We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Porto institution!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurante Abadia Do Porto

Restaurante Abadia Do Porto
Ranked #77 of 1,611 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
686 reviews
280 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“Porto institution!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Great meal here. Impeccable service. Apparently it is a porto landmark and has been for years and years.

Food was delicious. They had all the Portuguese classics. Great wine list. Well prepared and came out quickly (though we were early for Portuguese standards).

I can highly recommend the octopus fillets. Delicious!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sbspeedo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,159
    1,063
    280
    65
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sintra
Level Contributor
451 reviews
285 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“A landmark in Porto food right in the city centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I have been in this restaurant every time I come to Porto and it never lets me down with the food. Always great service and food with large portions at fair prices.
You will find all major northern dishes that mean something to local people.
Definitely a place to visit if you want to have a fantastic meal right in the city centre.
Book in advance as it's always full.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Polskiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Paul
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Just returned from a delightful meal at Abadia Porto...great waiter, Joao gave suggestions in English. Went because it was in Rick Steves book...would go back again!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CJKStPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Level Contributor
75 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Visited the restaurant upon the recommendation of the hotel concierge and right after arriving from a transatlantic flight. Found the place inviting, the food delicious, and the service top notch. The portions were plentiful, as we were unable to finish the meals. Would definitely return. I do recommend the seafood.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jftraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goa
Level Contributor
134 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Cozy place,yummy food and loving service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Visited this restaurant and dined there all the four days that we were at Porto.

Food was excellent, well priced, wholesome and service was class! The portions are large and can be shared by two with a starter and dessert. Bacalau Gomes de Sa was v good so also the assado de Bacalau forna!!(hope I remember the dishes,correct).Pork too was good.

This resto was just out of the back entrance of our hotel (Grande de Porto)..so nice to run to in the cold and rain for a haerty, wholesome meal.

Dessert worth recommending is Torte de maracuja...passion fruit tart.Excellent!!!

Ambience is nice and a lot of helpful locals dining here who willingly helped us with our order sometime.Good thing is the menu is also in English!!
Highly recommended and wish there was a branch in Lisbon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank holidaymaniacGoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Abadia Do Porto also viewed

Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Restaurante Abadia Do Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing