We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Surprise in Braga”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Braga Centro
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Braga
Certificate of Excellence
Bellingham WA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A Surprise in Braga”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We enjoyed our 5 night stay here very much although it got off to a rough start. We started off in a large suite with a great view in the front of the hotel, but discovered that the A/C in the major sitting room wasn't working and that windows in the front of the hotel get sun most of the day. It was a hot day and temperatures for the next few days were to be about 90 degrees, so we needed to change rooms. We were offered a room at the end farthest from our current room in a different wing. When I checked it out, it smelled of sewer gas. The next room offered (in the same wing) smelled fine until we turned on the A/C and then it smelled strongly of sewer gas. We thought we were going to have to change hotels, when the woman at the desk found a room that was ideal for us. It smelled fine and had two windows that got no sun after noon.(room 701) We like a cool room and like to keep our windows open. It was also a very quiet room. Perfect. We hope they get the sewer gas issue resolved whatever its cause, because otherwise we thought our stay here was wonderful.

The location was great, the rooms were large, the A/C kept the room cool, there was a capsule coffee maker in the room, good closet space, the bathroom was very large. It was all well thought out. The real star for us though was how good we thought the food and the service in the restaurant was. The staff is attentive and cordial and provides a level of service far in excess of what we expected and at a level of fine restaurants. The menu had good variety, and there were also daily specials. The ambience in the restaurant and bar was pleasant, and there was a large terrace area adjacent where one could eat and drink outside.

The TV had lots of channels which included a couple of English speaking movie channels with Portuguese subtitles. We haven't had much English speaking TV on our month long trip.

We thought this hotel offered exceptional value for the quality of the room and the level of service provided. If not for the smell issue, this would have been an excellent rating.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ontheroad4now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARGARIDA G, Gerente de recepção at Mercure Braga Centro, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Nice stay with a happy end, this is the most important.
We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay.
Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    218
    30
    11
    4
See reviews for
85
181
20
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We – a grown up couple - stayed there for two nights on Eastern vacation. Staff was very helpful and attentive to your need. The architecture and design were very clean and with a Scandinavian touch: open space with lot of light. The newly restored room we stayed in was large, clean and had separate sitting room and sleeping room, and a balcony. Breakfast was OK, but we preferred to go to the Old City for some coffee and croissants at some of the local places. The Old City is only 5 - 10 minutes’ walk from the hotel, and we also walked from the hotel to the railroad station in 25 minutes. Several bus lines stop outside the hotel, also #2 that takes you to Bom Jesus – a must when you are in Braga. We got a special discount on the price, but even without that, this is the best hotel we have stayed on in Portugal.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with balcony, and got one on the 3th floor. Some noice from the street traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oehnaxos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here one night. The hotel is very comfortable and the staff is very nice and helpfull. The location is close to the historic center and perfect to visit the city. The food at the restaurant is good but the we had to wait some time to have our meal ready. In holidays no problem ;-). I will return if i visit Braga again

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rui1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portugal
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Spacious room for a great price, terrific range of TV channels in different languages, excellent bathroom, elegant service, you can park your car outside for free between 8pm and 9am if you don't want to use the hotel garage, you can walk anywhere in central Braga for the bars and restaurants and don't have to worry about driving, impeccably clean, comfortable bed with first-class reading lights that don't bother your partner, free wireless.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Takingitscourse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This 4 star Hotel, because of its very recent renovation, gives one a 5 star experience – everything in the room was like new. We chose a suite which had a separate bedroom & lounge room each with their own individually controlled air-conditioning, which worked extremely well as the weather was very hot. The electronic safe was full size.
This Mecure Hotel had a secure underground single level public car park at the front door – access only by stairs. It is possible to park your car outside the Hotel, check-in & have your luggage transferred to your room using the bell-boy, before shifting your car to the underground car park.
The Hotel is located at the bottom of the main street, with quite a steep 500m climb to the old centre.
The breakfast was excellent with choices for everyone, including eggs to order. The breakfast waiter in particular was extremely helpful & attentive to our needs. The Hotel handled Bus Tours very well as they had their own breakfast room, leaving us to have a quiet breakfast experience. We used the excellent Pizza/pastry shop two doors away for our evening meal. This shop is air-conditioned and meal was very good value & quality.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelPlanner2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This is a newly refurbished Mercure (formerly different name and ownership) and the renovation was very well done. We had a suite on the top floor which included a bedroom and a separate sitting room as well as a balcony—all for around $90 a night. We ate lunch once in the hotel and were the only dinners in the restaurant and as a result the waiter gave us great service without being suffocating. The food was very nearly as good as the service. The hotel is located on the edge of the center of Braga and thus within in an easy walk of just about any place you want to be. I obviously haven’t stayed in every hotel in Braga but it’s difficult to imagine that any are better than the Mercure Braga Centro.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhetor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Braga hotels
Ibis Braga
#4 of 26 in Braga
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Garden Braga
#8 of 26 in Braga
73 reviews
São José de São Lázaro
Ibis Budget Braga Centro
Hotel do Lago
#14 of 26 in Braga
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Braga Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Braga Centro

Property: Mercure Braga Centro
Address: Praceta Joao XXI, Braga 4715-036, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Braga District > Braga > São José de São Lázaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Braga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Braga Centro 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Mercure Braga Centro is your new 4-star hotel in Braga, located in the center of the city, ideal if you're traveling for business or leisure. The spacious and modern rooms offer a high level of comfort. Enjoy cable TV channels, Sport TV and free WIFI Internet. At our restaurant, you will find a wide variety of dishes on offer. Enjoy our bar, fitness center and an seasonal outdoor swimming pool on the top floor of the hotel. The hotel also boasts 4 meeting rooms and parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, ACCOR, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Braga Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing