times is going to happen.
The food was of a good standard and plenty of choice some really good fresh fish dishes and local style food was a joy to try.
met some nice folk in the quite bar all 14 Brits got together most evenings.
If you want burger bars, big all day English breakfast and sky sports bars then look else where if you want Maderia with a beach and a slow pace of life then this could be for you.

Room Tip: top floor (8) front of hotel for best views and shade on hot evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank C0lin1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmcamartins, General Manager at Vila Baleira Porto Santo, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and kind comments about your experience in Vila Baleira.

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and let us express our gratitude by thanking you for sharing your positive thoughts, especially about the friendly and efficient staff and food quality and entertainment.

Your comments are very important for us, and we work every day pursuing service improvement to continue exceed expectations of our guests.

On my own behalf and on that of the Vila Baleira Hotel team, we hope we have the honour of hosting you again in a near future.

Kind regards

Bruno Martins
General Manager
bruno.martins.bal@ferpinta.pt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

My wife and I booked this one week All Inclusive holiday just 10 days before travelling on the 8th July 2013 based on reviews posted on this site. We were not disappointed. We just wanted a quiet weeks holiday to recharge our batteries before child minding duties with our grandchildren during the summer holidays, and the location was perfect.

Porto Santo is a small island with only a handful of hotels and Vila Baleira being one. The Hotel has been open approx. 13 yrs we were told and the main source of custom is from the Italian market consequently a lot of the announcements at the pool etc are in that language.

Direct travel to the island was very smooth with Thomson Airlines and all hotels are within a few minutes transfer from the airport. On arrival at the hotel registration at reception proved a very pleasant experience with welcoming staff and our room on the 7th floor proved to be very pleasant. The room was quite large with roomy bathroom, double bed, wardrobes and drawer space and table and chair inside the apartment and duplicated on the balcony which gave a view across the harbour and the nearby beach. The room was spotlessly clean and serviced daily with towels and bed linen changed regularly. The room has a safe and no charge is made for use of it.

The hotel restaurant is spacious with buffet style meals throughout the week and there is a plentiful choice each day, and food was fresh and tasty. Service from all staff throughout the week and particularly so from Luis and David.

The main building is connected to the Thalassotherapy Centre, outdoor pool and beach bar via a tunnel that passes under the roadway making it very safe for children. The outdoor pool is salt water, not particularly big but sufficient to enjoy some serious swimming or just a dip to cool off. There is also an indoor pool if preferred. Sunbeds were plentiful during our stay but I imagine the demand will increase during the school holiday weeks. Towels are available from reception for a returnable deposit of 7.50 Euro each and can be changed at the poolside.

The Beach Bar is a purpose built building and has a good menu choice (limited if on All Inclusive) but very satisfactory with good food and service provided by Christina and her staff.
The bar will serve alcohol and soft drinks throughout the day up to 6:0pm, however from the 15th July the bar was to be re-opened from 8pm until midnight for the summer season as the evening entertainment was switched from the main building to the beach bar area. The animation team worked hard during the day enticing guests to take part in their various activities, and they also provided the evening entertainment. One downside from a personal viewpoint was their unnecessary use of their Sound system around the pool - often left on loud albeit they had gone for lunch. Good background music YES, but when trying to have a restful holiday it was not always welcome.

The beach at Porto Santo is about 5 miles long and the quality and cleanliness of the and was of a high order. Contrary to what we were told by our rep, the walk into the town of Vila Baleira from the hotel took just under one hour (not the suggested 20 minutes). We walked in along the main road and returned along the beach - the latter being slightly shorter and much pleasanter. There is not a great deal in the town, a few restaurants, bars, cafes and shops , and the ferry terminal across to Madeira but worth a visit. Two espressos and a small mineral water at the Apollo 14 cafe cost the grand sum of 2 Euro (Yes for the lot).

Whilst the beach walk was very enjoyable the one disappointment was the dearth of beachside restaurants - a nice fish lunch would have been most enjoyable but there's nothing there - some entrepreneur could make a killing!

The weather during our holiday was very goof, in the region of 28-30 degrees daily. Our last two days there was quite a bit of cloud but still very warm. Be mindful that you are on an island in the Atlantic and that there is a wind of some description each day. On one day it was particularly strong which made it feel quite cool despite the blue sky and strong sunshine.

Overall this holiday fully met our expectations; a quiet resort, good quality hotel with some very good facilities, courteous and attentive staff that met every request made of them with a smile on their face, and food and drink of high quality and plentiful. We have returned home fully rested therefore objective met.

Rob Wright

Room Tip: Be polite to Reception when you register! The Hotel is "nose on" to the sea therefore mos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmcamartins, General Manager at Vila Baleira Porto Santo, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and kind comments about your experience in Vila Baleira.

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and let us express our gratitude by thanking you for sharing your positive thoughts, especially about the friendly and efficient staff, the rooms, food quality, pools and entertainment.

Your comments are very important for us, and we work every day pursuing service improvement to continue exceed expectations of our guests.

On my own behalf and on that of the Vila Baleira Hotel team, we hope we have the honour of hosting you again in a near future.

Kind regards

Bruno Martins
General Manager
bruno.martins.bal@ferpinta.pt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Unfortunatly we had terrible weather which does affect our perception of the Island.
We have returned this week after spending a week at this hotel. The actual hotel is very nice but the all inclusive deal that first choice offers is very limited. All the evening entertainment was in Itallian therefore we were unable to join in. The evenings were very hard as there is only one inside bar and there is nowhere else to go.The food is not really up to scratch of other 4 star hotels we have stayed in before. Beware of the mosquitoes.
The Island is quiet and unspoilt and one week is more than enough.

Room Tip: We were on 7th floor over looking the front of the hotel. Very good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Essexpeople_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmcamartins, General Manager at Vila Baleira Porto Santo, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and comments about your experience in Vila Baleira.

Of course that with bad weather you coludn´t appreciate as suposed.

Your comments are very important for us, and we work every day pursuing service improvement to continue exceed expectations of our guests. And that´s why we have changed the all inclusive package, offering now more variety and places where to eat and drink in the resort.

On my own behalf and on that of the Vila Baleira Hotel team, we hope we have the honour of hosting you again in a near future.

Kind regards

Bruno Martins
General Manager
bruno.martins.bal@ferpinta.pt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto Santo Island hotels
0.5 mi away
Pestana Colombos Premium Club
Pestana Colombos Premium Club
#1 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pestana Ilha Dourada - Hotel & Villas
Pestana Ilha Dourada - Hotel & V...
#1 of 1 in Cabeco da Ponta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Luamar
Aparthotel Luamar
#6 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Torre Praia Hotel
Torre Praia Hotel
#5 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Quinta Do Serrado
Hotel Quinta Do Serrado
#4 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Porto Santo & SPA
Hotel Porto Santo & SPA
#8 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Baleira Porto Santo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Baleira Porto Santo

Property: Vila Baleira Porto Santo
Address: Sitio do Cabeco da Ponta | Apartado 243, Porto Santo Island 9400-909, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Porto Santo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Porto Santo Island
#1 Best Value Hotel in Porto Santo Island
#3 Spa Hotel in Porto Santo Island
#3 Luxury Hotel in Porto Santo Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Porto Santo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Baleira Porto Santo 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located about 4 km's from the center, the Hotel Vila Baleira Thalassa was originally built with the intention of attracting to the island who wanted to take advantage of the medicinal qualities of its sands and is the best equipped hotel in Porto Santo. The complex consists of 3 distinct areas: In the main building are the rooms, reception, main bar, restaurant, shops, conference rooms, kids club, games room, amphitheater and indoor swimming pool. Connected to the hotel by a tunnel is Baleira Talassa & Spa, a fully independent structure where all thalassotherapy and spa treatments as well as gym and Diving Centre Rheadive work. Also accessible through the tunnel is an outdoor leisure area with outdoor pool, children pool, outdoor children's room, children's playground, shooting, <>, volleyball and beach soccer, the Beach Club and the walkway beach access. The social areas of the hotel and the rooms are spacious and decorated with light colors and local materials. Open from April to October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Vila Baleira Porto Santo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilabaleira Thalassa Porto Santo
Hotel Vilabaleira Thalassa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing