We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good position, Wifi and parking space to improve!”
Review of Hotel PraiaGolfe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel PraiaGolfe
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Espinho
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Been in holidays for 4 days in August, hotel staff well prepared.
Room was facing the street so I had no view of the sea but fine. Very nice breakfast buffet, well satisfied of SPA services and gym, good solarium to enjoy lovely weather.
Location is perfect, the only 2 constructive critics are for WIFI (available only on ground floor, for the price we pay should be provided for free in every room) andthe Parking space, which is a nightmare to find as the place gets tremendous busy!! Worth it in the end.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com
Thank Francesco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 62 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a week. Very close to the train station ( 2-3 min walk) and we took train to Porto in the morning for only 20-30 min. Our room was modern & clean ( It looks like they just recently remodeled the room ?) also faced the ocean that we came back to hotel for the beautiful sunset after sightseeing in Porto every night. There are a lot of nice restaurants and many choices for dinner with the beautiful sea view. Nice beach view and family oriented hotel to stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed at the Praigolfe Hotel for 4 nights at the beginning of may. It is in a perfect location if your looking for a beach and city holiday. We stayed here with a view to do a city break, but enjoy the sun at the same time. It is located just 300 yards (2 minute walk) from the train station, which takes you into Porto.
When we booked we asked for a sea view, which we did get, however we also got full view of the casino next door. There was a continental breakfast every morning, and hotel pool area looks out over the beach. We sat in the jacuzzi one night and watched the sunset!
There are some nice snack bars and restaurants nearby along the beach front. I imagine these are very busy during the high season.
The staff were very helpful, and made us a breakfast bag for our early flight home.

All in all, it's a good hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

This hotel is charming with its older furnishings and architecture. My room faced the ocean and it is was just beautiful. The service was wonderful and attentive and I was quite happy with the buffet breakfast, it offered many choices both warm and standard continental braakfast fare. Altogether I'm so glad this is where I stayed and would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Espinho is on the Atlantic, just off major highways from Porto (20 minutes north) and Lisbon (3 hours south) and it’s also accessible by commuter rail from Porto. I’ve been here twice, both times at this hotel, courtesy of the nearby company I was visiting.

The PraiaGolfe is next to the casino and just a short walk from the center of town. It’s a seven or so story hotel facing a beautiful white sand beach with rolling surf, but you sleep in a room, not on the beach. The rooms are large enough for the two twin beds, but they’re bare minimum. They look like they haven’t been refreshed in 20 years. The bathroom is very small and the towels are worn thin. The lobby doesn’t have a single chair, although the floor is polished stone. (To be fair, there’s an area on the next floor up that has some comfortable chairs, but that space wasn’t heated well during my most recent visit.) Breakfast is in a large room with big windows, overlooking the ocean. The buffet breakfast was adequate but no more than that. Breakfast service starts at 7:00 AM, which seems a bit late.

On the positive side, the heat in the room worked well on an uncharacteristically cold couple of nights at the end of January/start of February and the twin beds are comfortable. Despite the tight space, the bathroom worked fine. There is wifi in the room for about 10 euros a day. The desk receptionist will give you a card with a wifi code on it, and you use the code to log on. If you want to use both a computer and a smartphone, you have to log off one in order to log onto the other. Download speed was adequate for email and web browsing. Parking is available right outside the front door, and there are usually a couple of somewhat down & out guys who will direct you to a spot and expect a euro tip in return.

The staff have been very friendly and helpful both times I've been here and I feel badly about criticizing their hotel, but unfortunately it has a worn-down, worn-out feel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the beautiful beach. That will help make up for the C-minus room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msandman1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Perhaps this hotel is a bit old and rusty however rooms are clean, staff frendly and its location is beneficial with great view on the beach. Definitely worth the money spent. Breakfast better than in other hotels of this same class. Clean, good size indoor swimming pool with the view on the beach and with the exit on the patio. Wi-fi available and it is free in the restaurant and the lounch area. Bike rental available. Close proximity to the train station and the number of restaurants adds to its value. Casino is next door for those who want more exitment. Good place to stay and relax for a few days. I will reccomend this hotel to my friends. Hotel is fully booked right to the end of the high season what speaks for itself.

Room Tip: Room with the view however there is a trade due to the noise made by the ocean. The noise did not bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stapetw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

I stayed in before September 2010 and by that time the hotel was a nice 4star hotel with a regular 4 star service. I can only talk about my good experience there.
The most amazing thing about this hotel is the location with a great beach view and it's also near the casino.
A good place to stay for a few nights.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesertChicGy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Espinho
0.1 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Solverde
1.4 mi away
Hotel Solverde Spa & Wellness Center
Hotel Solverde Spa & Wellness Ce...
#6 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
515 reviews
9.4 mi away
Furadouro Boutique Hotel Beach & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
AquaHotel
AquaHotel
#2 of 3 in Ovar
148 reviews
6.7 mi away
Ibis Porto Sul Europarque
Ibis Porto Sul Europarque
#1 of 5 in Santa Maria da Feira
203 reviews
18 mi away
Tulip Inn Estarreja Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel PraiaGolfe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel PraiaGolfe

Address: Rua 6 | Edf. PraiaGolfe Hotel, Espinho 4500-357, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Aveiro District > Espinho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Espinho
Price Range: £49 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel PraiaGolfe 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The PraiaGolfe Hotel is located in the cosmopolitan and hospitable city of Espinho in front of Baia Beach and the seafront promenade, right next to the Casino, with superb international shows, surrounded by the best Golf courses in Metropolitan Area of Porto. A non-smoking Hotel that has 8 floors, with 133 rooms comfortably furnished, and has refurbished rooms and not refurbished. Its facilities are complemented with 3 rooms and 2 panoramic restaurants, all with natural light and capacity to host meetings and banquets from 10 to 400 people. Espinho, integrating the metropolitan area of Porto, 15 minutes from the Unvanquished City, recognized as World Heritage, has easy access by freeway A1. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel PraiaGolfe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praiagolfe Hotel Espinho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing