We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Basic Braga by AXIS
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Braga
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Good basic modern hotel. Basic Ikea style modern room.

If used with the CP special promotion it can be as low as 25 euros per room breakfast included. If paid separately breakfast is definitively not worth it.

Entrance to the hotel directly from lane 1 of the train station.

Hotel is 15 mins walking to the centre (uphill).

Hotel's restaurant is good quality for the price, but closes on Sundays.

Wifi is payed and works in some rooms not in others.

Totally worth it if you get the 25 euros per room price. Otherwise the Ibis in the centre has nicer rooms and location for 10 euros more.

Room Tip: Choose a room to the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 40 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

I stayed 2 times in the hotel. First time was a good deal considering the low price paid...25€. But the price can change considering how full it is. On my last stay they charged near 50€, plus breakfast (almost 5)€.for this price you can get better options in the city.

The hotel is very basic, don´t be expecting fancy things. No decoration, boring colours, vending machines on the ground floor, car park is oublic and requires payment, good internet speed, noisy area, but on the other side good location because you can walk to the city center and to find a restaurant. My suggestion, don´t pay the breakfast and go find some option around. 5€ is expensive for what you get, it´s very basic maybe even more than Ibis breakfast standard.

short story, if you can get a very low price for one or 2 nights only with any fancy things, use the chance to save some money and win a good deal. if the price is not real low comparin got the other hotels in the city, move on and choose other option.

Do I will return? May be not, only if I can get the price of 25€, otherwise I´ll skip it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henrique d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Very close to the city centre and to the train station.
Great service.
Simple and good breakfast.
Quiet room with all the basic necessities.
Parking available for a little extra money.
Nice and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We are 2 middle age couples and we stayed in this hotel last weekend for just one night. It's modern and minimal (basic) in decoration. All you need for just one night. It's clean and cheap. The bedroom is small, specially the bathroom which is very, very small. One of my friends is 1,90mt high and had some problem moving around in that small space. The room has no closet, just a couple of hangers on the wall. The hotel serves a simple breakfast with apples, artificial orange juice, bread, croissants, butter, jam, cheese, ham, cerials, coffee, tea, milk, and chocolate. You may use the parking area just outside the hotel, reserved for clients. It's right next to the train station and in the central part of the city.

Room Tip: Had no problem with the rising sun nor the outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackieCLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Yes it's basic but just as good as other hotels we've stayed in and paid a higher price.
The rooms are clean ,the beds are comfortable enough for a night or two. The TV had lots of channels (in English)
We paid 5 euros for breakfast, which was well worth it.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the road. It was very noisy. Ask for one facing the train station
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pipistral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

As it says it is basic but excellent value for a city break stop over. Not sure I would want to spend more than few nights there but that is just my opinion. Very clean hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Car park entrance next to roundabout near train station, Can be a bit busy and difficult to find. But overall good value and location.

Room Tip: Our high room was next to the road with a bit of traffic noise. Maybe a room on the other side might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Hotel very clean and as the name said very basic but that is what you payed for. The best thing about this hotel is staff, kind , friendly & helpful.
If I ever go to Braga again I know for sure where am I going to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Braga hotels
São José de São Lázaro
Ibis Budget Braga Centro
Ibis Braga
#3 of 25 in Braga
410 reviews
Comfort Inn Braga
#13 of 25 in Braga
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
São José de São Lázaro
Mercure Braga Centro
Mercure Braga Centro
#2 of 25 in Braga
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basic Braga by AXIS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basic Braga by AXIS

Address: Largo Maximinos, Braga 4700, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Braga District > Braga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Braga
Price Range: £23 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Basic Braga by AXIS 2*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Basic Braga by AXIS reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing