We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can Porto any better?”

Restaurante Abadia Do Porto
Ranked #80 of 1,677 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$23
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Albury
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Can Porto any better?”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

There are many options for dinning in Porto ... You will enjoy searching them out ... However ...

We have just finished our evening dining experience at Abadia and can not speak highly enough of it.

We arrived on Saturday evening of a festival weekend and were offered a table pronto.

Or waiter spoke English extremely well (I am embarrasses to say my Portuguese is shocking) and coordinated our evening for us.

The wine was excellent and the food matched it perfectly ... Should I be saying this the other way?

Highly recommended ... Please consider as an option when visiting beautiful Porto

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DickandBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,803 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,268
    1,134
    300
    71
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Dinner”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

It's a shame my husband and I aren't more adventurous with our food as some of the dishes being served looked amazing. I had the pepper steak, I should have mentioned how I like it as it came out quite rare. The potato chips that they serve are lovely, very thin and crispy. Service was good, the waiter spoke good English and they serve the food on your plate which is a nice personal touch.

Helpful?
1 Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Abadia's service was one of the best we experienced in Porto! Waiter's English was very good, he made a real effort to tell us more about the food/menu with great recommendations and even a personal touch when he served the food at the table by cutting and dishing it out for each person. Quantity and quality of food was far beyond our expectations! If we stayed longer, we probably would've dined there EVERY SINGLE NIGHT!

Helpful?
Thank Dornehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teramo
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“excellent Portuguese food, kindness professional style”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The best clams sauté ever eaten; a grilled octopus of a tenderness out of the ordinary. Professional style and kindness. Very complete menu with different specialities. Impressive wine list.
One of the best dinner in Porto during my recent visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fr_Ben_TE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
685 reviews
279 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Porto institution!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Great meal here. Impeccable service. Apparently it is a porto landmark and has been for years and years.

Food was delicious. They had all the Portuguese classics. Great wine list. Well prepared and came out quickly (though we were early for Portuguese standards).

I can highly recommend the octopus fillets. Delicious!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sbspeedo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Abadia Do Porto also viewed

Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Restaurante Abadia Do Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing