We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as it gets!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Guest House Douro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porto
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Guest House Douro
Ranked #1 of 149 Porto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“As good as it gets!”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We fell in love with Porto! A major factor in our affection was the wonderful setting of the Guest House Douro, right on the famous river. The view was charming by day, magnificent by night. The guest house is within easy walking distance of many of the city's must-see sites, not to mention good restaurants and bars. Hosts Carmen and Joao grew up in Canada. They are exceptionally attentive and helpful, quick to make dinner reservations and recommendations for sightseeing. My husband, a great lover of fresh fruit, will never forget Joao's wonderful breakfasts. We are long-time travelers: the Guest House Douro was an exceptional experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the house. It will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojo194248503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    651
    15
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
66
472
28
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at Guest House Douro, Carmen and Joao are great hosts and Joao's breakfasts are pretty remarkable. The location of the B&B is very convenient, close to everything, even within good walking distance to the Gaia. The rooms are a reasonable size, both the bathroom and the bedroom were well serviced and very clean. We will certainly stay here again on our next trip to Porto.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Simone_and_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Guest House Douro, in beautiful Porto, is one of the loveliest places we’ve stayed. The delightful hosts, Carmen and Joao, welcomed us warmly treating us like old friends. Perfectly located close to all the sights, our gorgeous room came complete with a dreamy bed, beautiful white linen, cosy bathrobes and thick white towels. As outstanding, was the five-star breakfast prepared and served with great style by Joao. Each morning, a lavish and generous fruit sculpture made up of tropical and other fruits was waiting for us on a table dressed with a crisp white tablecloth and pretty china. Joao waited on each table offering a fabulous array of cakes, breads, jams, cheeses and more, as well as all-you-can-drink tea, coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice. Our hugely likeable hosts also offered to make bookings at restaurants, shared their local knowledge and even delivered and picked up our laundry. On our last night, we were thrilled to be upgraded to a room overlooking the river - what a glorious view - and wine we ordered to celebrate our fabulous last evening was on the house. We have been travelling for six months and our stay in Guest House Douro has been one of the highlights.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishandFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
87 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Joao and Carmen run a superb Guest House. It succeeds on every level.

The accommodation is extremely comfortable. My room (2a) was, as Carmen communicated very honestly, small. It had however, been designed ingeniously. The room’s doors open onto a balcony, and it comes equipped with a fold out chair to enjoy the view without taking up space. There is a full Queen bed, which was comfortable. The bathroom was extremely functional, and was dressed with fresh flowers.

The location is out of this world- close to everything, and affording truly unique views.

In terms of other practical issues, the breakfast was of an excellent quality, ambundant and extremely fresh. The check-in was professional and swift. Prior to arrival emails were answered very professionally.

The true success here is the friendliness and support that Joao and Carmen offer. They seem to have a goal of not only making your accommodation comfortable, but ensuring that the whole stay in Porto is excellent. Grahams cellar gave me a free tasting when I mentioned the guest house. Every night Joao and Carmen helped with restaurant reservations. Carmen offered me some Portuguese champagne after we chatted about good champagne one evening.

I feel that that Guest House Douro has the comfort of an excellent five star establishment, maintains a superb personal focus and ensures that guests have an exceptional stay in Porto. I couldn’t offer a higher recommendation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john_tillett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Discerning travellers, take note: this is the place for you. Guest House Douro ticks all the boxes for a perfect break. Location - perched on the banks of a peaceful river, overlooking the port houses (which you must visit - book a tour on arrival!); nestled amongst family-run restaurants and bars; walking distance to the must-visit Porto sites. Comfort - stylish, clean, comfortable beds (yes, small rooms, but they work!) Food - look at the breakfast photos; forget lunch! And, finally, the people. Yes, Carmen and Joao are indeed unique. Warm, welcoming, and difficult to leave. Stay here - but don't take my spot when I next want to come back (very soon!)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MazTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The highlight of our trip to Portugal was our time in Porto…and it was because of our stay at Guest House Douro. Carmen and Joao took such good care of us as guests in the inn and tourists in the city they know and love. The Guest House is so perfectly situated just off the river and provided a great place to access both the Porto sights and visits to the port houses across the river. This is a magical place!!

Room Tip: We stayed on the river side and it was so quiet and the view enchanting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jadele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This is the only place you should stay in Porto. Unless you're travelling with 10 people. Or want a big business / conference hotel. What Carmen and João have done is special. This hotel has incredible location on the waterfront in the old historical region. It's an old building that got gutted and the interior is fresh and modern. These rooms are not massive, but fine for a couple. Views of the river available. But most importantly, Carmen and Joao make you feel like you're visiting family. The good kind of family. Everything is taken care of including hugs in the morning. I felt like I was leaving for college when I was departing...

Breakfast is wonderful. Directions and arrangements are fantastic. Everything is within walking distance. Port served when you arrive. And at anytime you're there. The whole place is filled with little touches of class and love. Stay here.

Room Tip: Get one with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
0.1 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
0.1 mi away
Porto River Aparthotel
Porto River Aparthotel
#4 of 104 in Porto
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
InPatio Guest House
InPatio Guest House
#2 of 149 in Porto
394 reviews
0.7 mi away
Porta Azul
Porta Azul
#3 of 149 in Porto
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest House Douro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House Douro

Property: Guest House Douro
Address: Rua Fonte Taurina 99 101, Porto 4050-270, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of historical Oporto, the Guest House Douro offers a unique and personal experience. It is the first and only guesthouse on Oporto's waterfront. Part of UNESCO's World Heritage Site, the G.H.D. enjoys breathtaking vistas. All rooms offer direct views, either of the Douro river, the Dom Luis bridge and the Port lodges that line the riverbank or of the romantic Fonte Taurina, one of the oldest streets of Oporto. Only steps away from an abundance of attractions and historical monuments. Create beautiful memories and let the Guest House Douro be one of them! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Guest House Douro Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing