We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful bargain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residencia LIS B&B and Parking
Ranked #21 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2011

A kilometer or two north of the central downtown area of Porto, this B&B is a bargain and a personable, charming, quirky find. It's on a main bus line and about three blocks from the Marques Metro, so the distance to the Ribeira is not an issue. The rooms are plain and somewhat dated, but this small hotel has everything functional travelers need--firm bed, WiFi, quiet rooms, bathrooms with hair dryers and bidet, reasonable continental breakfast. It also has a wonderful owner--helpful, multilingual, friendly, knowledgeable, personable. He will provide a city map and describe each of the places tourists should see. He also gives each new guest a small bottle of 18 year old port from a local small producer that is exceptionally good, as good as some of the best 30 year old vintage ports I have drunk. Our bill for three nights was 121 Euro....I do not remember any better accommodation bargain ever. Of course, if you need a swimming pool and tony furnishings, this is not for you.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back are quieter than those in the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SoBeRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2011

We paid 129 Euros for 3nights bed & Breakfast for 2 people. The owner is great and although it is a bit out of the city tells you where to go, how to get there and which bus stops outside to get into the city & back. Someone previously said the breakfast wasn't worth having, what did they expect for the price? Lovely fresh bread rolls, cereals, fruit juice etc, we thought it was great. Oh and there was the half bottle of Port and 2 glasses that he left in the room for us. We would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Just spent a weekend at this hotel didn't rate it much the rooms were dated and bathroom had an off smell about it I think next time I'd rather pay a little more money for a little more quality. The owner was ok gave us a map of city but you can pick them up anywhere in porto so no big deal he did not give us free port but he did to some of the other guest so I think It's a case of it your face fits. All in all didn't really like the place.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pf2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

I second all the other positive comments here. This is a nice little hotel, the rooms are dated, but you get a bed real cheap - 43€/night. The hotel-owner is great. He has good knowledge about the city, you get a free, good map and as much advice and tips as you want. You also get to try his own port vine that you can drink in the small back garden.
The hotel has free wi-fi, but the reception is not good in all the rooms. They have a little sitting room by the reception where you can surf. The hotel owner seemed to be the only one fluent in English at the hotel, but he is there most of the time.

Right outside the hotel you can take a bus which leaves every 10 mins to the centre, or you can walk a few hundred metres to the metro, so there is really no problem getting around the whole of Porto. At the metro stop Trindade you can get a 3 day ticket (or more) for about 11€ (go to the counter, not the machines). We also walked to the centre a few times, but it takes probably 30 mins. There are also two good bakeries down the main street on the right towards the centre, if you want to buy lunch, water or just try local cakes etc. There is parking close to the hotel, which the hotel owner can arrange. There is no air conditioning, but the hotel is a large stone building which was cool enough for us at the end of June. The breakfast was satisfactory, but not with much selection.

When we left we were going to take the metro to the airport (really easy and cheap btw!). The hotel owner said he would drive our luggage to the airport for us, so that we did not need to cart it our selves! He was also sorry that he did not have space in his car for the whole party, or he would have driven us too. That is what I call good service!

Room Tip: Get a room with an exit to the back garden. We stayed in 205.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maintitles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

This was good lodging for the price. Owner was very helpful with itinerary planning and also gave us a gift and a carafe of his port wine to enjoy during our stay. B&B is not in the center of town, but buses were right outside to anywhere in Porto. Parking was provided free in garage across street. B&B was in an excellent location near the expressways to travel in/out of town on excursions. Several restaurants were located in walking distance. There is no air conditioning which could be a problem in the heat of summer. We faced the back yard and kept windows open, as it was very quiet. Beds were comfortable, and bathroom was spacious.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyTraveler4248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

There's nothing fancy about this place. It's old-school cleanliness and service - which is becoming rarer and rarer. We booked a double and got two singles, but it wasn't a big deal, and the owner gave us complimentary porto. We loved the location as there are lots of great little places to eat nearby, it's a hop skip and jump from the town centre, and an underground runs quite nearby. The proprietor is the nicest, most helpful man, and he serves up a nice Continental breakfast in a beautiful breakfast room. He also gave good tips on places to eat in the area and things to do in the city. This place has a really relaxing atmosphere and it's really secure, too. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devotchka83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Anthonito Ribeira was on duty when we arrived, and he made our visit truly memorable. He speaks very good english and French, which was helpful as our Portugese was minimal. He provided a map of Porto, and all the sites, the port wine cellars, the great restaurants, and so on. He is very proud of his city and it shows! However, I was exhausted upon arrival after almost 40 hours of travel, and I begged off from sightseeing. The moment I mentioned I was tired, he grabbed our bags, took us to our room, brought us some complimentary Port wine, and instructed us to *take a nap*! Which I did...and was much revived afterwards. He helped us find bus routes, metro stops, pharmacies later on, and held our bags after check-out since our flight didn't leave until 6PM. The breakfast at LIS was wonderful--and plentiful! The rates are superb--being only ~43 euros/night for a double room. It's not in the middle of town so it does take a bit of a hike to get there (take the Metro...the nearest stop is only 4 blocks away...it's downhill to downtown, but coming back up that hill would be like climbing the Alps!). I highly recommend the Residencia LIS to everyone and anyone spending some time in this beautiful city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dani_BP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
1.2 mi away
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
#37 of 108 in Porto
814 reviews
1.3 mi away
Star Inn Porto
Star Inn Porto
#47 of 108 in Porto
856 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Porto Centro
Ibis Porto Centro
#26 of 108 in Porto
1,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Moov Hotel Porto Norte
Moov Hotel Porto Norte
#14 of 108 in Porto
652 reviews
1.3 mi away
Moov Hotel Porto Centro
1.0 mi away
Hotel do Norte
Hotel do Norte
#64 of 108 in Porto
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencia LIS B&B and Parking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencia LIS B&B and Parking

Address: Rua Antero de Quental 659, Porto 4200-068, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Price Range: £36 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residencia LIS B&B and Parking 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residencia LIS B&B and Parking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing