We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alvares Cabral Guest House
Ranked #44 of 153 Porto B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We were a party of five friends on a limited budget holiday so were not expecting too much. What we got was a lovely place to stay at an unbeatable price. The rooms were clean and comfortable and there was a nice little patio garden at the back where we had breakfast or just sat in and relaxed after a full day walking around. The staff were very friendly and helpful giving us lots of tips on where to go and they would make us tea/coffee whenever we asked for it.
The hotel is located about 5-10 minutes from Trinidade metro station (on the main line from the airport), there are plenty of bus stops to help you get around or you can walk down to the river in about 20 minutes. For Port Houses Taylor's or Ferreira are the better ones to visit. Tram ride along the north side of the river is nice and there is a stop just past the road bridge where the local ferry boat goes across to the fishing village on the south side of the river.
Make sure you validate your bus/metro ticket each time you travel and make sure you carry some form of ID with you (e.g. passport). Spot checks were being done at stations for both tickets and IDs whilst we were there.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NickGoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    83
    23
    8
    1
See reviews for
18
122
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

This guesthouse turned out to be an absolutely welcoming: cosy rooms, incredibly friendly and helpful stuff!! Thanks to all tips we got, our stay in Porto became surely enjoyable! Besides main tourist attractions, we explored simple and nice local places, tasting delicious food and port wine, meeting interesting people and just enjoying great views on Porto. Special thanks to Jose!!;-) Very clean rooms, cute garden, close to Trindade subway station that allows easy access to all parts of the city. Highly recommend!!!B-)

Room Tip: Room number 8 :-) Garden side,absolutely quite and cosy)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sovyonok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I would recommend this place to anyone visiting Porto for a top quality place at an unbeatable price. I stayed for a couple of nights with my boyfriend and overall it was excellent.
The rooms are spacious and the mattresses really comfortable. It is really clean and well taken care after, tastefully decorated and with a really nice atmosphere. The back garden is great in the morning to have breakfast.
The staff are incredibly helpful. They recommended places to eat, visit, etc. They helped us booking accommodation in the south of the country, and when my boyfriend left his blackberry behind they sent it to us straight away.
I might be only repeating what other reviewers have already said, but I cannot stress enough the quality you get for great value.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noelia_Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

All the other reviews say it already - this is a great place - excellent service and extremely clean and efficient. I would stay here again. I didn't feel entirely comfortable exploring Porto alone so would rather return with other people (though that's an entirely personal view) and I can't fault this guest house.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nonnelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Very friendly staff - who are trying to learn a bit of all the languages they are confronted with. Good luck fon that endeavour! As we spent only one day&night in Porto, the staff provided us with a map and drew two walking routes on it. So we managed to see all of Porto in one late afternoon/evening and the next morning/early afternoon.
The room was squeaky clean and had high ceilings - and was beautifully decorated. Not usual for a city guesthouse!! As for a room in the back, as there is a quite a busy street up front. If you are a smoker, though, as for a room with balcony (unfortunately, they all face the front).

Room Tip: If you have trouble with noise, ask for a room facing the back garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyMaryMontagu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braga, Portugal
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This hotel is very nice in all aspects... location, decoration, staff, spaces...etc.
Recommended

Room Tip: Choose room number 4, near the garden ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suteki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

The staff here is amazing! They were very friendly and gave us many tips and a very detailed itinerary for our visit. It was better than the travel guide! The location of the guest house is great, we easily walked to downtown and the metro station was very close too. Our room was very clean, confortable and well decorated. The best part was having breakfast in the lawn outside! We had a great stay and will return here when we come to Porto again!

Room Tip: We loved the breakfast outside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian51978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.4 mi away
Boavista Guest House
Boavista Guest House
#36 of 153 in Porto
187 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa dos Guindais
Casa dos Guindais
#10 of 153 in Porto
275 reviews
0.7 mi away
O'Porto Seven Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grande Oceano Guest House
0.6 mi away
Pedra Iberica
Pedra Iberica
#33 of 153 in Porto
152 reviews
0.8 mi away
Residencial Vale Formoso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alvares Cabral Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alvares Cabral Guest House

Property: Alvares Cabral Guest House
Address: Rua de Alvares Cabral 341, Porto 4050-041, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alvares Cabral Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alvares Cabral Guest House is located near Oporto's centre, a 5-minute walk from Trindade Metro Station (with connection to airport). It offers free Wi-Fi and a 24-hour reception.Alvares Cabral offers a range of rooms to suit different budgets. The rooms have either shared or private bathroom facilities.Parking is available on-site or in a secure garage in the same street upon request. Francisco Sa Carneiro Airport is 15 minutes' drive and a shuttle service is also available upon request.The main sights are 1 km away from the guest house, including Casa da Musica. Sao Bento Train Station is 20 minutes' walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alvares Cabral Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing