We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grande Hotel-Bom Jesus
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Braga
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
387 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Very good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We paid 49 euros for a double room at this 3 star hotel up a very windy road (N103) within walking distance of the Bom Jesus Cathedral. The room was clean, had amenities like a 4 star hotel, and had a balcony overlooking valley suburbs of Braga. The restaurant was closed except for breakfast but maybe because of this they sell Sagres by the 33cl bottle for 1 euro if you want to enjoy the balcony. There are three restaurants around the corner but when we stayed only one was open for dinner although it was quite OK.

Breakfast is continental, juice, choice of yoghurts, cereals, variety of bread and pastry plus coffee, all included in the room price ("breakfast buffet"). No eggs. Parking is easy because if there are no spaces in front around the corner there is more parking. Braga is minutes away.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw had balconies with views, and we were on the ground floor. So I think it can o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmeem42016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    40
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
28
40
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
199 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

The hotel has all the features to be a good one. The location is very good, near the park and within a short pleasant walk from Bom Jesus. The staff of the hotel is very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast is fine (lacks some hot dishes like scrambles eggs but has wonderful pies). The panoramic view from the room and terrace is beautiful.
But these two important details that are big problem of this hotel.
The showering quality is terrible. Due to the old, or wierdly designed shower equipment, it is impossible to set the optimal temperature for showering. After wrestling with the shower for 10 minutes I had to give up and showered in cold water.
Sleeping quality was also terrible. The hotel is non smoking place now but I suspect that it was smoking for a long time. The room they gave us smelled terribly of old cigarette smell. Even at night the smell was noticeable and it was very hard and unpleasant to sleep there.
Our balcony lacked patio furniture, so to sit on the balcony and enjoy the view we had to carry there furniture from the room. Also the balconies of the neighbouring rooms are not separated with any non-see-through material, so we could see our neighbours when we sat on the balcony and vice versa.
There are no decent places to eat dinner in the hotel or near it. Make sure you come here after dinner or bring everything you need to eat and drink with you.
Anyway I do not recommend this hotel for stay.

Room Tip: Don't be shy and ask for a room that has no smoking smell
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kira_UA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Good hotel, huge rooms, large terrace, fantastic king size bed. Very happy to see clients. Located in national park above Braga with fantastic panaramic views. There are three restaurants near the hotel. There is no swimming pool but there are lots of place for sport in national park. Walking distance to Bom Jesus. Good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexei G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

The attention is amazing, very friendly people in reception and breakfast who have the patience to explain everything you need to know. Location not so good if you want to be near city centre... it's at the top of mount Bom Jesus, but in the middle of nature if you want a romantic or quiet escapade. It's right across the park of Bom Jesus, and it's feasible to walk it down to the city (if you want to talk a good walk), or use the elevator and buses. Rooms are pretty nice, has TV, bath tub, it's clean and in good shape. Breakfast ok, too bad they don't have restaurant service during the evening because the restaurant I tried nearby has awful attention and don't have all the options of the menu available (so take note and eat dinner before coming back to the hotel).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tichyeia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We arrived late afternoon on a rainy day in late September for a two night stay. There were no other cars parked in front of the hotel and most of the lights were off in the reception area. In the hallway to the room ALL the lights were off except the emergency exit lights. The room itself was adequately lighted if every light was turned on.

The room itself was large, built in what doubtless passed for "modern" in 1960, but furnished with heavy dated and dark furniture. The balconies are quite large (through large sliding glass doors) and doubtless the view is quite good in decent weather. Due to the view we had asked to be booked on the highest available level but were instead on the ground floor, no explanation requested or made.

The hotel restaurant and bar were closed. There are three restaurants on the corner, within 150 feet of the hotel, but only one was open for dinner, and we were the only customers (food was okay). When we returned to the hotel all the exterior lights were out.

Breakfast was quite good, a large spread adequate for twenty people or more - but other than our group of three there didn't seem to be more than four people at the hotel. Espresso and cappaccino to order, lots of typically too sweet Portuguese pastries, milk that wasn't UHT, cheese and meat, etc.

I thought the hotel was okay, my wife didn't like it at all, and our friend thought there was mold in his room. The price was very very reasonable (cut twice since we originally booked).

There is obviously something weird going on here, it would appear that the hotel is on the edge of bankruptcy. What little staff we saw were very friendly and helpful (although the night clerk lady disavowed any knowledge of the restaurants next door!). The location is very good for Bom Jesus. We called it "the ghost hotel" - don't know if it was the weather, the time of year (not that late), the economy or what, but the place is obviously in deep trouble. A shame, really, because if moderately updated the positives would shine. Under the circumstances, though, I couldn't recommend it.

Room Tip: Book on the fifth floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DEAinATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
383 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 659 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

This review is very straightforward: terrible and spooky hotel. Despite the great location, everything else is terrible. When I read the reviews, probably I was not lucky, but definitely I would not recommend this hotel. Spoooooooooky.........

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miguel2770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

EXCELLENT - Decor, clean, balcony, location- just opposite nature res., beds, space, attention.
GOOD - breakfast - no hot food, but plenty of choice.
BAD - hotel had very few guests - don't know why, car essential or forget it. a/c was poor. no pool.
AWFUL - restaurant in hotel was closed, had to rely on awful place next door - very limited choice at night nearby and you are forced to use these, or face a long drive in windy roads - hilly conditions.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Navel_Fluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Braga hotels
Hotel do Lago
#14 of 26 in Braga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
São José de São Lázaro
Mercure Braga Centro
Mercure Braga Centro
#2 of 26 in Braga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Garden Braga
#8 of 26 in Braga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Nogueiró
Hotel do Parque
Hotel do Parque
#7 of 26 in Braga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Hotel-Bom Jesus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Hotel-Bom Jesus

Property: Grande Hotel-Bom Jesus
Address: Largo Mae de Agua | Bom Jesus - Tenoes, Braga 4715-258, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Braga District > Braga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Braga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grande Hotel-Bom Jesus 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Grande Hotel-Bom Jesus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing