We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I asked for a quiet room and they gave me one!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dear Porto Guest House
Ranked #49 of 169 Porto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2011

The Residencial describes itself as being 150 metres from Bilhoa Metro station. I think it is more like 400 and uphill. This matters when one is tired and hobbling around on a dodgy knee. BUT, you know that feeling, "it was so little money when I booked, what is it going to be like?" Well it was a friendly greeting from the owner (who speaks French much better than English) and formalities speedily over, to the room. Clean and tidy, not overly large, en suite, with a double bed nice and firm (just how I like it). The room faces onto some terraces at the back and the trees were showing a cheery amount of blossom and fresh leaf.
WIFI is thrown in and my connection was impecable but I did hear someone complaining that he was finding it very slow.
All in all, for the money I will be back here to further enjoy Porto and all that it has to offer. A great place and still NOT expensive when out and about.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leminier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2010

Stayed here recently. Like one of the reviews below has intimated, it was cheap, but has some serious limitations. Primarily, the stink from the drain in our double room ensuite. It was clean and - apart from a very creaky bed - acceptable. But the stink from the drain in the toilet eventually drove us out. It wasn't that the place wasn't clean - it was just that there was an overwhelming chemical pong. Walls were a bit on the thin side, but you'd expect that from an old apartment building like this. That said, the staff were very obliging.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thewhelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

The good bits - staff were friendly, the room was spotlessly clean, the bed was very comfortable, the balcony overlooked a quiet courtyard and when I asked for a hairdryer it wasnt a problem. It was close to a metro station.

The not so good bits - no door, not even a curtain on the ensuite bathroom door nor was there an extractor fan. The shower was tiny! Hot water wasnt in great supply.

If you are looking a cheap clean base for a stay in Porto I wouldnt hesitate to recommend this place, a few changes and in my opinion it would go from good to great.

The bedroom was on the small side, but we spent little time in it, only collapsing into bed after a day traipsing the hils of Porto!

For anyone with young kids or a lot of luggage, there is no lift.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BelfastLovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Vraag een kamer met balkon, kun je 's avonds genieten van de drukte in de stad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ocmir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Daniela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank julie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Marina_Wlhlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.9 mi away
Residencial Sol da Nave
Residencial Sol da Nave
#74 of 169 in Porto
64 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grande Oceano Guest House
0.2 mi away
Pedra Iberica
Pedra Iberica
#39 of 169 in Porto
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Residencial Vale Formoso
0.5 mi away
Alvares Cabral Guest House
0.8 mi away
Casa dos Guindais
Casa dos Guindais
#11 of 169 in Porto
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dear Porto Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dear Porto Guest House

Address: Rua Santa Catarina 744, Porto 4000-446, Portugal (Formerly Guest House Solar)
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 169 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range: £26 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dear Porto Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dear Porto Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing