We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“how it always should and must be , simply perfect”
Review of Guest House Douro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porto
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Guest House Douro
Ranked #1 of 173 Porto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed 3 days in the Guest house from Sunday 8 till Wednesday 11 June 2014 . Perfect location in the city center of Porto , 50 m away from the Douro river . Carmen & Joao are the best host we have had ever . They helped us perfectly to explore the city , giving all the points of interest ,the good restaurants they even booked for us same for the visit of a port producer located on the other bank of the river . Breakfast was simply fantastic , with a lot of fresh food presented like a painting fantastic bread as well , in other words the best B & B we ever had ?

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salsal0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 720 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

Great find for a place to stay in Porto. Newly renovated and great location close to the river, with lots of restaurant options nearby. Carmen and Joao are amazing hosts; great attention, service and food within, and very helpful guidance for touring the city and the area. The breakfast is a true work of art. Rooms are on the small side, but efficient and clean, also quiet at night.
Will definitely want to stay here if we return to Porto.

Room Tip: Enjoyed our room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MovinOn360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

If you are looking for a B&B in Porto,this is it.The owners/hosts Carmen and Joao are warm and welcoming and are very tuned in to making your stay in a Porto a great experience.The place is very well situated,extremely well maintained,comfortable,tastefully decorated and charming.Look no further!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Seth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I can't add anything to the rave reviews already given to this place. The room was lovely, the breakfast superb, the hosts charming and helpful, the views from the window were spectacular.

We arrived late afternoon after a long drive and were immediately offered a glass of Port and some nuts -- you don't get that at an average guest house.

Beware, however, that it is situated in a limited car zone and you can't park there. Further, as it's right on the riverfront everywhere is "up" from there.

Room Tip: Ask for a river-view room; although there IS more noise on that side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isambard40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

A real gem. This is a small place (8 rooms) in a great location along the river. The rooms are small but beautifully appointed with high end modern appointments and spotlessly maintained. The breakfast is quite spectacular in a smallish room on the first floor which requires timed seatings in order to accommodate all the guests.

But the true heart of the operation are the gracious, friendly and delightful owners Carmen and Joao. They could not be more helpful, from recommending things to do, places to eat or providing a running commentary on matters Portuguese.

It is a guesthouse and not a hotel. Some criticisms on other websites have noted there are rules (such as guests must be in by 1am or risk being out all night) but we found them perfectly reasonable and acceptable.

We have travelled all over the world and have rarely had a better lodging experience.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

It's difficult to summarise everything about this exquisite little abode but I will try. It's small and intimate, very clean and professionally run. If you do nothing else but follow the owners recommended restaurants you will love Porto.
The warmth of the staff is truly unique. The breakfasts are a healthy, magnificent start to the day and the constant little touches of understanding such as umbrellas for inclement weather, water bottles on the way out for a walk, getting tables for us at restaurants, genuine concern for our welfare and so on. It is like a home away from home.
The position is right on the river in the old district of the city and many of the eating places were within 50 metres of the front door.
The tourist busses were up steep hills but still only 500 metres away.
My wife and I are going back after touring the wine regions so I cannot recommend a place more than that

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Guest House Douro is a an absolutely amazing place to stay if you plan to visit Porto. The hosts are lovely, warm and extremely kind people (we felt like if they were vising our family). We got welcomed with a glass of porto and a big smiles on João's and Carmen's faces. The location just could not be better. We've had a feeling like it was pretty close to anywhere we wanted to go. There is a bunch of nice restaurants (also for vegans) around the area so you can just walk around and see what you like best. Expect great coffee and very healthy, tasty and amazingly looking breakfast in the morning. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adamaszczos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.1 mi away
Porto River Aparthotel
Porto River Aparthotel
#5 of 111 in Porto
364 reviews
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
0.1 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Pestana Vintage Porto
#10 of 111 in Porto
2,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Artist Porto Hotel & Bistro
0.2 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#6 of 111 in Porto
649 reviews
0.1 mi away
The House Ribeira Porto Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest House Douro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House Douro

Address: Rua Fonte Taurina 99 101, Porto 4050-270, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range: £115 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of historical Oporto, the Guest House Douro offers a unique and personal experience. It is the first and only guesthouse on Oporto's waterfront. Part of UNESCO's World Heritage Site, the G.H.D. enjoys breathtaking vistas. All rooms offer direct views, either of the Douro river, the Dom Luis bridge and the Port lodges that line the riverbank or of the romantic Fonte Taurina, one of the oldest streets of Oporto. Only steps away from an abundance of attractions and historical monuments. Create beautiful memories and let the Guest House Douro be one of them! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Guest House Douro Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing