We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent architect design”
Review of Belomonte 20

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Belomonte 20
Ranked #117 of 221 Speciality Lodging in Porto
athens
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent architect design”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Although at first exterior glance you don't expect them like that, we visited the apartments and we were impressed. The design is very unique and the room inside is really cosy. We didn't face any problem with cleaness or similar problems and we enjoyed it a lot. The beds were very comfortable too. It was in a very central spot in Porto, by walking you could get to the rail station and the sea.
I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meredith54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    13
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
1
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
parabita
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Just 5 minutes walking from the seaside and the heart of the city it was very good experience staying here. The mini apartment (VICTORIA) was very tiny and little but there was all the needed amenities. The bathroom was great and the shower as well very large and brand new..with one wall woodmade and the other of real stone. The apartment has an art gallery in the stairway (there is no elevator) .
The main weakness is the soundproofing of the rooms .. you can hear the steps of the guys in the upper apartment or if some one is walking the stairway. In addition the staff's girl woke us up early in the morning of the last day to pay the room knocking on the door ( not very gentle and nice ) even if we tried to find her several times to pay the day before.
Another big weakness was that internet wifi connection was not working.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fedewild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We have visited Portugal a number of times and usually stay in Residencias, so we are easily satisfied. As we had not been to Porto before and were staying for a week and were concerned about the weather we wanted something slightly better and plumped for the balcony studio.
It is in a good location, with modern furnishing and fitments and a good kitchenette. The balcony is splendid.
However....
There is no-one on site and check in was hit and miss (we found people outside the front door unable to gain access!). The owner might be delightful but we were told they were in Cuba and the apartments were being "supervised" by someone who could have been a student, who was only contactable by phone and ownership of a mobile phone was assumed.
There seemed to be no spare keys for our studio so we only got any room servicing when we were in and asked for it. It was then done "round us". While the cleaning was not a problem for us, the removal of food waste was. If we had been told we could have done it ourselves, but would expect extra bags for the bin. Of even more concern was what would have happened if we had lost our keys....
The floors are boards over bare ceiling joists, with absolutely no acoustic insulation. You can hear EVERYTHING that goes on above you. This is OK if they are church mice and rarely in, but for a couple of days we had a rampaging child above us and then we had people who seemed to delight in rearranging their room before 6am in the morning.
There was only one chair and it was broken. There was no balcony furniture.
The shower was in a well(!) and you entered by going down four freestanding wooden stairs which had no handrail.
The wooden stairs were bare, steep, narrow and low levels of illumination.
The digital television (good) stopped working after a couple of days.
The signal for the Wi-Fi was barely detectable and thus unusable anywhere in the block.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lewis_the_Barman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We strongly recommend Belomonte appartments. Comfortable, well located, good taste in decoration, clean. It gives you the opportunity to live in an old building with today's commodities at the core of a lovely city. The owners are the the best, and the housekeeper is all smiles when she talks. Nice place for breakfast less than a block away, with good and inexpensive food. Short walks to the Douro river, historic buildings and the stop of a streetcar that brings you where the Douro merges with the Atlantic ocean. Go to Porto and stay at Belomonte apartments, you won't regret it. Gracias Ernesto y Sofia por la hospitalidad y unos dias magníficos.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reinel_Sospedra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2009

Great value for money : in a safe area of the historic district, about 10 minutes walk to the river and about the same to the Cathedral. The owners - Sophia and Ernesto - are charming and helpful. The apartments are comfortable and stylish and the 'Dardo' apartment (that we stayed in) has a lovely balcony. Be sure to visit the Cafe Bolomonte Pizza next door for a nightcap on your way back home from an evening out, the friendly owners and locals will make you welcome. If you want to economise from the riverside restaurants, the 'O Caravela da Ribiera' cafe in Rua Mouzinho da Silveiro does a great Prato del Dia menu. The only drawbacks to these apartments are that you might need to walk up quite a few flights of stairs and sometimes you might hear the footsteps of any occupants of apartments above you.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SussexRos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.0 mi away
BelomonteGH guest house
BelomonteGH guest house
#17 of 150 in Porto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Being Porto Hostel
Being Porto Hostel
#21 of 221 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.2 mi away
My Ribeira Guest House
My Ribeira Guest House
#46 of 221 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Low Cost Tourist Apartments - Palacio da Bolsa
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Turisticos Comercio do Porto
0.1 mi away
Sao Domingos Apartments
Sao Domingos Apartments
#125 of 221 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belomonte 20? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belomonte 20

Property: Belomonte 20
Address: Rua do Belomonte 20, Porto 4050-096, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 221 Speciality Lodging in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self Catering apartments in Porto, Portugal. Contemporary and cosy in the heart of the historical center. 5 minutes walking from the Cathedral and from the river. 5 minutes walking from the metro and the tramway. Just perfect. In rua de Belomonte 20, where are cafés, restaurants and the main monuments of Porto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Belomonte 20 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belomonte Self-Catering Apartments Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing