We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and right on the Beach”
Review of Hotel PraiaGolfe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel PraiaGolfe
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Espinho
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice and right on the Beach”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed overnight on our way to Oporto. This is really a very nice, if older property. The friendliness and hospitality of the staff more than make up for the age of the facility. Heck, even I am getting older all the time.
Great views, a fine Breaskfast Buffet, good coffee. Comfortable rooms, good spa facilities (sauna, Turkish, jacuzzi, big pool).
Even tho we are only staying overnight, the Director came to the desk and introduced himself. Classy. Mr. Ruben, the Spa Manager, is very friendly and accommodating. My bride and I booked massages (more of a relaxing rub with oil, than a work out the Knicks massage). I asked about places to eat, and Ruben went out of his way to offer several local suggestions... No better way to find a good place to eat... Ask a local.

Would definitely be a five star property.. Especially based on the staff and service... But she is a bit older and needs some updating. Easy to overlook. Great location for a beach holiday.

Room Tip: Beach views.. Obviously.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lance P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    89
    77
    26
    32
See reviews for
58
104
7
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Shields
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed for six nights and enjoyed every minute in the hotel. It is clean, comfortable and the staff are all extremely helpful and polite.
Breakfast was really nice, plenty of choice. WiFi available (free) on first floor in bar/restaurant area but some people could get it in their rooms on the third floor.
Would not hesitate to use it again if ever in Espinho.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fatcatz435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This is hotel with one of the best locations in Espinho. Located right on the ocean front with a well maintained portico on the beach side makes it the perfect property to stay in Espinho. Rooms are nice and warm, breakfast is pretty lavish and front desk staff is one of the best I have come across in the recent times. It is located just adjacent to the most happening place in Espinho ie., The Casino. The walkway in front the hotel is the best place for a stroll in mornings and evenings. If you are planning a stay in this area, this is the best place.

Room Tip: Do book into ocean view rooms only. They have nice little balconies so that you can enjoy the sunset...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siddharth_Balasaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hounslow
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Been in holidays for 4 days in August, hotel staff well prepared.
Room was facing the street so I had no view of the sea but fine. Very nice breakfast buffet, well satisfied of SPA services and gym, good solarium to enjoy lovely weather.
Location is perfect, the only 2 constructive critics are for WIFI (available only on ground floor, for the price we pay should be provided for free in every room) andthe Parking space, which is a nightmare to find as the place gets tremendous busy!! Worth it in the end.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Francesco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a week. Very close to the train station ( 2-3 min walk) and we took train to Porto in the morning for only 20-30 min. Our room was modern & clean ( It looks like they just recently remodeled the room ?) also faced the ocean that we came back to hotel for the beautiful sunset after sightseeing in Porto every night. There are a lot of nice restaurants and many choices for dinner with the beautiful sea view. Nice beach view and family oriented hotel to stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed at the Praigolfe Hotel for 4 nights at the beginning of may. It is in a perfect location if your looking for a beach and city holiday. We stayed here with a view to do a city break, but enjoy the sun at the same time. It is located just 300 yards (2 minute walk) from the train station, which takes you into Porto.
When we booked we asked for a sea view, which we did get, however we also got full view of the casino next door. There was a continental breakfast every morning, and hotel pool area looks out over the beach. We sat in the jacuzzi one night and watched the sunset!
There are some nice snack bars and restaurants nearby along the beach front. I imagine these are very busy during the high season.
The staff were very helpful, and made us a breakfast bag for our early flight home.

All in all, it's a good hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

This hotel is charming with its older furnishings and architecture. My room faced the ocean and it is was just beautiful. The service was wonderful and attentive and I was quite happy with the buffet breakfast, it offered many choices both warm and standard continental braakfast fare. Altogether I'm so glad this is where I stayed and would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Espinho
0.1 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Solverde
1.4 mi away
Hotel Solverde Spa & Wellness Center
Hotel Solverde Spa & Wellness Ce...
#7 of 14 in Vila Nova de Gaia
459 reviews
9.4 mi away
Furadouro Boutique Hotel Beach & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Espinho Guesthouse
Espinho Guesthouse
#1 of 5 in Espinho
30 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monte Lirio Hotel
Monte Lirio Hotel
#1 of 7 in Espinho
34 reviews
0.5 mi away
A&Z Refugio a Beira-Mar
A&Z Refugio a Beira-Mar
#2 of 5 in Espinho
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel PraiaGolfe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel PraiaGolfe

Property: Hotel PraiaGolfe
Address: Rua 6 | Edf. PraiaGolfe Hotel, Espinho 4500-357, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Aveiro District > Espinho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Espinho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel PraiaGolfe 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The PraiaGolfe Hotel is located in the cosmopolitan and hospitable city of Espinho in front of Baia Beach and the seafront promenade, right next to the Casino, with superb international shows, surrounded by the best Golf courses in Metropolitan Area of Porto. A non-smoking Hotel that has 8 floors, with 133 rooms comfortably furnished, and has refurbished rooms and not refurbished. Its facilities are complemented with 3 rooms and 2 panoramic restaurants, all with natural light and capacity to host meetings and banquets from 10 to 400 people. Espinho, integrating the metropolitan area of Porto, 15 minutes from the Unvanquished City, recognized as World Heritage, has easy access by freeway A1. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel PraiaGolfe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praiagolfe Hotel Espinho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing