We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Hotel Ok for 1 or 2 nights!”
Review of Hotel Joao XXI

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Joao XXI
Ranked #24 of 25 Hotels in Braga
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights while traveling from Porto to Figuera da Foz. The hotel has a very good location and is in walking distance from a bakery and supermarket. It is only a 10 min walk to the city center of Braga. Another very positive thing is that the hotel offers free parking just in front of the entrance.
We payed very little for this accommodation and we were aware that this would be like the sing on the hotel says 'low cost'. The rooms were small and did seem nicer on the pictures you can find on the website. There are a minimum of amenities. There was a hairdryer and some soap as towels so the basic things were certainly there. The bed was really the only thing that made our stay here less comfortable. It is not a very good bed and it sounds and feels like you are sleeping on some sort of plastic cover, which is not very nice. Further there were only 2 channels that you could watch on tv. Although we did not come to watch tv it would be nice to have some more channels available.
It would also be nice if the staff in the hotel had better language skills. This is certainly not the only hotel this is the case but it would be a very positive thing if staff spoke better english for international guests.
To resume a practical, low cost nog fuss hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 7StephanieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 10 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2013

The first problem was that I booked this hotel using booking dot com. They accepted my Amex card on the website, but they don't accept it at the hotel. This is the only card I used and I was asked to pay in cash (I pay 7% when I withdraw cash overseas :/ ). The rooms was not really clean. The breakfast was awful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReneJRFernandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

This hotel is very well located. Exceptionally small room, but very good bed. On the top floors you'll close the window and it is very silent. Was disturbed, at 3.am by some noises on the corridor, but overall I had a good night sleep. The wireless never worked, which was very annoying. Very nice staff. Good for backpackers, because it is very close to the city centre.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fadadolar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Alexandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank josefix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
215
Reviewed 25 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Braga hotels
Basic Braga by AXIS
#14 of 25 in Braga
349 reviews
São José de São Lázaro
Ibis Budget Braga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Braga
#15 of 25 in Braga
108 reviews
Ibis Braga
#5 of 25 in Braga
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Joao XXI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Joao XXI

Address: Avenida Joao XXI 849, Braga 4715-035, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Braga District > Braga
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 25 Hotels in Braga
Price Range: £26 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Joao XXI 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Braga, you'll find it very easy to arrive in all points of interest of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Joao XXI reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing