We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fell in love with this B&b”
Review of Quinta da Timpeira

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quinta da Timpeira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We spent 2 nights in this lovely house and thought we were in a 5 star country retreat. It has a great swimming pool. Tennis courts too, if you feel energetic. It is surrounded by vineyards so it is a good idea to book dinner (before 6pm). It is home cooked fare and lots of it and includes wine from the vineyard and port. We met lots of interesting people at breakfast and enjoyed exploring the beautiful Douro valley. Vasco gives all his guests a warm welcome, but as we were on a biking trip he enjoyed comparing bike stories with my husband. Highly recommend and would love to go back.

Room Tip: Didn't see any of the other rooms, but suspect they all have wonderful views across the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moira N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

A warm welcome was the start of a magnificent stay in this Portuguese area. Really very charming people taking car of all your wishes and desires during your stay.
For my wife and I a delight to have experiences this.

Shortly a highly recommendable place.

Jan en Chris De Schoolmeester-Jansseune
Bruges Belgium

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jands1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Quinta da timpeira is an excellent place to visit. You fell at home with an excellent and warm welcome from the owners and staff. They always willing to help you . Their meals are excellent and homemade. During the cherrie season the view of the cherrie trees is fantastic.Their gardens are always beautifful and clean.The swimming pool is one of the best well looked after of the Douro area. It is fantastic.the breakfast with their homemade jams are really good.I suggest a visit to any tourist willing to see the Douro reagion.It is very close to the Douro river.

Room Tip: If you are a familly with kids ask for the downstair family room or upstair room 5 and 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank editealho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed for one night at Quinta da Timpeira in June 2012. This was the first quinta where we stayed on our roadtrip through Portugal. Quinta da Timpeira is situated nearby Lamego, a small town where there is not that much to see. But the Quinta itself is located very quietly outside the centre. We arrived quite late and could not join the dinner anymore but that was no problem. The bedroom and bathroom were simple but clean. Breakfast could have been a little bit more wide. We enjoyed the most the contact with the owners when we tasted one of their own wines that evening and we had a very nice conversation. They certainly belong to the sweetest Portugese people we met during our entire stay in Portugal. Unfortunately, the weather was not good enough for a dive in their swimming pool.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

When driving on the entry road towards the house you already get an impression on how the inside is 100% clean and nice.
The beds were very good, nice and very clean bathroom.
The breakfast was more then delicious, very good breads, own delicious jams,...
We had once dinner there and also this was perfect , delicious and you want leave hungry. (it was 45 euro for 2 persons, wine included).

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sweetviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2009

What a gem we found in Quinta da Timpeira, the most helpful and delightful owners and staff. It was so nice to sit around a lovely big dining table with great view across to the mountains shrouded in cloud with a touch of snow, when we were there!! However it was great to be able to talk to others doing similar things to us and find out about what they had seen, what they were doing and where they were from.
To eat a most delicious dinner with the owner, who had arrived from Lisbon, was simply delightful and very generous with lots of suggestions from north to south.
We'd read a comment about the rooms being small or too full of furniture, not right, there was plenty of room and anyway we wanted to see the sights, not the inside of a room, beautifully decorated.
Quitna da Timpeira we'll recommend to all our friends and acquaintences.

Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
3  Thank quartpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2009

We stayed here for 1 night on a tour of Northern Portugal. It is a fantatsic little hotel surrounded by vineyards. The hotel is spotlessly clean. The staff are very friendly and speak a variety of languages. We spent some time relaxing by the pool, enjoying the sunshine and fantastic views. The pool looked lovely and inviting wth luscious green grass around it, unfortunately it was still a bit cold to swim. There is a tennis court too.
The breakfast was included in our rate and was excellent especially the freshly squeezed orange juice! The hotel is also well signposted from Lamego town centre.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Britishgoabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lamego hotels
5.4 mi away
Vila Gale Douro
Vila Gale Douro
#1 of 6 in Lamego
235 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Rural Casa dos Viscondes da Varzea
2.3 mi away
Hotel Lamego
Hotel Lamego
#3 of 6 in Lamego
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Delfim Douro Hotel
Delfim Douro Hotel
#1 of 15 in Lamego
355 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Wine House Hotel & Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Hotel do Cerrado
Hotel do Cerrado
#12 of 15 in Lamego
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta da Timpeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta da Timpeira

Address: Lugar da Timpeira | Penude, Lamego 5100, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viseu District > Lamego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Lamego
Price Range: £63 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quinta da Timpeira 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of a Estate of vineyards and fruit trees growing on the Douro region, this country house has a magnificent view of Meadas Mountain and is close of historical centres of great interest.The Quinta da Timpeira offers 7 double rooms carefully decorated respecting the concept of rural tourism of the region.They all have a private bathroom and are equipped with air conditioning, central heating, flat screen satellite TV, direct telephone abroad, power supply 220v, hairdryer (on request), wireless internet (free). Have also living rooms, games room, dining room, bar, handicraft shop, heated outdoor swimming pool, tennis court, bikes TT and magnificence of surrounding gardens that will be certainly an asset to your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quinta da Timpeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing