We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest, friendliest place I have stayed at.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residencia LIS B&B and Parking
Ranked #21 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This place really deserves its great reviews. The owner/manager Augustin goes out of his way to make your trip a success. From the moment you arrive he's giving out great travel suggestions (not to mention fresh cake and port wine) and doing whatever he can to help.
The house itself is old but well maintained and the rooms are nice. There's a nice garden courtyard at the back. The location is a nice walk - about 40 minutes - from the old centre. There is a bus stop right at the front door if you don't wish to walk.
Can't reccomend it highly enough. Stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagicTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

We can only repeat what sebastian_tapu. justin B and sarah H have recently said. The owner is indeed charming, offers the personal touch and is a mine of local information.He even saw us off as we left the parking garage! Accommodation is spacious, but little restored. Our bathroom was a good size and worked perfectly well, but ideally in need of refurbishment. There is no lift, so cases have to be carried upstairs. Tip 1 - if you go by car, leave it, as we did,in the secure LIS parking provided across the road. Porto in general has frantic traffic, there aren't that many places to park and Rua Antero de Quental is busy most of the time.Tip 2 - get about by Metro, but even better, in our view, is the route 600 bus to town. Other buses will take you onward from there. Bus drivers are friendly and helpful.You can buy 3 day tickets and if you have taken an open-top bus tour, you can use that ticket on all Porto's buses (it worked for us!). The 600 bus stops right outside the LIS door, gets you to town in 10 minutes and you can then wander around. Would stay here again without another thought.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor if you have difficulty with stairs. The owner will help you with luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1953Trek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We were 2 couples, staying for 3 nights at Residencia Lis.
The place is located about 1,5km from center. It`s a nice walk to make, but you may want to take the subway when you return, unless you want to climb your way back for 1.5km. You can take the subway from Sao Bento station to Marques. From there, is`s just a short walk.
The residence`s highlight is definitely it`s host, a charming man who will tell you everything you want to know about Porto and north of Portugal. We also got a complimentary bottle of Porto wine and some cake. And some more to go when we checked-out :)
The rooms are classically furbished, spacious enough and with a nice vintage look. They would need a re-fresh though, especially the bathrooms...
The breakfast was a little poor - jam, butter, milk, coffee, some cereals and a few fruits. All these accompanied by sweet bread which is recommended by the hosts.
The value is excellent as well.
I would definitely go back to Lis residence and I recommend it for anyone who wants a little bit more interaction with the hosts.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms seem to have a direct access to the back yard, through a common balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sebastian_Tapu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We were only at this hotel for 1 night but had a lovely time here! Upon arrival we were provided with a bottle of port & some yummy cake. Owners were lovely, room was spacious & well presented. Price is extremely affordable. Would definitely stay here again when we come back to Porto!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

When visiting Porto recently, my friend and i chose this place based on our budget and all the good reviews.. We were very pleased to find that it matched all expectations!
The location was a little far but if you have a car or are not bothered about not being right in the centre of Porto then this place is peaceful and good value for money. We received such a lovely welcoming. We had quite alot of questions but without even having to ask them, the owners son greeted us and informed us on all we needed to know about getting around Porto.
We received a nice bottle of Port and delicious cake in the evening from a lovely and kind older gentlemen and then at breakfast time we had the privilege of meeting the owner. As mentioned in some of the other reviews, he is certainly a character!
He sang in Portuguese to us over breakfast and was very helpful with more of our questions. It is clear they take alot of pride in the service they offer to their guests and are very proud to be hosts in Porto.
The entire family was so warm and kind.
This is not really a party area so if you're looking for somewhere buzzy, this is not your best choice.. but certainly somewhere to stay where you can relax and get proper rest after a long days sight seeing.
Thankyou to Residencia LIS for your amazing hospitality. We hope to be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at this B&B a couple weeks ago and were very happy with the value for the price! Our room and bathroom were large enough, very comfortable, and always clean. The owner so obviously loves his city and is very happy to explain how to best use your time, what places you have to see, and how to best get around. The public transportation is cheap and stops literally right across the street, which is nice after days of walking the hills of Porto. We thought the area was great, and were shocked that previous reviews have said there is nothing around... there are tons of little shops and restaurants within 3-5 minutes of walking. We ate at one restaurant, Chamico, because the owner recommended it for Francesinha and ended up there three times in our 3 days in Porto! There was not air conditioning in our room, but this was never a problem- with the shutters and windows closed, the room was always cool. Although it is a very basic place with a simple breakfast, I still felt that we got more than what we paid for, especially because of the hospitality and safety extended to us!

Room Tip: We didn't notice an elevator, which was fine for us, but if you have a hard time with steps, may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Rooms are old world & reasonable & parking v close & good value for clients of the hotel. Location is quite a long way out of town though & we got lost the first afternoon on our way in. The owner is v welcoming & v helpful but also v set in his ideas. We mentioned a walking tour to which he replied why would you do that when we had a map & his advice. We loved the walking tour by the way ( the free walking tour in tripadvisor). Also we wouldn't recommend his advice on the nearby restaurant as we weren't particularly impressed with the food and found it comparatively expensive for what we got. Overall found this place good value for money though nothing exceptional in our view

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fi_P_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
1.2 mi away
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
#37 of 108 in Porto
796 reviews
1.3 mi away
Star Inn Porto
Star Inn Porto
#45 of 108 in Porto
842 reviews
2.4 mi away
Moov Hotel Porto Norte
Moov Hotel Porto Norte
#14 of 108 in Porto
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ibis Porto Centro
Ibis Porto Centro
#28 of 108 in Porto
1,892 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
1.8 mi away
BessaHotel Boavista
BessaHotel Boavista
#15 of 108 in Porto
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencia LIS B&B and Parking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencia LIS B&B and Parking

Address: Rua Antero de Quental 659, Porto 4200-068, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Price Range: £37 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residencia LIS B&B and Parking 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residencia LIS B&B and Parking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing