We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Guest House Douro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porto
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Guest House Douro
Ranked #1 of 154 Porto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Our family of 4 arrived at Guest House Douro on a rainy afternoon the day after Christmas and we could not have received a warmer welcome from Carmen and Joao. They are the best -- they instantly made us feel at home and like we had known them for years -- they are charming, fun to talk with, and have a great sense of humor. From the moment we crossed the threshold, they went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and well-cared for. This beautiful historic house has been meticulously renovated with a modern and elegant sensibility and everything is maintained in pristine condition. As mentioned by other reviewers, the breakfast is beautiful to behold and delicious to eat. Each day Joao or Carmen helped lay out our itinerary, sent us off with bottled water and umbrellas, and arranged dinner reservations that were spot-on. When we returned in the afternoon and evening, Carmen or Joao offered tea and beverages for our room. Internet connection was great and unlimited. We stayed for 3 wonderful nights, and the morning we had to depart at 6:15 AM, Joao arranged for our taxi, and prepared fresh squeezed orange juice and a picnic breakfast for the road. The 3rd floor set-up worked very well for our family-- we had the floor to ourselves; room 302 with a double bed overlooking the river, and room 301 with twin beds overlooking the street. We're already looking forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank whitewhale13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    667
    15
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
68
484
29
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Old Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We had a fantastic time at the Guest house Douro.
The welcome was so warm, Carmen gave us a lot of advice on what to see in Porto and was so friendly, witty and full of life. Joao prepared an amazing breakfast and was also super friendly and personable.
The room was small but beautiful with great attention to details.
All in all, this made our stay in Porto feel very special.

Room Tip: This is a small hotel with only 8 rooms. Better suited to adults than children. Rooms on the water a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hkclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Amazing stay at Guest House Douro. As hosts, Carmen and Joao are everything one could wish for: warm, welcoming and knowledgeable. We felt like we were staying with really good friends -- friends who also happened to have great recommendations for restaurants and places to see in Porto!

Attention to detail can be seen everywhere, from the little sachet of potpourri hung in the elevator to the beautiful (and delicious) fruit platter at breakfast, to the offer of hot tea or coffee upon returning back from an outing.

Our experience at Guest House Douro ranks up there with the best, and we definitely plan on a return visit in the near future.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the water for beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klavier_mann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I just cannot say enough about what a joy it always was to come back to our welcoming hosts (Carmen and Joao) after spending the day and/or evening touring the magical region of the Douro!

Carmen and Joan take enormous pride in the level of service that they provide and they never disappointed! Everything from the welcoming smile and conversations that always greeted us when we stepped into our home away from home, to the immaculate cleanliness of the entire guest house, to the decor, and right down to the magnificently sculpted fruit that Joao prepared for us each morning. Going down to breakfast to eat the wonderful food and enjoy the enlightened conversations with Joao was indeed one of many highlights each day.

Carmen and Joao, congratulations on developing and delivering a truly exceptional B&B experience. It was worth every penny!

Jim.
Ottawa, Canada

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Carmen and Joao were the warmest and most welcoming hosts we have ever encountered. Both were eager to chat and offer suggestions for sightseeing or dining and listen to our daily experiences in their charming city. Breakfast was a work of art. When we arrived back at the guest house after walking an entire day in the chilly rain, Carmen took pity on me and brought a pot of hot tea to our room. It was thoughtful little touches like this that made the visit so enjoyable. Our room overlooked the river and gave us a beautiful view of the lights reflecting on the water surface. Leaving them was difficult - we hugged goodbye and sadly left our new friends.

Room Tip: A room with a view may expose you to people talking along the waterfront, but really didn't dist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnorkelBiFocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

My family and I agree with everything that has been written by the other reviewers: the warmest hospitality; the most incredible, delicious fruit sculptures at breakfast; oh-so-charming rooms in the perfect location; and wonderful guidance on the sights to see during our stay. At Joao's recommendation we added a stop to our 2-week itinerary (so glad we did!), and at Carmen's suggestion we tracked down a small but fascinating chapel in one of the towns we visited.

The two "gems" of the title: Guesthouse Douro and Porto. Make sure to allocate enough time for Porto in your itinerary. It's a gorgeous city and merits as much meandering as your feet and legs can stand on its narrow, inclined streets.

Room Tip: As mentioned by others, our family had both the river view and the view of the small street. Though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

It is no wonder that Guesthouse Duoro gets these reviews! It is absolutely fabulous in every which manner. We had the most wonderful 4 days in Porto - it is a lovely city but it becomes magical because of GHD. Carmen and Jao are wonderful hosts. The attention to detail amazed me - the rooms are small but they have used space sooooooo well that it doesn't feel small. It is such tastefully done up place too - I was quite taken in by the lamb (a ceramic piece) lying on the floor in front of our room. And the river view rooms are so worth it - the rooms are so comfortable with the gorgeous view added that one can stay in the guesthouse itself without venturing out !!! And Carmen and Jao are so friendly and look after you so well that you feel like you have gained friends for life. We enjoyed the breakfasts and the coffee and the conversations ! We will come back for sure and just to stay again at GHD.

Room Tip: Choose a river view room - 202, 302 or 402
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KavitaNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
0.1 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
0.1 mi away
Porto River Aparthotel
Porto River Aparthotel
#2 of 106 in Porto
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#8 of 106 in Porto
520 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.1 mi away
InPatio Guest House
InPatio Guest House
#2 of 154 in Porto
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest House Douro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House Douro

Property: Guest House Douro
Address: Rua Fonte Taurina 99 101, Porto 4050-270, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of historical Oporto, the Guest House Douro offers a unique and personal experience. It is the first and only guesthouse on Oporto's waterfront. Part of UNESCO's World Heritage Site, the G.H.D. enjoys breathtaking vistas. All rooms offer direct views, either of the Douro river, the Dom Luis bridge and the Port lodges that line the riverbank or of the romantic Fonte Taurina, one of the oldest streets of Oporto. Only steps away from an abundance of attractions and historical monuments. Create beautiful memories and let the Guest House Douro be one of them! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Guest House Douro Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing