We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute Gem”
Review of Guest House Douro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Porto
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Guest House Douro
Ranked #1 of 172 Porto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Yes rooms on the small side but what do you expect in historic Porto and the location, friendliness and welcome from Carmen and Joao is second to none. A real gem in a fabulous location with fantastic hosts for whom nothing appears too much trouble. You will be disappointed if you don't stay here.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms overlooking the river, they are a bit more expensive but the view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TipTop748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (718)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 718 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed for 7 nights, 7 to 14 June and loved every moment of our stay with Carmen and Joao at Guest House Douro. A truly memorable experience, making it a highlight of our whole 6 week trip. The warmth and generosity shown by Carmen and Joao is truly first class. I could easily have stayed at Guest House Douro for the whole six weeks. I was sad on the day of our departure as I too felt we were leaving close friends/family.
I totally agree with all the comments made in regard to location on the beautiful Douro River, the exquisite breakfasts, the lovely decorated and cleverly designed rooms.
I purchased the gorgeous Vista Alegre cup & saucer set like the one on the reception desk, every time I look at it I have very fond and treasured memories of Guest House Douro and Porto. I will certainly return to the amazing city of Porto and the exquisite Guest House Douro.
I just realised I accidentally ticked swimming pool which I cannot now delete as Guest House Douro do not have one...they certainly do not need one as they are situated right on the beautiful Douro River!

I

Room Tip: We had a room with a view of the river, room 402 it was excellent. Although the room was small they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernadette85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed at the Guest House Duoro for 3 nights in early June 2014. It was recommended by Rick Steve and he was absolutely correct. The location was ideal, the rooms were immaculate and well decorated, and the owners, Carmen & Joao, were the best hosts. They made us feel right at home and helped us plan our sightseeing as well as recommending good restaurants. Joao made this unbelievable breakfast every morning, with fresh fruit and breads. They even set up a tour of one of the port houses across the river, Graham's. The location was close to everything, and our room had the most beautiful view of the Duoro River. We would definitely recommend The Guest House Duoro for a fabulous experience in Porto.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view- spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed 3 nights in early June. I can only restate what other reviewers have said. This is a superb Guest House. It is centrally located along the river. The rooms, with views of the river and port houses, are superbly decorated and well maintained. The real keys are the hoists, Joao and Carmen. From the moment that you enter the door, they make you feel welcome and cater to your needs. Whether it is a glass of port in the evening, reservations, or just guidance for sights in the city, they provide all the services with warmth and a smile. The breakfast is elegant and superb, a perfect start for a day of sightseeing. I had not planned to return to Porto but the experience has me considering options. This is a well-run wonderful establishment and provided one of the best traveling experiences for my wife and me.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldDuckTacoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed 3 days in the Guest house from Sunday 8 till Wednesday 11 June 2014 . Perfect location in the city center of Porto , 50 m away from the Douro river . Carmen & Joao are the best host we have had ever . They helped us perfectly to explore the city , giving all the points of interest ,the good restaurants they even booked for us same for the visit of a port producer located on the other bank of the river . Breakfast was simply fantastic , with a lot of fresh food presented like a painting fantastic bread as well , in other words the best B & B we ever had ?

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salsal0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Great find for a place to stay in Porto. Newly renovated and great location close to the river, with lots of restaurant options nearby. Carmen and Joao are amazing hosts; great attention, service and food within, and very helpful guidance for touring the city and the area. The breakfast is a true work of art. Rooms are on the small side, but efficient and clean, also quiet at night.
Will definitely want to stay here if we return to Porto.

Room Tip: Enjoyed our room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MovinOn360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

If you are looking for a B&B in Porto,this is it.The owners/hosts Carmen and Joao are warm and welcoming and are very tuned in to making your stay in a Porto a great experience.The place is very well situated,extremely well maintained,comfortable,tastefully decorated and charming.Look no further!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Seth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.1 mi away
Porto River Aparthotel
Porto River Aparthotel
#3 of 111 in Porto
354 reviews
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
0.1 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Artist Porto Hotel & Bistro
0.1 mi away
InPatio Guest House
InPatio Guest House
#2 of 172 in Porto
465 reviews
0.1 mi away
1872 River House
1872 River House
#5 of 172 in Porto
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest House Douro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House Douro

Address: Rua Fonte Taurina 99 101, Porto 4050-270, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 172 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range: £115 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of historical Oporto, the Guest House Douro offers a unique and personal experience. It is the first and only guesthouse on Oporto's waterfront. Part of UNESCO's World Heritage Site, the G.H.D. enjoys breathtaking vistas. All rooms offer direct views, either of the Douro river, the Dom Luis bridge and the Port lodges that line the riverbank or of the romantic Fonte Taurina, one of the oldest streets of Oporto. Only steps away from an abundance of attractions and historical monuments. Create beautiful memories and let the Guest House Douro be one of them! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Guest House Douro Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing