We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel Value...”
Review of Star Inn Porto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Star Inn Porto
Ranked #49 of 109 Hotels in Porto
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Star Inn Porto… The travel agent who booked me for this hotel had been slightly misleading about its location. The hotel is definitely not close to Porto’s center… Nonetheless, in retrospect I’m glad I got to know the place. There are plenty of compensating factors, features to recommend this hotel. Strictly in terms of the premises, the rooms are super clean and comfortable. Let me tell you – super important the cleanliness part - bed linen, towels, and daily cleaning of the rooms – all spic and span. All rooms with aircon, and free wifi works too. And all of this at a price which is affordable, comparatively economical. Yes, once in Porto, I took the time to check out alternatives. Do not expect to find anything as clean and comfortable as the Star Inn at those prices - surely not downtown.

Now to the people side. The features of hotels are important, but the persons working there make or break the business. The individuals I ran into working at this hotel turned out patient, basically Portuguese kind (which means very friendly) and cooperative whenever called upon. I had trouble rebooking with RyanAir, for one, because not having access to a printer. In turn, Ricardo at the front-desk went out of his way to take care of matters. Thanks, Ricardo.

Now to a few shortcomings. I wasn’t quite sure about the drinkability of the tap water in my room. I called the front-desk in the middle of the night and, sure enough, the night porter told me it was not recommended to drink this water. Of course, I went thirsty until I got hold of bottled water. Showering – yes, brushing teeth – OK, but not to drink this water, only at your own risk. Under the circumstances, I asked the front-desk to henceforth make arrangements for a bottle of potable water in my room. It was done. No extra charge!

Recommendations about shopping in this remote neighborhood on the outskirts of Porto would help as well. Allow me to make a few recommendations. Leaving the hotel through the back-door, immediately across the street, there’s a pharmacy with the name Santa Lucia. A few yards around the corner is probably one of the cleanest – and best sorted – confeitarias (cafés) in Porto. The place is called “Inspiracao Mitica”… And it turned out to be an inspiration. Great place to have breakfast, lunch or early dinner (they close at 8 PM) and, again, super clean, including the bathroom, and right around the corner from Star Inn – two minutes walking distance. Importantly, too, not pricey! Yet another useful resource. Again leaving by the back-door, turning right off the hotel parking lot, heading straight for about 5 minutes, there’s a major grocery store – convenient for those days you don’t care to eat out.

Changing directions, leaving the front-door of the hotel, crossing the street, there’s a short stair case alley leading to the next road level – a busy major highway. Crossing is to be done with a lot of care, but can be done. There’s a median in the middle making things easier and safer. Kitty-cornered across this highway is one of the best Italian restaurants I’ve run into, great selection of all that’s typical about the Italian cuisine, great wine and beer selection and, just as important, a place with ambiance, character. Be sure, talk to the owner, Senhor Vasco, the architect of this interior, for his menu and wine recommendations for the day and, if so, tell ‘m upfront you’re on a budget. This frankness pays off. The bill will come out considerably less, and you’ll still wind up with a great, generous meal. Yes, the portions are large.

Finally, if and when going downtown, the most economical way to do things is to use public transportation - buses, or autocarros as they say in Portuguese. . All the buses I got to know in Porto are state-of-the-art German imports. Do not buy the one-way ticket; instead, buy the 24-hour ticket allowing one to take the bus, or metro, all day long for the price of EU 7.95. A one-way ticket will cost EU 1.85; add the return ticket and things tend to add up fast. From the hotel, be sure to take bus numbers either 301 or 304. They’ll get you right to the city center, will get you back to the hotel too!

Be sure to enjoy your stay in Porto, at the Starr Inn, and hope the present information will make your stay even more pleasurable...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joost H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julioguiomar, General Manager at Star Inn Porto, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2014

Dear Mr. Joost, What a nice surprise to read all the beatifull comments you wrote abou us. This was shared with all our team and everybody was delighted to hear from you again. We hope to welcome you again soon. Warmest Regards, Júlio Guerra - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (859)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

76 - 82 of 859 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

The rooms weren't very big but they were nice, confortable and clean.
As most of low-cost hotels it is not located in the heart of the city but city-center is easy to reach by bus or taxi.
The heating system was not working in our room. It was late May but it was a cold night and that was the main con.
Free parking and free wi-fi.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diogo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Star Inn Porto more because of the value of the room, when we arrived there the room was exactly what we expected but unfortunately the location of the hotel was a little drive out of the city circle.
It didn't bother us much as we had a car, but those who didn't hire a car would have to rely on public transport.
Staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful at all times.
Really for the price of the rooms and staff quality I would be staying there again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DolaEve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Júlio G, Front Office Manager at Star Inn Porto, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Guest


In name of our team i would like to thank you for leaving your feed back about Hotel Star inn Porto.

We hope to welcoming you again soon.

Best Regards

Alfredo Carvalho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I spent a weekend at Star Inn Hotel in Porto and loved it. The price including breakfast was very affordable, so I wasn't expecting much, and was pleasantly surprised to find a very clean bedroom and bathroom, a nice design feel and friendly reception and restaurante staff. For the price, breakfast is fine. This hotel is ideal if you have your own means of transport and if you are travelling on a budget, but still value comfort.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alwaystravelling3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Júlio G, Front Office Manager at Star Inn Porto, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Guest


In name of our team i would like to thank you for leaving your feed back about Hotel Star inn Porto.

We hope to welcoming you again soon.

Best Regards

Alfredo Carvalho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Very convenient pricing for a reasonable hotel ... no doubt I would stay again for some days.

The location is not the best but if you drive it is worth.

You can try it ... will not regret.

God bless you.

Room Tip: Rooms are not big but for a short stay it is really worth. Seems that it does not matter which place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Júlio G, Front Office Manager at Star Inn Porto, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Good morning
In name of our team i would like to thank you for leaving your feed back about Hotel Star inn Porto.

We hope to welcoming you again soon.

Best Regards
Alfredo Carvalho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

You can't smoke in the hotel (love it!). This hotel is a recent low cost hotel in Porto, staff is very friendly and you have lots of place to park your car. Wifi is very good and easily accessible. The hotel's location makes it easy to get quite fast anywhere in Porto, by car.

Room Tip: Select higher floors facing the city for better views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miguel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Júlio G, Front Office Manager at Star Inn Porto, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013
Google Translation

Agradecemos a sua preferencia e os comentários aqui deixados. É gratificante verificar que correspondemos às suas expetativas.

Esperámos recebê-los novamente em brave.

Atentamente

Alfredo Carvalho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

good rate of return for your money. Nice service, helpful perdonal, a little out of tne center but there are city buses and taxis are not that expensive. Nice bouffet breakfast,
All in all a nice place to stay in Porto for your holidays or business trip.



  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
1  Thank Isabel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Júlio G, Front Office Manager at Star Inn Porto, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

In name of our team i would like to thank you for leaving your feed back about Hotel Star inn Porto.

We hope to welcoming you again soon.

Best Regards

Alfredo Carvalho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
1 mi away
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
#38 of 109 in Porto
820 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel do Norte
Hotel do Norte
#65 of 109 in Porto
389 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ibis Porto Centro
Ibis Porto Centro
#25 of 109 in Porto
1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Eurostars Oporto
Eurostars Oporto
#18 of 109 in Porto
692 reviews
1.9 mi away
TRYP Porto Centro Hotel
TRYP Porto Centro Hotel
#45 of 109 in Porto
624 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Vice Rei
Hotel Vice Rei
#58 of 109 in Porto
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Inn Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Inn Porto

Address: Rua Senhora do Porto 930, Porto 4250-453, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 109 Hotels in Porto
Price Range: £31 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Inn Porto 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Star Inn Porto is the first low-cost design hotel in Portugal. Offering simple yet comfortable accommodation, this contemporary hotel appeals to all travellers looking for a reasonably priced hotel. The rooms are well-designed and feature lcd flat screen, power-shower and hair-dryer. The Hotel Star Inn occupies a strategic position between Oporto city centre and the airport. Offering good public transportation links, all of Oporto’s major sights and commercial centres are within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Star Inn Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing