We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sue and Sandra”
Review of Pensao Avenida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pensao Avenida
Ranked #74 of 153 Porto B&B and Inns
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sue and Sandra”
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Just arrived back from a short break at the Avenida. We stayed here 2 years ago and were glad to see the same staff were still there. Lolinda and the others still work so hard. The place is spotless and the breakfast gives you a good start to the day.This time we used the sight seeing buses which we found very good for hopping of and on,we also went for a fun evening with dinner and faldo in an old port cellar wich was very good value. All we can say about the Avenida is please dont change a thing.We will be back

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueandsandra58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    42
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
13
41
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lincoln
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We had a stuffy back room on the fourth floor, it looked and felt like a 1950's boarding house and nobody could or would communicate with us positively, hardly anyone smiled at us, it was just bleak. We spent the evening in the glamorous Hotel Intercontinental opposite pretending we were staying there until at last we had to return to our depressing little room. Breakfast was a dreary affair and every time you step into the lift the floor gives way.....not the stuff of happy holidays.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryhalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Havre, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2010

How to describe succinctly the two nights we spent here? The first night was AWFUL - we were in a room on the fourth floor (main floor of the hotel) and our window opened onto a balcony shared with the kitchen...! The heat was oppressive and there was no breeze to be felt - and the poor night employee (with whom I could only communicate in mime) was prepping breakfast right outside our bedroom window till at least 21.30!! When I asked if she was kidding (I mean, really, what is with THAT?) I also mentioned that I was hot - was there a fan? She scared me silly when she reappeared at the window some fifteen minutes later with a hand-held fan that one cannot use and sleep at the same time... I had to speak to this same poor woman sometime later when the singing from the television in the next room wasn't to be ignored - she tried knocking to no avail and then telephoned the room (the occupants had fallen asleep?) to get them to turn it off/down... The telephone at the reception desk was small compared to these horrors. Oh! and breakfast activity on the balcony resumed in the early morning..!!
The next morning the owner (with whom I could speak French) arranged another room for us.So the second night had us sleeping on the fifth floor - away from the reception desk and with a window to the outside. We purchased an electric fan for the room and slept better... From the front of the hotel we could see air-conditioners - we could only guess these were in the front rooms facing the main street? In any case - for summer temps that can exceed 35° there should be some relief! Not a great memory.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonvoyage17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersfoort
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2010

The hotel is central located in Porto. Metro station in front of it. No luxury, but very clean and friendly staff. Value for money.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobbieAmersfoort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2009

5 couples enjoyed a weekend in Porto. Pensao Avenida was excellent location and rooms were very clean. Showers in room were good and water always hot. Although road quite busy rooms very not noisy. Breakfast was basic, but ok. Staff did not speak much English but added to charm of the place! Really good value for city break.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyson_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aliados
Hotel Aliados
#66 of 104 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Peninsular
Hotel Peninsular
#89 of 104 in Porto
3.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pao de Acucar Hotel
Pao de Acucar Hotel
#51 of 104 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Internacional
Hotel Internacional
#52 of 104 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vera Cruz Porto Hotel
Vera Cruz Porto Hotel
#54 of 104 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residencial Porto Rico
Residencial Porto Rico
#96 of 153 in Porto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensao Avenida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensao Avenida

Property: Pensao Avenida
Address: Avenida dos Aliados 141, Porto 4000-067, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Pensao Avenida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing