We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”
Review of Hotel Poveira

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Poveira
Ranked #59 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

For the price of €22/night the hotel is really good. I got the room with a balcony, wooden floors. There is a TV in each room. Bathroom is good. Location is great, stone throw way distance from Campanha metro station.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank Rohit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 30 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

The most lovely lady from the Azore Island really looked after us whilst we stayed. the breakfast was fantastic!

We stayed in a double room with an en suite. It was fantastic, it was painted turquoise with lovely bedding. Felt very much at home. Despite being right by the main road, no noise! always had a great nights sleep. We were there for a week. It was wonderful, €8 per night! It was incredibly generous for so little! Definitely recommend!

Every day the room was cleaned and the bed was made all ready for our return:)

Room Tip: Double room en suite (turquoise room) beautiful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geraldeneamyhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Decent and clean hotel at good price! Perfect location from train station yet not noisy at night. Friendly and super helpful staff! The younger staff can speak good English. Ask for hair dryer and kettle during check-in, those are free. They are willing to render help (to provide us a room for rest & dining while waiting for evening train to leave porto) though we already checked-out the room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank castlemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

A group of 4 friends stayed here in early June. We choose the hotel for it's location since we were arriving on a late night train. The hotel has seen better days but it is still very clean and well cared for - they even iron all the sheets and pillowcases! The staff are helpful and friendly and speak a number of languages, including the owner who grew up in Canada and is a native English speaker. I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for good value and who doesn't need everything to be new. That being said, we did notice that the owners were in the process of renovating some of the rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneTravellingForFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I stayed one night at the hotel ,I chose the hotel based on the reviews but it didn't meet my expections. I chose the hotel because of early morning train trip
the location is depressant , you feel unsafe, the hotel seems very very old
inside the room ooooh .......my God
But the receptionist was nice
Honestly I never come back again , never recommend to someone

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adybeig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

A little spartan and aged but clean hotel, ideal for 1 night and if arriving late or departing early by train. Just in front of the train station of Campanhã. Friendly and helpful staff. Spacious rooms and bathroom. Excellent prices.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alefzero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

I stayed here for one night - I arrived quite late and was leaving early to travel on. The hostel is across the street from Campanha station which was ideal for me. The area around the hostel wasn't great but there were a couple of cafes to grab something to eat or it would be easy to travel into Porto on foot or by the metro at Campanha.

The hostel offers free wifi which was great and the man working on reception was very helpful.

The room was spotlessly clean and the bed was comfortable but the place could really be doing with a but of a spruce up, it was verging on depressing. For what I needed the room for it was ideal and great value for money but this wouldn't be my hotel of choice if I were there to sightsee or stay more than one night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
1.2 mi away
Residencial Triunfo
Residencial Triunfo
#89 of 108 in Porto
76 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Vice Rei
Hotel Vice Rei
#56 of 108 in Porto
186 reviews
1.0 mi away
Residencia Pedra Antiga
Residencia Pedra Antiga
#88 of 108 in Porto
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Porto Nobre
Hotel Porto Nobre
#66 of 108 in Porto
37 reviews
1.3 mi away
Paulista Pensao Residencial
1.6 mi away
Pensao Residencial Marfim
Pensao Residencial Marfim
#100 of 108 in Porto
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Poveira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poveira

Address: Rua da Estacao 56, Porto 4300-171, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Price Range: £34 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Poveira 1*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Poveira Hotel is a family-run property for over 3 decades. It has a extraordinary location, directly opposite the city's main train station (Porto - Campanha) and a bus and metro interface (direct connection to the airport). It is therefore a great choice for tourists wishing to explore the city of Porto in several days but also for travelers who only need to stay one night. It has 27 rooms with private bathroom, air conditioning, cable TV and wifi Internet access that guarantee comfort in an excellent quality – price relation. Additional services are also available, especially a bar / lounge, tours and tickets sales or a breakfast service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Poveira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing