We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view!”
Review of Do Elevador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Do Elevador
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Braga
Reviewed 12 April 2011

I stayed in Hotel do Elevador for five nights as a Prestige Travel client.
It is very beautiful architectonically and has a privileged location, with wonderful surroundings and an amazing view over the city of Braga. Although the rooms are a bit small and the decoration is poor, in need of a room remodeling. The bathroom, on the other hand, seemed recently renovated and was very spacious (almost as big as the bedroom)!

Unfortunately the room assigned to us didn’t have wireless internet, besides during our visit a group of youngsters stayed at the hotel, which made clear its problems in sound isolation.

The breakfast was rich and delicious, the restaurant staff very friendly and the view delightful! However I made a reservation for dinner and when we arrived they told us to wait, not acceptable. The food was good and the presentation as well but there was a lack in vegetarian dishes, the buffet of deserts saved the dinner!

The hotel has a bike rental service, however they were all broken, despite of the efforts of the kind staff. The reception staff was also very welcoming and friendly, always trying to help and make our stay pleasant!

I hope Hotel do Elevador overcomes these failures.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiMacedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 19 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2011

Nearby attractions are fabulous. Services are good, i didn't try the Restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreGSTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2011

Not being the best navigators, we were intimidated by the possibility of circling Braga streets in search of a hotel. I remembered from the literature that there were several hotels at Bom Jesus do Monte and, as we were arriving in late afternoon, we drove directly there -- no parking problems and Hotel do Elevador (on the same level as the Santuario do Bom Jesus do Monte) offered a room with a spectacular view of the gardens and city of Braga - and volunteered a small discount! It is modern, clean, friendly with a fine restaurant (also with view of the town). There is a common owner for several of the hotels at Bom Jesus, but the restaurant is in Hotel do Elevador (at the top of the finicular). To me it was romantic; my husband was more impressed about spotting the soccer stadium! We enjoyed strolling around the church and gardens. The next day we went down to explore Braga at a time when the traffic wasn't so difficult. The hotel receptionist going off duty even led us down the hill to make sure we got the right turn off. In all, a great spontaneous experience.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jxschode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2009

You get what you pay for I suppose. A reasonably priced hotel with a great view. Rooms are musty, beds hard. Internet is 8 euros an hour and can only be accessed in the lobby on your own computer or by walking up the hill to the one computer shared by other hotels (still costs 8 euros!). Staff was friendly but appears to be on strict orders to recommend only the over-priced prix-fix menu at the hotel restuarant. Found out after spending 40+ euros that one can buy a light lunch right next door! Our experiences (including the misleading food option information) was shared by others at our international conference.
Unfortunately this is said to be the best option in Braga...I would advise staying in another place/city and commuting into town.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2005

We have just came from a four days holidays at Hotel do Elevador at Monte do Bom Jesus near the city of Braga. The location is excelent and the view is great! You can relax there because it isn't in the middle of the city and it's surrounded by beautiful gardens.
The Hotel is confortable (not to fancy, but sufficient), the service is normal, the people are nice and the breakfast is good (continental breakfast). The restaurant is famous in that area. We just ate there once and didn't get that amazed about it...probably we had some bad luck with our choice! :(
It's a hotel that we would like to return some day!

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HelenaLisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank karli0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Bursiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Braga hotels
Nogueiró
Hotel Do Templo
Hotel Do Templo
#14 of 25 in Braga
158 reviews
Nogueiró
Hotel do Parque
Hotel do Parque
#6 of 25 in Braga
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
São José de São Lázaro
Mercure Braga Centro
Mercure Braga Centro
#2 of 25 in Braga
485 reviews
Grande Hotel-Bom Jesus
#11 of 25 in Braga
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Do Elevador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Do Elevador

Address: Rua do Bom Jesus, Braga 4715-422, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Braga District > Braga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Braga
#7 Luxury Hotel in Braga
Price Range: £51 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Do Elevador 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private hillside villa furnished in a plush manner with antiques, paintings and objects d'art - In the suburbs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Do Elevador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Do Elevador Braga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing