We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“island getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Living room with entrance door
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room with entrance door
South-East corner Staircase to the first floor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Living room with entrance door
South-East corner
Staircase to the first floor
Master bedroom with one double and one single bed
Family bathroom with bath tub, shower, bidet and toilet
Second bedroom with three single beds
Ample built-in wardrobe space in both bedrooms
Kitchen with gas cooker, electric oven  and micro wave
Eating area with extendable table
Micro wave and fridge-freezer
Our 9km long beach of golden sand
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Porto Santo Island, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jane C
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“island getaway”
Reviewed 27 December 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The house is very well -equipped, and spotlessly clean. There are marvellous views from the main bedroom, and an extremely comfortable bed. There is an excellent golf course nearby, but we spent most of our time cycling, walking, and lazing on the fabulous beach. We found some good places to eat in town, but used the BBQ at the house too. Nice space outside for relaxing in the sun. The owners Uwe and Laura could not be friendlier or more helpful. We had a lovely time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the beach
Liked least: the uphill cycle ride from the town (I'm lazy!)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2014
Dear Jane and Jim,
Tank you for the nice review of you stay at Casa Verde. It was a great pleasure having had you as our guests. Casa Verde has undergone quite an upgrade, newly painted outside and inside, new cutlery and some more plants. The next thing will be an enlargement of the terrasse at the BBQ. We wuould be very happy to see you again at Casa Verde.
Laura and Uwe
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura H
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just Perfect”
Reviewed 27 December 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Casa Verde for 8 days in July, with an 8 year old. The house is large, light and airy, with a nice view of the sea. It is fully equipped and very clean. The beach is a short drive or moderate walk away, and the outdoor barbecue is a great asset. The hosts are very friendly and welcoming, and always on hand to help.

There are shops and restaurants within easy walking distance, and the neighbourhood is quiet, but not remote. We went across on the ferry from Funchal and would definitely recommend this.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
werfu
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
“sea, sand and sun!”
Reviewed 15 December 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We loved our stay at Villa Verde and the island. We looked for some late autumn sun, warm weather and sea to relax and found the perfect spot. Uwe and Laura are great hosts, very helpful on anything you may need or want to know. The house is in a quiet residential area on the hill looking down on the sea. It's about 15 minutes walk down to the long, sandy beach of Porto Santo or to the village center, so you may want to consider to rent a car. The house has a nice little garden and terrace to sit out and enjoy breakfasts and evenings, even in late October. The house is spacious, airy and light, with a cozy atmosphere. Bedroom with good bed.
So if you like the sea, long walks on the beach or around the hills this is the place to be. The hosts can organise diving courses and dives. My partner who loves to be in the sea but has not dived before, did an introduction with Uwe and love it. We will definitely be back to Porto Santo.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Dec 2013
Dear Carine, thanks for the nice review and we sure would like to have you back here.
Casa Verde has just undergone an extensive "face lift" inside and outside and is ready for the X-Mas and New Year holiday as well as for the whole of 2014. The hosts Uwe and Laura are awairing our guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmmaT41
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise!”
Reviewed 27 November 2013 for a stay in July 2013

My mum and I were looking for somewhere peaceful and relaxing to go on holiday together so we could get away from it all! Casa Verde, Porto Santo satisfied these needs perfectly! The island is gorgeous with plenty to explore, yet very local and way off the beaten track.

Casa Verde is light, airy and a brilliantly cosy home away from home. It provided all the facilities we needed to make our stay comfortable and the beds supplied a wonderful nights sleep. The town is definitley within walking distance and the beach is even closer!

The very friendly couple that rent out Casa Verde happen to live right next door and were incredibly helpful during our stay. They were full of advice on what to do, where to go and what to eat!

We had the best time and cant wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Nov 2013
Dear guests in "Paradise", thank you very much for your excellent review. We´re looking forward seeing you again at Casa Verde, which underwent substantial repairs and re-painting during last October and November and is now more beautiful than before.
Thanks again, your hosts Laura and Uwe
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IsabelFig...
Funchal, Portugal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good house”
Reviewed 23 October 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I went to this house with my family and it's a nice place to stay. it has all the facilities, with many beds, all the family can saty there. It has also a barbecue in a large outdoor. The only problem is the distance to the beach but if you have a car is 3 minutes until there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the big outdoor and barbecue
Liked least: distance to the beach
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2015
Dear Isabel,
Thanks for the nice review. Casa Verde has improved a great deal over the last two years - but couldn't be moved closer to the beach:-( The advantage is our quite an extremely secure and safe neighbourhood and our beach toys now include two "body-boards" which our last group of visitors donated to Casa Verde.
Hoping to have you again one day as our guests,
Uwe
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thomaslen...
Mannheim, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
Google Translation

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2016
Hallo liebe Novembergaeste, vielen Dank fuer die freundliche Beurteilung. Es war unsere Freude, Euch hier gehabt zu haben und wir freuen uns auf ein Wiedersehen hier auf Porto Santo. Uwe und Laura
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco C
Funchal, Portugal
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: De tudo
Liked least: O frigorifico (deveria ser maior)
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2015
Dear July guests,
thank you for you kind review and leaving the house in such a clean state. We will be happy to have you again in Casa Verde.
The "managers"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$105
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing