We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Hotel Lamego

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Lamego
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lamego
Certificate of Excellence
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Travelled with a group. Staff excellent disappointed meals were in side room when they had an almost empty restaurant overlooking valley, could at least do breakfast in that room. Not making use of their best asset. Breakfast cold not well set out. Meal in restaurant very good, but last meal in side room awful. Room very noisy as above kitchen and could here everything even conversations. Green Manor House beautiful, but again not making full use of it. Could serve coffee on terrace in good weather, but bar had no staff most of time.if they upped their game they could be excellent and get more visitors.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    128
    34
    12
    8
See reviews for
90
103
8
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adjuntas, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
173 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I stayed here with a tour group. We spent only one night and dinner was included in the hotel’s restaurant. Since we had allergy issues we informed the staff and they accommodated our request without any issues which was great. I need to say that I enjoyed the main course which was simple but tasty. The young servers did all they could to serve us. We had a triple room with in the second floor; it was a good size as well as the restroom. They have free wifi in the lobby which was very convenient. The place is far from downtown in a residential area so there is nothing to do around. I saw some bicycles in the outside, perhaps they rent them.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silarem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Like other recent reviewers, I was part of a group booking, staying 5 nights. I agree with the comments about food. Plates were cold, service very slow and food indifferent. What did surprise me was staff coming round with full serving platters when everyone seemed to have had enough already. Either the company had paid more than strictly necessary, or the chef had no idea of portion control. No complaints about plentiful wine!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodham
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed at Hotel Lamego for 5 night as part of a group of 32 people. The hotel has indoor/outdoor swimming pools, a lovely gym downstairs and the restaurant has views of the valley. The rooms are pleasant and clean. The disappointing thing for me and the rest of our group was that we had all our meals in a conference/function room at the end of the hotel. This was a soulless room with no ambiance at all. Only decoration was an artificial tulip in a vase in the middle of the table. It seemed that the manageress did not want us in the main restaurant which seemed empty with plenty of space. The serving staff were friendly but service was slow and the food was average.
We were not made to feel welcome at this hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 134karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights we were with a group of 40. The room and the bathroom were big the bathroom had a bath as well as a shower. The food was ok , there seemed to be only 2 staff serving the evening meal and only 1 replenishing the breakfast buffet so a wait was the norm.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Norma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Well laid out hotel with moderately sized rooms which were very well serviced. However the standard of Restaurant service badly lets down the rest of what is on offer. Whilst the food quality was quite acceptable the level of Service for both Breakfasts and Dinner leaves a lot to be desired

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lincoln J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcoussis
Level Contributor
155 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed 1 night from 14 to 15 October. We slept well in a large room and the breakfast was OK.
The hotel would need some refurbishing, furniture is functional but old, along with old fashioned decoration, carpets, lighting, etc; walls are too thin (you can hear your neighbors talk).
Bathroom was large with a bath tub.
At least 15-20 min walk from the center of the village
Not a fantastic hotel but very good value (we payed 53 € for 1 night, 2pax)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoelLeclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamego
3.6 mi away
Vila Gale Douro
Vila Gale Douro
#1 of 6 in Lamego
207 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Rural Casa dos Viscondes da Varzea
10.9 mi away
Douro Palace Hotel Resort & Spa
Douro Palace Hotel Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Santa Cruz do Douro
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Regua Douro
Hotel Regua Douro
#1 of 3 in Peso Da Regua
312 reviews
14.6 mi away
The Vintage House Douro
12.6 mi away
Quinta do Pego
Quinta do Pego
#1 of 1 in Valenca Do Douro
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lamego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lamego

Property: Hotel Lamego
Address: Urbanizacao Quinta Vista Alegre, Lamego 5100-007, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viseu District > Lamego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lamego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lamego 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lamego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing