We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pestana Palacio do Freixo

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Ranked #5 of 103 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Relaxed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

10-15 min drive from central Porto then you can get nice view for the river and quiet and relaxed atmosphere.
room was just NICE but nothing special, but restaurant, bar, hallways,,, made me feel 'staying in posada'.
we enjoyed sweet porto wine as a nightcap at their bar every night. also good breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wheresthenext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Freixo, Gerente at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to Know you enjoyed your stay with us.
I'm happy to know you took the time to visit and enjoy the city. We now look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Kindest regards
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Freixo Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,148
    326
    78
    34
    14
See reviews for
329
912
16
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Loved this hotel. It was absolutely fantastic, and great value for money. We stayed for around 3 nights. The hotel is conveniently situated close to the city, but not so close, so it feels like a bit of a getaway, yet you still have the convenience of the city just a short cab ride away. The hotel is beautiful. Communal areas are gorgeous and the rooms are very tasteful. The restaurant food was excellent. We loved the outdoor pool with its bar. We took our baby daughter and this was not a problem. the service was fantastic. I would love to go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Freixo, Gerente at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your opinon about our hotel with others and also thank you very much for your comments about our services, faciliteis and staff.
Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!
Best regards
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Freixo Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

It all started when I walked into the hotel at 9:45pm on a Sunday night and no one was in the hotel to greet me and check me into my room. Next, they did not have the room I reserved available for me or my male colleague. My male colleague made the reservations and I had a copy saved on my phone. He came on a later flight so was not there to check in at the same time. I was given a room with 2 twin beds pushed together with a river view, however my view was of a brick tower in the center of my window. My reservation was a King room with a river view. Not exactly what I got. My male colleague arrived and he got a King room with a balcony and a view! After he argued, they asked to move me to a suite but it was 12:30am and I was already in bed. I also had to ask for an iron and ironing board twice the night I checked in and did not get it it until about 12:15am. The next morning, I moved my room to an upgraded suite. The hotel staff took my old key but little did I know, he used it for the lights by the door. When I left the room I grabbed that key and then could not get back into my room after breakfast. GREAT! The breakfast room had very poor staff. The ladies were more concerned with chatting with each other than working to serve coffee and tend to our needs. The hotel staff never said good morning or good evening when entering or leaving the hotel. The management apologized but kept saying that this was not generally how things were done. Poor training on their part. Also, the driver that picked up my colleague at the airport was late and then lied about it. And when we asked for a taxi to take us to the airport in the early morning, the car did not show up and we almost missed our flight home. The only shining star was Pedro in the bar. He suggested food to us and was very friendly and thoughtful. Overall, for the price, I expected MUCH better service. I travel the world for work and expect much more. You could stay anywhere else and get better service and for less money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room without the brick pole in your river view. That is room 403 and all rooms below it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Khnyc17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Freixo, Gerente at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to gives us your opinion about our facilities and services. Unfortunately we didn’t met at all your expectations. kindly accept my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience. Please contact me directly so I can see how we could compensate you for this.
Looking forward to your contact
Kindest regards
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Freixo Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limmen
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Palacio do Freixo. Everything was just excellent. The staff is extraordinarily helpful, the restaurant serves great food and our room (we had the special suite) including the view was just gorgeous. Thank you !

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WalterXG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Freixo, Gerente at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Dear Guest ,
Thank you very much for your comments. The fact you have enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to gives feedback it’s the best award we can get and that’s what makes work even harder to meet all our guests’ expectations! Thank you!
We now look forward to the pleasure of meeting you back soon.
Best regards
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Freixo Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

Pusada do Porto, Palacio do Freixo is a pearl. The Palace is astoundingly beautiful restored and maintained. It is such a pleasure to spend time in the various rooms made available for the guests, be it the lounge, the bar or the restaurant. The attached old soap factory has been made into attractive hotel rooms, spacious and with top quality furniture and beautiful decorations. Praise to the architects who transformed the factory into a charming hotel. The pool, the pool area and the pool bar is equally attractive.
Throughout your stay at the Pousada you are being attended to by a very kind, helpful and competent staff.
With only a few kilometers to Porto with the famous old town and with the possibilities of excursions on the Douro river or along the river, you are guarantied a first class holiday in an extraordinary setting.

Jan Bahnson, Espergærde, Denmark

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view to the palace or a room with a view to the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bahnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Freixo, Gerente at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this review, 18 May 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for submitting your review about your stay where you share your experience at the Pousada do Porto Freixo Palace Hotel. Our biggest aim is to ensure memorable holidays to all our dear guests, and your rewarding words are the best incentive for all the team. Thank you very much for your contribution and recommendation.
We look forward to welcome you again.
With kind regards,
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Freixo Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clovelly, Australia
Level Contributor
239 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

A magnificent building near the Douro River, with beautiful public rooms. The hotel was comfortable and well equipped, including free Wi-Fi. For travellers arriving with a car this is a much better location than in the parking restricted centre a couple of kilometres away. However, much of Porto can be seen by walking the city so a vehicle is not essential from that perspective

The rooms are actually in a connected building that was a former factory.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank handr40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Freixo, Gerente at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this review, 18 May 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to Know you enjoyed your stay with us.
I'm happy to know you took the time to visit and enjoy the city. We now look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Kindest regards
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Freixo Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

This is an absolutely excellent hotel, overlooking the river Duoro, a taxi ride from Porto. The rooms are very large, comfortable, and well equipped. Wi-fi works well. Poolside terrace is nice for sitting out enjoying a drink or snack. Evening meal in the restaurant was to die for! Absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patricia_mitchell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Freixo, Gerente at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Guest ,
Thank you very much for your comments. The fact you have enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to gives feedback it’s the best award we can get and that’s what makes work even harder to meet all our guests’ expectations! Thank you!
We now look forward to the pleasure of meeting you back soon.
Best regards
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Freixo Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
1.9 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
2.0 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
1.7 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Porto River Apartments
Porto River Apartments
#3 of 103 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Palacio do Freixo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palacio do Freixo

Property: Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Address: Estrada Nacional 108, 206 | Campanha, Porto 4300-316, Portugal (Formerly Pousada do Porto - Freixo Palace Hotel)
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Porto
#2 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#4 Spa Hotel in Porto
#4 Business Hotel in Porto
#5 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Palacio do Freixo 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is situated by Porto's Douro River in a restored 18th-century Baroque building. It offers grand public areas with original architecture. Rooms at Pestana Palacio do Freixo are spacious, air-conditioned and have a separate seating area. Bathrooms include luxury amenities and a hairdryer. Some rooms offer Douro River views. Guests can relax on a sun lounger next to the Palacio Do Freixo's outdoor infinity pool which overlooks the river. The restaurant Palatium serves a daily buffet breakfast cooked with fresh ingredients. Guests can order light snacks at the pool or evening cocktails at the hotel's bar. The hotel is situated 2.5 km from the Dolce Vita Shopping Area and 1 km from Campanha Train Station. Porto Airport is a 20-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp and LoveHolidays so you can book your Pestana Palacio do Freixo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Do Freixo Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing