We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute must whilst in Porto Santo”

Centro Hipico do Porto Santo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come to meet Porto Santo by horse. Enjoy the beautiful riding outdoors.
Leeds
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“An absolute must whilst in Porto Santo”
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

Loved this experience. By far the highlight of our trip to the stunning island of Porto Santo. So good we went back a second time! The horses are beautiful and clearly well looked after. It is a family run business. The guide who took us out was very experienced and knew the horses inside out- very reassuring. The hacks were great and you get to see an 'off the beaten track' view of the island. Definitely the best way to see the place. Take your camera along and the guide will happily snap away as your enjoy the ride. We paid €35 for between 1-1.5 hours ride. Would love to return one day!!! Thank You!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cRuZ31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    1
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow! Fantastic, beautiful and an amazing experience!!!!”
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

This place is so great I am writing this review while still on holiday! The horses are beautiful and the family who run it care for them really well. We went to the centre twice. The first ride we went out for an hour and got taken to some beautiful view points. The horses are so well behaved as well as beautiful! Our guide was a really nice guy and took about 250 photos on our camera in total for both rides. Anyone visiting the island MUST visit the centre it was by far the best way to see the island! We do have riding experience but our guide explained they take many novices out and after meeting the horses they are perfect for both the novice and experienced rider!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice horse riding tour, worth the money!”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We did a one hour horse riding tour on the island which was very nice, especially when we came to the top of the hill. From there you will be able to enjoy a good view of the island from above and the beautiful colours of the sea. The horses which we were riding were very well used to the environment, so good riding skills aren't necessary. The personnel was very friendly and the tour isn’t that expensive at all and definitely worth the money.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for kids and teens........even for the dad....”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Hi guys,

this place is perfect to make kids feel comfortable on the horse. Joanna, the riding instructor is very conscious about safety and she is very good with people.
Even I took the rains again after more than 15 years.
The grand finale was the trip to the mountain. Great to ride without fences.
A must for families!
Great coffee in the garden after the lessons.
Keep it up Joanna!!
Thanks

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hermann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Funchal, Madeira, Portugal
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best place to ride horses and see the best scenery”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Is the best place to experience the best experiences with animals and nature. already had in this place with my family several times a year and always love to walk there and visit the horses doing those wonderful walks. Whenever I go to the golden island not forget to take a little jump there. I am now in the month of September and tou eager to rediscover my horse Asterix!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Centro Hipico do Porto Santo also viewed

Porto Santo Island, Madeira Islands
Cabeco da Ponta, Porto Santo Island
 
Porto Santo Island, Madeira Islands
Porto Santo Island, Madeira Islands
 

Been to Centro Hipico do Porto Santo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing