We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Fabulous Place To Stay!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pestana Palacio do Freixo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Ranked #5 of 103 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Fabulous Place To Stay!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

We only stayed one night, however almost changed our travel plans so we could enjoy the Palacio Do Freixo for longer. The hotel is a short distance from the city centre, but is in a lovely position on the river and we enjoyed the 20 minute walk to the old city. The taxi drive was also easy and the drivers helpful on both occasions we took a taxi. The staff were welcoming and helpful and the Palacio itself is divine with large well equipped guest rooms. The only thing at all letting the Palacio down is the wifi Internet service which is less than easy to connect and reconnect to. We had this experience in all the Pousadas we stayed at in Portugal - the outsourced service provider needs to improve!

Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyTR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaCruz, E-commerce management at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this review, 26 April 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousadas de Portugal.
We were very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay. We have notified the department in charge of the internet service about the low signal on Pousadas and the necessary steps to improve will be taken.
We hope you can choose again Pousadas de Portugal.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,138
    324
    78
    34
    14
See reviews for
328
904
16
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2011

This is a lovely quiet hotel slightly outside Porto centre. The rooms are located in a former factory and are large and very comfortable. The communal rooms, including the restaurant., are in the Palace which has been beautifully restored. There is a super indoor pool with sauna etc. The staff are first class, very professional and attentive. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janook123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaCruz, E-commerce management at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this review, 4 March 2011
Thank you so much for your wonderful remarks! We certainly enjoyed reading your comments and would like to thank you for your Staff performance evaluation. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

This new pousada is wonderful - big rooms, great public rooms, nice views, and lots of styles.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maisqueporra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Pousadas, Gerente at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this review, 9 February 2011
Dear Customer, thank you for your wonderful remarks, which we have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes. The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2011

The conversion has been beautifully done, public rooms in an impressive palace, bedrooms in a former factory alongside, comfortable, quiet, attractive, all mustard-colour, which works well. The palace is all gilt and paintings, high ceilings, old and modern furniture, mostly well chosen, sometimes, for me, slightly jarring. Nice spaces outside - numerous terraces, an outside pool on the edge of the River Douro, a sort of pier over the Douro with seating on the end, small formal gardens. Good conference facilities. Breakfast not fantastic, for example juices could be better, scrambled eggs were dried up on the first day, and on the second day did not taste fresh, in my opinion. Home-made baked beans and mushrooms in olive oil were nice. Etc. A mixed experience, but enough nice things there to enjoy. We didn't eat in the restaurant. V attractive, peaceful indoor pool, jaccuzi, spa.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wortleberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaCruz, E-commerce management at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this review, 4 March 2011
Dear Customer, thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousada do Porto and for taking the time to post this review. We certainly enjoyed reading your comments and would like to thank you for your evaluation. We welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us to get better! We hope to be able to welcome you again in a near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
182 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2011

An old Palace on the Douro River banks has been restaured to a beautiful Pousada de Portugal. All the social area rooms are at the old bulding, where you can find new architectural pieces of art as Boca do Lobo furnitures. Is a mixt that goes very well. The rooms are located in the bulding near to the Palace (you walk 5 meters from one to the other outside), which whas a industrial building very well reconverted, where you can still see iron old pieces. Rooms are very cosy, well decorated on golden and brown colors; bed is very confortable and bathroom well equiped. Breakfast has good and high padron service, but it's not the best in town. The indoor pool is good and it has also an outdoord infinity pool for summer time. French gardens are also part of the property. When i was there a Congress was taking place, so there were lots of people coming and going. For the unique location, esplendid Palace and confortable rooms, it's a place to stay at Porto.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaCruz, E-commerce management at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this review, 4 March 2011
Thank you for your wonderful remarks! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Did you know that Pousada do Freixo was considered the Best Pousada of 2010 on the Awards of the 17th annual reunion do grupo Pestana?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2010

I stayed at the Pousada and was very impressed by the buildings and interior exterior design. It is a unique place. The room was large and clean. The staff were friendly and very helpful. I was in a rush to get to the station and I had to call from a taxi to make my bags available for quick pickup. A few minutes later sure enough my bags were waiting outside allowing me to just make my train. The indoor and outdoor infinity pools look beautiful and it has a nice view over the river.

It is a little way outside the town center so you need to take taxis to get to town but those are fairly cheap (about 6 euros). Overall I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank igirisunjin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Pousadas, Gerente at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this review, 3 January 2011
Dear Customer, thank you for taking the time to post this review. We certainly enjoyed reading your comments and would like to thank you for your evaluation, which we have shared with our staff. We hope to be able to welcome you again in a near future. Best wishes. The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
1.9 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
2.0 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
1.7 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Porto River Apartments
Porto River Apartments
#3 of 103 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Palacio do Freixo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palacio do Freixo

Property: Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Address: Estrada Nacional 108, 206 | Campanha, Porto 4300-316, Portugal (Formerly Pousada do Porto - Freixo Palace Hotel)
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Porto
#2 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#4 Business Hotel in Porto
#4 Spa Hotel in Porto
#5 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Palacio do Freixo 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is situated by Porto's Douro River in a restored 18th-century Baroque building. It offers grand public areas with original architecture. Rooms at Pestana Palacio do Freixo are spacious, air-conditioned and have a separate seating area. Bathrooms include luxury amenities and a hairdryer. Some rooms offer Douro River views. Guests can relax on a sun lounger next to the Palacio Do Freixo's outdoor infinity pool which overlooks the river. The restaurant Palatium serves a daily buffet breakfast cooked with fresh ingredients. Guests can order light snacks at the pool or evening cocktails at the hotel's bar. The hotel is situated 2.5 km from the Dolce Vita Shopping Area and 1 km from Campanha Train Station. Porto Airport is a 20-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Priceline and TravelUp so you can book your Pestana Palacio do Freixo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Do Freixo Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing