We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wine House Hotel & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The hotel is very confortable and very tastefully decorated. the staff is nice and takes care of everything. As you are a guest you have a tour arround the quinta . The restaurant has good food, the breakfast was very good.
A nice place to relax. We were here during the winter

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margarida W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 51 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed in this hotel "quinta" just one night, but I wish we could have stayed longer. We were 3 adults and one 3yr old, had one twin room with the view to the entrance courtyard and a double room with the view over the vinyards. It was truly an amazing experience! The staff is very professional and the owner is a very nice person. He really did everything to make us feel comfortable. The hotel is brand new, modern, but with old features, that remained preserved, so you can enjoy the beauty of the quinta as it was one time, but have the comfort of a modern accomodation. The décor and the furniture of the rooms as well as of the "common areas" is wonderful and chosen with taste. The double room was huge and the king size bed was very comfortable. The same for the twin room, which was smaller, but comfy. The bathrooms are very modern and spacious, with L´Occitane toiletries.
The restaurant has a green décor and thanks to a huge window is very bright with stunning views. The food was very tasty and the breakfast was amazing as well - especially the homemade cake (I think pumpkin with basil or something like that :-)
We also had a guided visit of the quinta with tasting. The surroundings are beautiful, truly romantic and very well kept. Watching the sunset over the vineyard was amazing (they have some special chairs for that) The cellar was a unique experience as well, (beautifly decorated for a group dinner at that time.) This would be a lovely place for a wedding or just a perfect place to stay for people that wish to descover the Douro valley. The only thing missing is a swimming pool.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vev0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We visited based on the recommendation from the front desk manager of the Casa da Calcada in Amarante. We arrived and had a wonderful and intimate tasting and tour with Joana. She can speak several languages, is extremely knowledgeable about the production process of the wines and porto and has a fun personality. After the tour we had lunch in the restaurant. The food was outstanding and the staff very friendly. We were so impressed with the property we asked for a tour of the hotel rooms and Tania showed us several amazing rooms. My wife and I will be sure to stay at this property on our next visit to Portugal.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Dwayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We visited last Saturday for lunch and a tasting.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, even though it was very busy.
We had an aperitif tasting before lunch ! And returned after lunch for the rest of the tasting. We really enjoyed the wines and port, and the shipping charges to the UK were not too bad.
It seemed that the coach party's were served lunch in the cellar, which was very attractively decorated, laid out and lit.
We had lunch in the hotel restaurant, which certainly was not big enough to cater for a coach party.
The restaurant was a striking shade of spring green which looked lovely in the sunshine. It had a large balcony, and a beautiful view over the vineyards.
The surrounding were modern, spotlessly clean and just a little bit unusual from your run of the mill hotel. I really liked the feel of the place and would love to return.
Service in the restaurant was excellent, and the food was very good. We really enjoyed our visit.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank GN&CB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We visited the wine cellars and vineyards at this location on a tour of the Douro area in Portugal and were not disappointed.The tastings were excellent and very generous to our group and of course we made purchases of the products - wine and port.
We were staying in Lamego but were informed of the rooms at the location and the prices, so may be of interest for future visits.
Recommend the tasting!!!!!

Room Tip: Discuss your requirements with the staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

After staying in this wonderful Quinta we understand the magic of Douro valley. The hotel is comfortable modern and the service was extremely good, but wisely they kept the rooms with old design – big, stylish with comfortable bad. Nice to walk in the vineyards and taste the grapes (harvest time) we had a nice walk to the river with magnificent view.
The afternoon was spent in a tour of the winery where we pressed the grapes by foot with music and wine tasting. The food is excellent also for dinner with their outstanding wine. This visit is one of the highlights of our holiday in Portugal and we would like to come back another time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liemashaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for the last night of our Douro valley tour. The hotel is ultra modern and the service was extremely good and accommodating. We arrived early for our reservation and left our luggage with reception while we went out to wander the grounds. After having spent the previous days up the valley with nothing but terraced hillsides, seeing city buildings outside the vineyard was a bit of a shock. Do not let this discount the quality of this Quinta. The grounds were wonderful to explore and to enjoy. Upon our return were led to our rooms where our luggage had been delivered (this was a bonus as there is no elevator!) the rooms were extremely comfortable with views out over the vineyard. Then it was off to lunch in the wonderful bright dining room. The floor to ceiling windows look out down the valley. The meal was wonderful and the estate wine went down very easily! The afternoon was spent in a tour of the winery. The winery still presses the grapes by foot! The granite vats (lots of them) were just waiting for the harvest which was about to begin the following week. The tour alone was worth the stay at the hotel, but the quality of the hotel and the level of service and qulaity of fodd make this a great place to stay in the Douro.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamego
0.6 mi away
Vila Gale Douro
Vila Gale Douro
#1 of 6 in Lamego
235 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Vintage House Douro
6.1 mi away
Hotel Rural Casa dos Viscondes da Varzea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Regua Douro
Hotel Regua Douro
#1 of 3 in Peso Da Regua
330 reviews
1.1 mi away
Six Senses Douro Valley
Six Senses Douro Valley
#1 of 1 in Samodaes
592 reviews
1.5 mi away
Delfim Douro Hotel
Delfim Douro Hotel
#1 of 15 in Lamego
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wine House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wine House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Rua do Relogio de Sol 261 | Cambres, Lamego 5100-424, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viseu District > Lamego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Lamego
Price Range: £93 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wine House Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quinta da Pacheca Quinta da Pacheca can be visited at any time, in every season there is a new experience to be lived. Guided tours, to wine tasting, the wine courses, passing through lunch and dinner, everything can be done. Here, the possibilities are numerous and flexibility is total. All your ideas and dreams can be held here. Harvest a unique experience ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Wine House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing