We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior Quality”
Review of Guest House Douro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porto
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Guest House Douro
Ranked #1 of 163 Porto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Groningen, The Netherlands
1 review
“Superior Quality”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Excellent and extreme personal service. Great location, delicious breakfast, beautiful rooms.
Close to all Porto highlights. And you get the best introduction to the best restaurants in town.
No reason at all to look for an alternative location. Just book it!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    677
    15
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
71
487
30
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2012

It is difficult to exaggerate what a marvelous experience it was to visit Porto and to stay in Carmen & Joao's special guest house. The location is unbelievable and the host's cannot be more gracious.
The breakfast presentation is a work of art. Their willingness to be helpful is astounding.
I only wish we had stayed longer.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the river Douro
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We stayed with Carmen and Joao for 2 days and felt like we were part of the family.
If you are looking for the perfect hosts, location, most amazing breakfasts ever, beautiful and comfortable rooms, then don't look any longer ! Joao set us up at some amazing restaurants where we sampled the best food of the entire trip. The Guest House is in the perfect location to make it easy to visit the surroundings, they're so much to visit and it's so beautiful. I really can't wait to go back !

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GenM514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

What a wonderful place to enjoy Porto! This friendly, modern guesthouse is located right along the river and on a fantastically typical old-world street. Carmen and Joao (and friends) go out of their way to make your stay comfortable. Examples: Over and over . . . "Take some water with you," "Would you like a glass of port before bed?" "Try the restaurant down the street." "Would you like us to review the city map again?" No extra charges . . . just friendliness.

Breakfast was an unbelievable feast or fresh fruits followed by wonderful breads and cheeses and meats.

We stayed in Room 402 . . . You should too, if you can. It was on the top floor with a great view of the river and the nightlife below. I'm sure the other river view rooms are great, too. The rooms are Euro-small, but very carefully planned. It was at the end of our trip, so it was worth it.

Seriously, this place is worth the splurge for a comfortable, romantic, friendly Porto experience.

Room Tip: Room 402 or any room that faces the river. Also, ask about restaurant suggestions . . . and book a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike95128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2012

The location was perfect, the room was immaculate (if small), the view was breathtaking, the breakfast was elegant (and substantial) and best of all, the hosts Carmen and Joao, were unstintingly helpful, gracious, hilarious and downright adorable.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brookegl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

This is such a gem of a place. My partner and I stayed for three nights.  Located right on the waterfront, it is a beautiful boutique guesthouse. We stayed in room 402 which has spectacular views of the Douro River and the Vila Nova de Gaia. The owners Carmen and Joao are very friendly and helpful. They provided us with tips on places to visit and dine. They also helped arrange a day trip to the Douro Valley with a local guide. They do a great job attending to the needs of the guests. Truly one of the best places I've stayed.

Room Tip: Look for a room facing the Douro River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaybo1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaud
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Having greatly enjoyed what I considered to be a perfect stay at Guest House Douro two years ago, I wondered whether a second visit could live up to my rosy memories. No need to worry - my return visit was equally delightful in every way and even surpassed my first experience as Carmen and João welcomed me back as an old friend and it felt even more like home than the first time.

What is the secret? Carmen and João with Guest House Douro manage to create a magic combination that is sadly only too rare in hospitality: a perfect environment - immaculate rooms, beautifully designed with every detail perfectly thought through including individual arrangements of exotic flowers, wonderful breakfasts with by far the best fruit I have ever tasted in a hotel context and of course a dream location with awe-inspiring views over the Douro... all this comes combined with one of the most warm-hearted, concerned and sincere welcomes that you are ever likely to come across in a hotel or guest house context.

Carmen and João manage to run an impeccable establishment but at the same time genuinely care about their guests. Nothing is too much trouble and they will take all the time it needs to make each guest's stay a perfect one, understanding and anticipating guests' wishes. I didn't even need to ask for a cup of tea - the kettle was on the boil when I arrived! ... and all that with a great sense of humor!

Summing up, with all the traveling I do, Guest House Douro is still top on my list of places to stay - a magical experience that stands the test of time.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shunyata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.1 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
0.1 mi away
Porto River Aparthotel
Porto River Aparthotel
#2 of 108 in Porto
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.2 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#7 of 108 in Porto
557 reviews
1.0 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#8 of 108 in Porto
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest House Douro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House Douro

Property: Guest House Douro
Address: Rua Fonte Taurina 99 101, Porto 4050-270, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of historical Oporto, the Guest House Douro offers a unique and personal experience. It is the first and only guesthouse on Oporto's waterfront. Part of UNESCO's World Heritage Site, the G.H.D. enjoys breathtaking vistas. All rooms offer direct views, either of the Douro river, the Dom Luis bridge and the Port lodges that line the riverbank or of the romantic Fonte Taurina, one of the oldest streets of Oporto. Only steps away from an abundance of attractions and historical monuments. Create beautiful memories and let the Guest House Douro be one of them! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Guest House Douro Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing