We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“big,tall, rectangular but beautiful view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vila Baleira Resort Porto Santo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed there for 2 weeks in september 2011. Nice staff, meals are OK, rooms clean and even spacious. We moved to higher floor for better view. The best thing is that there are only a few hotels in nearby, so not many tourists are on the island. Almost whole island you can visit by feet ;)

Room Tip: under the roof ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Micky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmcamartins, General Manager at Vila Baleira Resort Porto Santo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and kind comments about your experience in Vila Baleira.

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and let us express our gratitude by thanking you for sharing your positive thoughts, especially about the friendly and efficient staff.

Your comments are very important for us, and we work every day pursuing service improvement to continue exceed expectations of our guests.

On my own behalf and on that of the Vila Baleira Hotel team, we hope we have the honour of hosting you again in a near future.

Kind regards

Bruno Martins
General Manager
bruno.martins.bal@ferpinta.pt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

143 - 149 of 2,163 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

Nice staff, very frendly.Very clean hotel. Buffet breackfast with good variety. the free thalassotherapy for guests every day was a nice bonus. beach just after the pool. nice walking distance to some restaurants. quiet hotel even with a lot of families with children

Room Tip: try to get a high floor,the top(8th) has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank CarinaPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmcamartins, General Manager at Vila Baleira Resort Porto Santo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014
Google Translation

Estimado Hóspede,

Obrigado pelos seus comentários sobre a sua experiência no Hotel Vila Baleira, em especial o elogio ao staff. Toda a equipe que compõe este hotel orgulha-se do resultado do seu trabalho que é a sua satisfação.

Os seus comentários motivam-nos ainda mais a continuar a fazer o melhor para si e exceder sempre que possível as suas expectativas.

Esperamos sinceramente poder contar com a sua visita novamente.

Com os melhores cumprimentos
Bruno Martins
Director Geral
bruno.martins.bal@ferpinta.pt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Great staff ,clean well positioned hotel. Brilliant spa with free thalassotherapy circuit each day. Food was generally good fresh and well made. Beer and wine self service tap with meals. There was some repetition of menu items but not too bad. Always a fresh grill item, pastas and desserts. Pool bar also served really good snacks.
Mainly Italian and Portuguese guests but almost every staff member was multi lingual so not a problem.
Great beach, Friendly people would definetly recommend to anyone wanting a quiet holiday on an unspoilt uncommercial island.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Trd2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmcamartins, General Manager at Vila Baleira Resort Porto Santo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and kind comments about your experience in Vila Baleira.

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and let us express our gratitude by thanking you for sharing your positive thoughts, especially about the friendly and efficient staff, food quality, cleanliness, and the Thalasso Spa :)

Your comments motivates us to continue to work every day pursuing service improvement to continue exceed expectations of our guests.

On my own behalf and on that of the Vila Baleira Hotel team, we hope we have the honour of hosting you again in a near future.

Kind regards

Bruno Martins
General Manager
bruno.martins.bal@ferpinta.pt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We have just returned from a beautiful holiday on this unspoilt island. If you want fantastic beaches, gorgeous views and a top class hotel this is the place for you.
All the staff from the management ,the entertainment team to the waiters in the bars and restaurants cannot do enough for you.
This hotel is now under the new Management of Mr Bruno Martins and he has a passion for improving facilities from previous years...they are introducing a beach bar, new children's facilities, a new a la carte restaurant, a new Thalassa bar and so many more little touches that can only make a really good experience into an all out excellent experience
. We found the food to be of an excellent quality and all freshly made with a wide choice to suit anybody, the choice of drinks now on all inclusive was impressive and of a good quality. We were lucky enough to have a suite and this was awesome!! very spacious with the added touches of bath robes, fresh fruit and bottled water in the room and the furnishings were of an excellent quality.... we did see a standard room and these also were of an exceptional quality and size all with huge flat screen televisions.
The large pools are salt water and there is also an indoor pool all with loads of sunbathing areas and no problems with reserved beds as this just was not necessary... but the best part was walking over the hotel bridge onto miles and miles of golden sand with a blue lapping ocean on your door step!!!! pure uncrowded BLISS!!
The Thalasa Center is in my opinion a world class center. It is free for hotel guests for a period of time each day and offers different pools, saunas steam rooms ,turkish rooms and pools for exercise . The treatments on offer are very reasonably priced and people from other nearby hotels were coming to it because of this. The setting for it was also very spectacular and is reached again through the hotels tunnel
All in all don't take my word for it....GO... try it for yourselves... you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view!! The suites are amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank sauli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmcamartins, General Manager at Vila Baleira Resort Porto Santo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and kind comments about your experience in Vila Baleira :)

It is really a huge pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and let us express our gratitude by thanking you for sharing your positive thoughts about the friendly and efficient staff and hotel services.

Your comments motivate us even more to continue pursuing service improvement and exceed expectations of our guests.

On my own behalf and on that of the Vila Baleira Hotel team, we hope we have the honour of hosting you again in a near future.

Kind regards

Bruno Martins
General Manager
bruno.martins.bal@ferpinta.pt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

If you want a relaxing holiday away from the crowds , come to the Vila Baleira Hotel on Porto Santo.
The moment that you arrive at the hotel you are made welcome by the reception staff who for the rest of your holiday will be more than helpful with any request you have.
The hotel is situated a short walk via an internal passage way to a beach where the sands stretch for miles.
The hotel has two fabulous pools with lots of activities .
The hotel restaurant and bar offers are excellent.
The rooms are comfortable and spacious.
There is even a SPA where you can treat yourself to all sorts of treatments .
I have always had a fantastic holiday here and look forward to returning again this year.
If you are lucky enough to stay at the Vila Baleira you will be wishing you had found it before !

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmcamartins, Gerente geral at Vila Baleira Resort Porto Santo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and kind comments about your experience in Vila Baleira :)

It is really a huge pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and let us express our gratitude by thanking you for sharing your positive thoughts about the friendly and efficient staff and hotel services.

Your comments motivate us even more to continue pursuing service improvement and exceed expectations of our guests.

On my own behalf and on that of the Vila Baleira Hotel team, we hope we have the honour of hosting you again in a near future.

Kind regards

Bruno Martins
General Manager
bruno.martins.bal@ferpinta.pt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We travelled to Porto Santo in July and may I add how beautiful the island is, it's almost like a secret get-away! We arrived at the hotel at about 8.00pm and the entrance is very nice and clean. The check-in staff we lovely and very helpful - and lets not forget about the bell boy, he's very helpful too!! We were given an interconnecting room with a balcony and sea view. The rooms are very very clean and rather spacious. The maids do a wonderful job and there's always bottled water. We had an all inclusive package which was good but very limited. The meals were definitely more for meat eaters as we found my mom (who's a vegetarian) had a very limited choice of food (salad and pasta). THE BEACH IS BLISS! you walk through a lovely path with pink flowers over a bridge and voila, there's the beach - easy access! the pool is clean but to get a sun lounger is quite hard - but I loved how people didn't leave towels on the beds!!!! Don't take towels either they're provided. I could carry on writing forever about this lovely place but I'll stop here. oh... one last thing .... the entertainment team are very good and you definitely can't miss the sales night!!! Have a lovely holiday!

Room Tip: The front side of the hotel rooms have balconies with see view The higher floors have rooms that c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmcamartins, Gerente geral at Vila Baleira Resort Porto Santo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and kind comments about your experience in Vila Baleira.

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and let us express our gratitude by thanking you for sharing your positive thoughts about the friendly and efficient staff, food quality, cleanliness and entertainment.

Regarding some observations you´ve made, I can assure you that we have now more variety of fish and vegan options. Also about the chairs, we have now more área for sunloungers in the beach and pool and we will be very attentive to reservations of guests.

Your comments are very important for us, and we work every day pursuing service improvement to continue exceed expectations of our guests.

On my own behalf and on that of the Vila Baleira Hotel team, we hope we have the honour of hosting you again in a near future.

Kind regards

Bruno Martins
General Manager
bruno.martins.bal@ferpinta.pt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

We spent a week here then moved on to the pestana to be with family fit the second week.this is the place to be in Porto santo,really friendly staff,good food and excellent pools.the entertainment staff really try their best,check out memo he is a star.
Not too expensive compared to the hotel down the road,would certainly spend another holiday here.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Morrim56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmcamartins, Gerente geral at Vila Baleira Resort Porto Santo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and kind comments about your experience in Vila Baleira.

It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and let us express our gratitude by thanking you for sharing your positive thoughts about the friendly and efficient staff, food quality, pools and entertainment.

Your comments are very important for us, and we work every day pursuing service improvement to continue exceed expectations of our guests.

On my own behalf and on that of the Vila Baleira Hotel team, we hope we have the honour of hosting you again in a near future.

Kind regards

Bruno Martins
General Manager
bruno.martins.bal@ferpinta.pt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto Santo Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Pestana Ilha Dourada
Pestana Ilha Dourada
#1 of 1 in Cabeco da Ponta
71 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Porto Santo & SPA
Hotel Porto Santo & SPA
#7 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
226 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pestana Colombos All Inclusive
Pestana Colombos All Inclusive
#1 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Luamar
Aparthotel Luamar
#8 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
107 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Praia Dourada
Hotel Praia Dourada
#9 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
136 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Quinta Do Serrado
Hotel Quinta Do Serrado
#6 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Baleira Resort Porto Santo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Baleira Resort Porto Santo

Address: Sitio do Cabeco da Ponta | Apartado 243, Porto Santo Island 9401-909, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Porto Santo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Porto Santo Island
#1 Best Value Hotel in Porto Santo Island
#2 Luxury Hotel in Porto Santo Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Porto Santo Island
#2 Spa Hotel in Porto Santo Island
Price Range: £56 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Baleira Resort Porto Santo 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located about 4 km's from the center, the Hotel Vila Baleira Thalassa was originally built with the intention of attracting to the island who wanted to take advantage of the medicinal qualities of its sands and is the best equipped hotel in Porto Santo. The complex consists of 3 distinct areas: In the main building are the rooms, reception, main bar, restaurant, shops, conference rooms, kids club, games room, amphitheater and indoor swimming pool. Connected to the hotel by a tunnel is Baleira Talassa & Spa, a fully independent structure where all thalassotherapy and spa treatments as well as gym and Diving Centre Rheadive work. Also accessible through the tunnel is an outdoor leisure area with outdoor pool, children pool, outdoor children's room, children's playground, shooting, <>, volleyball and beach soccer, the Beach Club and the walkway beach access. The social areas of the hotel and the rooms are spacious and decorated with light colors and local materials. Open from April to October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Stayforlong S.L., Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vila Baleira Resort Porto Santo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilabaleira Thalassa Porto Santo
Hotel Vilabaleira Thalassa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing