We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great surroundings”
Review of Hotel Do Templo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Do Templo
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Braga
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We were put up here after our booking at another hotel directed us here. Fortunately, this was a decent hotel with good surroundings, most accessible to Bom Jesus. Access to this hotel is rather tricky. Be sure to have GPS if you're travelling by car!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripchoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 21 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

This was the most unusually located hotel I have ever stayed in - on a mountain-top pilgrimage site (Bom Jesus de Monte) within the precincts of a cathedral overlooking Braga - quite beautiful. The room was comfortable and the service and breakfast very good. Dinner could be had in a second hotel across the cathedral square, with an even more spectacular view, but not much choice for vegetarians. Would recommend this hotel, mostly for the spectacular location.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Likelly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We stayed here for one night while visiting Braga. We decided to stay next to Bom Jesus do Monte instead of the center of Braga and were glad we did. Even though the rooms are a bit old-fashioned, they are very clean. But the best thing is the incredible view of the Bom Jesus church next door - not to be missed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TSinParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We booked this hotel with netviagens a portuguese website on special offer set on hill overlooking braga a great place to relax.In the deal the first night if you eat in their restaurant which is seporate from the hotel you get a free bottle of wine with your meal which incidently was very good and the service second to none.The view from the restaurant was also excellent.The staff where so attentive.The grounds surrounding the hotel where a joy to walk round.Also they are dog friendl.The room was old fashioned but very peaceful and very comfortable with french windows overlooking the grounds.I would strongly reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We had prebooked this hotel with only information from web site - This hotel is situated on a hill over looking Braga – in most gracious grounds – truly breathing taking. Arrived early evening registered and shown to our room, which was quite large nice decorated at front of hotel over looking the grounds and views of Braga. Supper was at hotel across courtyard, which was excellent with wine from Douro region. Very enjoyable stay would have liked to have stayed longer but time did not permit. We expected breakfast to be continental ie: coffee and croissants, chef asked my husband if we would like him to cook us a full English breakfast – which was very nice. The cost for a twin bed room was 84.50 euros.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Hotel do Templo is very near the great cathedral at Bom Jesus do Monte, Braga. When I said "very near", I really meant it. It is just in the garden of it......

Especially at night it is a little bit frightening to be in there, you can really feel all those spirits around.....

Since the location of the hotel is at the top of the hill and there are lots of alternative narrow ways to go up, you should better to update your GPS. Infact it is better to do it before your journey to Portugal and don't forget to get the coordinates of the address you are looking for, because most of the street names are the same in Portugal. So the best way to find an address is the coordinates.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ipekbulut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Spent a WE in the hotel, had booked many months in advance requesting a double size room because I was going with my wife... long story short got a twin bed room and didn't get my room serviced after the first day.

Location couldn't be better!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank German B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Braga hotels
Nogueiró
Hotel do Parque
Hotel do Parque
#6 of 25 in Braga
141 reviews
Villa Garden Braga
#4 of 25 in Braga
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Braga
#5 of 25 in Braga
410 reviews
São José de São Lázaro
Mercure Braga Centro
Mercure Braga Centro
#2 of 25 in Braga
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Do Templo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Do Templo

Address: Rua do Bom Jesus | Tenoes, Braga 4715-422, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Braga District > Braga > Nogueiró
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Braga
Price Range: £49 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Do Templo 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Do Templo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing