We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely helpful people at this hotel, good breakfast too.”
Review of Hotel Mira Daire

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mira Daire
Ranked #78 of 168 Porto B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 October 2012

This is a very friendly hotel, and perhaps our fault that we chose to sleep in a front room overlooking the road, which can be very noisy at night.. we were offered an alternative, but we liked the room! Breakfast was excellent and the service was extremely helpful, even to booking us a taxi at 4.45 and being up at that hour to say goodbye!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front can be very noisy, due to the cobbles on the busy road, especially on a Saturday...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harryhero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

My wife and I spent 7 nights at the Mira D'aire this past June. The courtesy of the owners and the quality of our stay could not have been better. No matter how late we returned from our endless city walks, Jose or his wife were always there to let us in and bid us a good night. The room was spotless and spacious; the bath was large, the bed comfortable. TV reception was excellent, though wifi in the room was a little weak (put your computer near the door for a better signal). Don't be put off by the lack of an elevator, it's worth the walk up to have such a great place to stay. And the location couldn't have been better. We walked from the hotel to the historic district each day (and night). Robert and Anna, Portland OR

Room Tip: A room in back overlooking the garden is quieter. The street tends to be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

The old bourgeoise house is quite lovely but the Portuguese owners here really make the difference. They are very friendly and so helpful. We had a room on the top floor and they offered to carry our bags up for us, which was greatly appreciated. The room overlooked the garden which I was happy for as the street side is quite busy, cars really fly up the road and make a lot of noise on the cobblestone. Be careful crossing the street! Rooms are nicely decorated and spotless. They speak English and also excellent French having lived in France for years. I thought it was a bit of a hike down to the river and old town but on the other hand it allowed us to discover a different part of Porto and in nice weather it was a very pleasant walk. Their little dog, Milou, is cute. The breakfast was good but I didn't care for the breakfast room which is below street level, a bit cold, and kind of noisy as it is street side.

Room Tip: Garden side for a quieter night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiaGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Good quality, friendly hotel in a convenient location. We had a small but cosy room with a very clean bathroom - it was very quiet despite the hotel being located at a quite busy road. The manager was extremely helpful, she ordered a taxi for us and said goodbye when we were leaving at 5 am for the airport. Breakfasts were tasty but you could tell the ingredients were not of a premium quality. Also, the room and bathroom were a bit cold (we stayed there in November - a warm weekend, but still...). The only major disadvantage (for me) was that you had to ask for tea/coffee to be provided (I am an excessive tea drinker). We had an electric kettle and cups and it wouldn't hurt to put a few bags of tea in the room too... But in general, I can definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room with window facing the back of the building - the street at the front is quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GosiaRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

This small hotel is in a typical Porto street and it is an interesting walk into the town centre. There are small supermarkets and reasonably priced cafes in the area. The hotel is spotlessly clean with very pleasant owners who will try to give you a room which suits your needs. Breakfast which is served to your table is fresh, varied and plentiful - the coffee was particularly good. During our extended stay in Portugal, we stayed in 8 hotels of various classification and this was the best one.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlook the pretty garden and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hotelexpert60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We've been at Mira d'Aire in the period 2nd-5th of September 2011, during a trip that involved 3 different hotels: Mira d'Aire was the one with low star classiifcation, but it has been the best one! The owner are a couple really kind and their care for the guests is extraordinary; we were with our two little children and they felt better than at home. There is also Milù, a little, clean and lovely dog. The room was really clean, and sufficiently big to stay in a comfortable way with 4 beds; there is no much noise because there is not trafic in the street during the night, also if the position is good in relation to the center of the town and it is really simple to go in the principal metro station of the town, in which all the metro lines are crossing. There is not a private parking but on the street the parking is free in the night, and if you want in front of the hotel there is a private parking. Maybe the bathroom could have a little restyling, but for us the essential was that it was really clean. The building is a tipical Porto house, with a nice internal style that reminded us old english houses; the breakfast was exactly the same of the other Portoguese hotels: not international but with daily prepared fruits, yogurt, cereals, ham with cheese, croissants and a full choise of beverages.
Susanna, Luca and the little Fabrizio and Elena thank you, If we'd come back in Porto we'll surely choose this hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4infamiglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

Rooms are very clean. Towels were changed everyday. There are everything you need in rooms (hair-dryer, kettle, glasses, cups). Staff is very friendly and helpful. They speak (I think) at least in four languages (Portuguese, French, English, Spanish). On breakfast you can get ham, cheese, roll, croissants, fruits, jams, juice, coffee, tee. Hotel is about ten minutes from centre. Free Wi-fi.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank barrob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
1.2 mi away
Dukes Corner Guest House
Dukes Corner Guest House
#27 of 168 in Porto
54 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boavista Guest House
Boavista Guest House
#39 of 168 in Porto
202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Estoril Porto
Hotel Estoril Porto
#74 of 168 in Porto
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.1 mi away
Casa do Moleiro
Casa do Moleiro
#86 of 168 in Porto
15 reviews
1.0 mi away
Casa dos Guindais
Casa dos Guindais
#11 of 168 in Porto
294 reviews
1.0 mi away
By the River Guesthouse
By the River Guesthouse
#77 of 168 in Porto
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mira Daire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mira Daire

Address: Rua de Alvares Cabral 197 | Cedofeita, Porto 4050-041, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 168 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range: £33 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mira Daire 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mira Daire Hotel accommodations are integrated into a manorial of great architectural interest . Located at Porto city center close to Praca da Republica and Cedofeita street .Small hotel with eleven rooms, privileged situation for families, business and holidays.Breakfast and garage service . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mira Daire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing