We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Braga Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Braga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tuscany, Italy
Level Contributor
626 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Good value for money.”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Quality at a very good price is the main asset of this elegant, modern, newly built hotel.
We had chosen a junior suite for little more of 100 euros. This resulted in a spacious apartment with kitchen, a lounge, a very large bathroom and a bedroom. Innovative touchs like console light switches, even if a bit confusing, rather seductive. Overall good quality. Breakfast could though be better.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giorgiom60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia B, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Braga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your nice comments concerning your stay at the Meliá Braga Hotel and Spa.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon.

Best regards

Cristina Magalhães
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    650
    420
    118
    28
    17
See reviews for
286
547
24
212
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

A lovely modern hotel but not in the city centre, situated on a busy road with only a McDonalds near by!
Room - nice & clean, good size with high tech touch screen controls. TV in our room did not work & on day 2 of our stay we advised the cleaner who rang through to the reception to advise them & we were told someone would come & fix it but no-one did!
Pool - good size pool but not enough sun beds. Pool was not heated & water is freezing! Although there is a poolside bar it's not manned until 12, the bar man was really nice but as he was on his own he would have to leave the bar to go inside to the lobby bar for cocktails or to collect food orders which meant there were long periods when the bar was not manned
Reception - most staff were friendly however on our 1st day we asked for an iron but was told that there was none available, even though I had emailed in advance to check to see if they supply them & was told that one would be available! After talking to several staff members who spoke very little english & about half an hour later we managed to find someone who could help us!
Lobby bar served nice cocktails but pricey! Didn't like the fact that they allowed smoking in doors so as a non smoker you left the bar smelling of smoke!
Spa - you had to pay to use the indoor pool & spa facilities! However the massages were fabulous & reasonably priced
Overall a nice hotel & pleasant stay

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pp21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia B, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Braga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback in tripadvisor.

All your comments and suggestions will be taken into consideration because our costumers feedback is essential to our commitment to a higher level service.

We apologize for any inconvenient during your stay and we would like to receive you again in Meliá Braga Hotel & Spa for you to experience our best service.

Best regards

Cristina Magalhães
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, Korea
Level Contributor
152 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I stayed at this hotel for the conference held in University of Minho nearby. Originally I had concern that this hotel is away from the traditional city center. When I arrived there, the hotel looked alone, as there was nothing but main street.
But I am satisfied with staying at Melia. It was easy to go to the city center with public transportation. The hotel is modern and clean. The room is decorated elegantly with modern high technology. On top of that, I could walk (a little bit climb!) to the famous Bom Jesus from the hotel. It was a nice walking. This hotel is nice to stay in Braga.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim_Creator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia B, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Braga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments in tripadvisor concerning your stay at the Meliá Braga Hotel & Spa.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience and we look forward to welcome you back at the Meliá Braga Hotel & Spa.

Best regards

Cristina Magalhães
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
291 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Stayed there for a full week in a business trip and I must say I've enjoyed everything!

1- The service was outstanding, meaning the personal was very kind and always there to provide you with assistance
2- Room was great! Very clean and with an excellent decoration. The only annoying this I can not concerns with the control for the light and AC. When you enter the room at night you see nothing and the control to turn the lights on cannot be seen. Very often you turn all light on and change the temperature of the air-condition.
3 - Pool is also very nice - big enough, but not so clean as it should be. Also, sunbeds are not enough, they should add a few more, but not critical since you can lie down on the grass.
4 - Breakfast is good and with good variety. Dinner is great - congrats to the chief. Especially a dessert I had as a suggestion - apple crumble, but everything else was super.
5 - Spa, with a bit of a noise - from the classes being held there. The massage I had was 6 starts.

Next time going to Braga, in business or family trip, I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Excellent view from higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMA1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia B, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Braga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments concerning your stay at the Meliá Braga Hotel and Spa on tripadvisor.
We really appreciate your positive feedback and your suggestions are also very important to us because it helps to improve the quality of the service.
The light and air conditionned system consists of an intuitive touch panel. Our staff is always delighted to explain to our customers how to work with these functions.

Looking forward to receive you again very soon.

Best regards

Cristina Magalhães
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Gastor, Spain
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

My wife, 5 year old son, 2 year old daughter and I decided to treat ourselves (as we have been traveling for 11 months throughout Europe) and we stayed for an evening at the Melia Braga and we were not disappointed. The Junior Suite was HUGE and very well put together. We loved the pool, steam room and sauna and the food at the restaurant downstairs was delicious.

We were also surprised as the price that we were given was quite reasonable. Also, all of the front desk employees were extremely nice and helpful (they even sent the hotel's engineer to help us when our car door broke).

We would HIGHLY recommend the Melia Braga and will definitely back back to visit someday.

Room Tip: The Junior Suite was huge and was really nice / well put together. We absolutely loved the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aejae212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia B, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Braga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the very nice comments on your stay at the Meliá Braga Hotel & Spa.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience, our facilities and staff.
The Meliá Braga´s team makes all the efforts to make all our guests feel very welcome. I will share with them your appreciation.

I also want to thank you for recommending our hotel and hope to receive you again at the Meliá Braga Hotel & Spa very soon.


Best regards,

Cristina Magalhães
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

I have stayed in this hotel for one night. The hotel is fantastic 5* hotel. the room is really nice and comfortable. The gym is simple mas but with the hi-tech fitness machines. The internal and external pool are really good for take some relax after a work day. The breakfast could have a little bit more options but was nice. I will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xfparreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia B, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Braga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Google Translation
Caro Sr. Parreira,

Foi com muito agrado que recebemos os seus simpáticos comentários relativos à sua estadia no Meliá Braga Hotel & spa.

Esperamos continuar à altura das suas expectativas quando nos visitar de novo pois o nosso staff trabalha diariamente nesse sentido.

Melhores cumprimentos

Cristina Magalhães
Guest Experience Manager


.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

A very nice and new Hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. When we arrived our reservation had been canceled due to an error. The front desk staff did everything to arrange an accommodation for us. Due to a pretty much fully booked hotel that wasn't easy. We ended up with a very nice and spacey room after all. The room was very modern and well equipped. Excellent bed and nice bath and toilet installation.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mj4474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia B, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Braga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the nice comments on tripadvisor.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Meliá Braga Hotel & Spa.

Our goal is to always provide our guests an unforgettable experience.


I hope welcoming you again at the Meliá Braga Hotel & Spa very soon.

Best regards

Cristina Magalhães
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braga
São José de São Lázaro
Mercure Braga Centro
Mercure Braga Centro
#2 of 26 in Braga
445 reviews
Villa Garden Braga
#6 of 26 in Braga
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Braga
#4 of 26 in Braga
367 reviews
Santa Luzia Arthotel
#4 of 19 in Guimaraes
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Braga Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Braga Hotel & Spa

Property: Melia Braga Hotel & Spa
Address: Av. General Carrilho da Silva Pinto, Nr. 8, Braga 4715-380, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Braga District > Braga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Braga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Braga Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new design Hotel, for leisure or work, near the Minho University, Nanotechnology Center, Bom Jesus, Sameiro, this is the perfect Hotel & Spa to stay in North of Portugal. Sá Carneiro International Airport it´s only 50kms and the nearest beach is 30kms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Melia, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Prestigia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Braga Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing