We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, service and idyllic setting”

Restaurante O Calhetas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great food, service and idyllic setting”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We sit outside as the dusk falls and drink ice cold Coral with Tremocos or Bolo de caco. Attentive service and staff who give the time to chat. The Espada is highly recommended and Fire Water to finish. The setting with the Ilheu da Cal in the background is idyllic. We always eat there at least twice on every trip.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank jkblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    131
    50
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Worlds end”
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Another one to visit if you love views. You can watch the sea, look at the rocks, walk on the sand first if you want. Relax and enjoy your meal in a perfect setting.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biella, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food and great view”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

after a long walk on the beach we stopped to have lunch there: an excellent idea! the food was delicious ,the best bolo the caco we had, lovely mixed salad, tasty rice with sea food and wonderful espada with bananas and passion fruit. we strongly recommend it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank viviana754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food great location”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Recommend the house steak and the king prawns. The restaurant will pick you up at the hotel for free!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank acinombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okehampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Super Food”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We had excellent service and super food, all at a reasonable price.
To top it off they took us back to our hotel after we had eaten!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank 404MikeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante O Calhetas also viewed

Porto Santo Island, Madeira Islands
Porto Santo Island, Madeira Islands
 
Porto Santo Island, Madeira Islands
Porto Santo Island, Madeira Islands
 
Porto Santo Island, Madeira Islands
Porto Santo Island, Madeira Islands
 

Been to Restaurante O Calhetas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing