We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”
Review of The Poets Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Poets Inn
Ranked #35 of 262 Speciality Lodging in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The hostel has a good location, just nearby Cleridos Tower, which means city centre. Very friendly and helpful staff, plus attractions you can participate organised by the hostel.
Cozy, nicely decorated rooms, very clean, make a particularly nice atmosphere. I strongly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iwona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

We had such a pleasant experience. A cozy and quiet place. We felt at home. The interior courtyard is a must. Our room was very comfortable, spacious and well decorated. Very friendly and helpful people. The possibility to use the kitchen to do our food is a plus. Well located in central Porto, close to the Tower of Clerics. 5 stars. Thank's for everything. Cristina Leiria

Room Tip: We were at KEROUAC's room, 3 beds. Confortable and spacious. A balcony facing the main street. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

It is very well located just behind the Cleridos Tower, and very close to all the interest places such as the Ribiera, Train station, main streets and so on. The hotel was very clean and neat and the service was very good. I really recommend this place to anyone who wants to visit Porto. And whenever my boyfriend and I come back to Porto we will stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noelia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We had an amazing weekend there! the hostel is in the center of the city. They give you all the facilities and they also recommended us some activities and thing to do. Rooms are really nice and well decorated. We really enjoy our time there so we will come back for sure :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clara v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I've stayed in the poets hostel in Lisbon.. Ended up in Porto this trip. One of the most beautiful views from the room... Very comfortable bed I slept like a rock. 15 minute walk at most to nightlife. 5-10 euros taxi to any winery. Less if you walk to ribera.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tallkyletravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We were tickled by the name of this hotel, and really enjoyed our stay. It is conveniently located in the old town and the various monuments can be seen from the windows. We got a bus from the airport which took us almost to the door. AIrport information told us where to get on and off the bus.
Because we didn't email the hotel about how to get in (as we were requested) we had a moment's concern as the door was locked, but helpful neighbours soon put us right. Poets' Inn is up the hill and just around the corner from Poets' Privates and we had to go there to get the key for Poets' Privates. From the bus stop you'd reach Poets' Inn first.

We had a lovely spacious twin room with beautiful views. It was clean and attractive, with the charm of a very old building. The breakfast was varied and catered for most tastes. You could eat gluten free if you wanted. The pretty garden is available for sitting and eating to enjoy the view.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banafsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Nice place to stay, friendly personell and small but tasty breakfast! The interior is really well designed and the location pretty close to the center. The price for a double bedroom is slightly over average but definitely fair and recommendable to explore beautiful Porto!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maurice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.4 mi away
Porto Lounge Hostel & Guesthouse
0.6 mi away
Garden House Hostel Porto
0.1 mi away
Yours GuestHouse Porto
Yours GuestHouse Porto
#10 of 172 in Porto
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Yes! Hostel Porto
Yes! Hostel Porto
#5 of 262 in Porto
399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Being Porto Hostel
Being Porto Hostel
#23 of 262 in Porto
90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa dos Caldeireiros
Casa dos Caldeireiros
#25 of 262 in Porto
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Poets Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Poets Inn

Address: Rua dos Caldeireiros 261, Porto 4050-142, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 262 Speciality Lodging in Porto
Price Range: £34 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Poets Inn is made by travellers to travellers, designed to offer comfort, pleasure, art and leisure, in the best spot in town, where you can take a look from one of our breathless views for the city downtown, while enjoying a book on the balcony in your room... No one besides you will tell you about how a home away from home should be. We will listen to your advices, and give you twice of what you desire. Here you can find the latest standards of comfort, pleasure and quality. Besides The Poets Inn, we have a beautiful refurbished apartment with all the modern commodities, perfect for a family or a more demanding couple. Either wanting to explore the history of the city, the architecture, or just relax in one of the many cafes and restaurants, you couldn't stay in a more perfectly located spot. We are located 30 seconds from "Torre dos Clerigos", Porto ex-Librium and Lello bookshop, the most beautiful in the world, 2 minutes from the metro, the bus and train station (Sao Bento), 2 minutes from Aliados, our "living-room" to welcome all the travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Poets Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing