We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room”
Review of The Poets Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Poets Inn
Ranked #16 of 231 Speciality Lodging in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great room”
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We were very nicely surprised by our room, which was spacious and reminded more of a hotel accommodation than a hostel one. Beautiful view, very comfortable beds and a great value for money. The common areas are very cozy. We got a bottle of good Portuguese wine at the hostel to share in the kitchen bar one of the evenings. A good option for those wanting to have a cheap warm dinner is to sign up for the "hostel dinner". The staff was friendly, knowledgeable and very helpful. I definitely recommend staying there.

Room Tip: We stayed in "Magdalena" -- a room on the top floor with a marvelous view towards the bank...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank syeira_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    77
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
22
97
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Supernoisy, you can hear everyone entering the bulding, going bathroom, every move. other guests talking all night drunk on themselves and too anti social to tone it down. Very annoying. Small washing facilities, smelly sheets.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swasii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gyor, Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

;-) My girlfriend wont check out;-)
We felt like home,beautyful old house with a fireplace..amazing wiew to Cathedral Sé and a quiet garden for relax after a buisy sigtseeing day
The most helpful staff I met during our16days trip in Portugal..We were sad just spending two nights there..
ps:great nightlife is just som meters from there;-)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perecz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Oporto Poets is a nice place to stay for the budget minded traveller. The location is great (although if arriving via Metro, be prepared for a VERY steep walk up to the hostel from the Metro stop) and the rooms (and bathroom if you have a suite) are very clean.

The only thing that took away from it were that the walls were paper thin. Any sort of noise outside of the room (including drunken footsteps and conversations happening outside) could be clearly heard inside the room. While for the most part this wasn't a big issue, there were some nights where it was nearly impossible to fall asleep because of the noise.

That being said however, I would recommend this hostel, and would go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Very clean, very confortable, very nice staff...good location in the city centre. excelent money value. best hostel I ever stayed at.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diogo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Was part of a nine man stag party and no hostel expert, but found Poets a little gem of a place. We had two double rooms and a six person dorm in the annex house. Its situated in a quiet location, albeit up fairly steep hills from the city centre, though this gave some of the rooms and the main terrace fantastic views. The rooms and communal areas were clean and well equipped. Although we didn't get involved in the communal life of the hostel both the staff and other guests seemed friendly and very willing to help arranged trips etc.
This part of Porto has many charming neighbourhood bars and restaurants, a small supermarket and also isn't far from the main station, the river, or local bus and metro lines. The nearby taxi rank is also useful and prices are very cheap. Overall a great experience, good value and for regular guests of hostels and novices alike.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CllrG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I felt at home here and the staff were so lovely! They even let our friends join the daily activity even though hey were not staying at the hostel. The rooms were nice and the kitchen was clean- only tip would be to put a mirror in the rooms. I would stay again

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justis11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
0.1 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#7 of 106 in Porto
535 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.4 mi away
Gallery Hostel
Gallery Hostel
#2 of 231 in Porto
500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yes! Hostel Porto
Yes! Hostel Porto
#4 of 231 in Porto
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Poets Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Poets Inn

Property: The Poets Inn
Address: Rua dos Caldeireiros 261, Porto 4050-142, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 231 Speciality Lodging in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Poets Inn is made by travellers to travellers, designed to offer comfort, pleasure, art and leisure, in the best spot in town, where you can take a look from one of our breathless views for the city downtown, while enjoying a book on the balcony in your room... No one besides you will tell you about how a home away from home should be. We will listen to your advices, and give you twice of what you desire. Here you can find the latest standards of comfort, pleasure and quality. Besides The Poets Inn, we have a beautiful refurbished apartment with all the modern commodities, perfect for a family or a more demanding couple. Either wanting to explore the history of the city, the architecture, or just relax in one of the many cafes and restaurants, you couldn't stay in a more perfectly located spot. We are located 30 seconds from "Torre dos Clerigos", Porto ex-Librium and Lello bookshop, the most beautiful in the world, 2 minutes from the metro, the bus and train station (Sao Bento), 2 minutes from Aliados, our "living-room" to welcome all the travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Poets Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing