We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very close to Campanha station”
Review of Hotel Poveira

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Poveira
Ranked #59 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Reviewed 10 November 2012

I stayed here for one night - I arrived quite late and was leaving early to travel on. The hostel is across the street from Campanha station which was ideal for me. The area around the hostel wasn't great but there were a couple of cafes to grab something to eat or it would be easy to travel into Porto on foot or by the metro at Campanha.

The hostel offers free wifi which was great and the man working on reception was very helpful.

The room was spotlessly clean and the bed was comfortable but the place could really be doing with a but of a spruce up, it was verging on depressing. For what I needed the room for it was ideal and great value for money but this wouldn't be my hotel of choice if I were there to sightsee or stay more than one night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Poveira
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 35 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed here one night before we caught the 5.40am train to Faro. The room was a pretty good size with a big bathroom with a bath with shower over the top, toilet and bidet. The bed was comfortable with nice pillows. The whole hotel was very clean. For the price you could not beat it. I've stayed in hotels costing 6x more and they were not as clean or comfortable as this - that said, it is not a 5* place, so don't expect that and you'll be fine!

Being opposite the station, the area isn't the best, but if you're on the back of the hotel there is little noise (except for the occasional local cat fights)

The only issue you'd have would be if it was very hot as there was no airconditioning and the window had a roller shutter, so for security, this needs to be down and therefore it would be pretty hot in there... We were there in reasonable weather and it was fine.

The check-in was handled really well and we were helped to our room with our suitcases - there are many steps, so be aware...

Room Tip: Try for a rear room to avoid the noise.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelbourneDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed at Pensao Poveira for one night only, just to rest and to continue our trip in Portugal. It´s close to Campanha station, so if you need a clean place to sleep next to it, its a great chose. Our room was on the first floor, so there was no lift and we had to carry up our luggage.Next to it there are some places where you can have your breakfast for reasonble prices.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarmemGoncalves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Situated ideally for Port Campanha station, and has a good selection of tv channels. (Including a hardcore porn channel, which can't help but raise an eyebrow when yr flicking through trying to find CNN). Other than that frankly i didnt find it had much going for it. My room was clean enough but frankly verging on the depressing. Zero effort put into brighten the room up with things like pictures on the wall etc. The bathroom was basically in the bedroom with only a wall (that didnt go to the ceiling) partitioning you off. So if you are with company they get all the noises and odours too. My room at the front suffered from outside traffic noise too.

Great if you have a late arrival, or early depart from Campanha. But quite sure you could find better more centrally located Residencials for around the price. Just returned from two and half weeks staying in several Pensoes and Residencials around northern Portugal, all at similar prices. This was the worst. ... By no means terrible but certainly can't raise its head up above very average.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BedfordFalls74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Clean, reasonably priced and good location across the street from Campanha station, many nearby places to eat (but not many speak English, bring your phrase book!), pleasant staff, with English language TV channels and wi-fi - only one major drawback, none of the rooms are on the ground floor and there's no lift! My room was on the street side with a nice view. A good deal if travelling by train and getting up the stairs isn't an issue.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tio-Ned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

I'm from Lisboa and travelled to Porto with my Kiwi partner and english friends. We stayed at Poveira for 3 nights and loved it. It's nothing fancy, a simple portuguese residencial with very good price and spacious and very clean rooms. Our rooms were turned to the back and were very quiet. It's across the street from Campanha train station which is 1 station to central Porto Sao Bento. It's surrounded by good restaurants and coffee places with mouth watering cakes. Porto is a dark city and can seem dodgy at times but at no time we felt in danger. People were very friendly to us here. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank xiribita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

This is a very simple guest house, in a tipical portuguese building, near the Campanhã Station. It is not so central, like I read in some advises.
The rooms are furnished by bathroom, but it is very small. However the rooms are very clean.
You can park the car on the street (free), but that is not a very nice zone of Porto.
There's no wi-fi, but there are some pc to connect (not free and with some difficulty).
The rooms that overlook the street are a little bit noise and there is no air conditioning (just a fan).

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thefoodfinders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Porto Nobre
Hotel Porto Nobre
#66 of 108 in Porto
35 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Universal
Hotel Universal
#65 of 108 in Porto
325 reviews
1.2 mi away
Residencial Triunfo
Residencial Triunfo
#87 of 108 in Porto
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Moov Hotel Porto Norte
Moov Hotel Porto Norte
#12 of 108 in Porto
605 reviews
3.6 mi away
No photo provided
Pensao Sao Jorge
#72 of 108 in Porto
2 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pensao Residencial Marfim
Pensao Residencial Marfim
#101 of 108 in Porto
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Poveira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poveira

Address: Rua da Estacao 56, Porto 4300-171, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Price Range: £30 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Poveira 1*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Poveira Hotel is a family-run property for over 3 decades. It has a extraordinary location, directly opposite the city's main train station (Porto - Campanha) and a bus and metro interface (direct connection to the airport). It is therefore a great choice for tourists wishing to explore the city of Porto in several days but also for travelers who only need to stay one night. It has 27 rooms with private bathroom, air conditioning, cable TV and wifi Internet access that guarantee comfort in an excellent quality – price relation. Additional services are also available, especially a bar / lounge, tours and tickets sales or a breakfast service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Poveira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing