We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old palace yet the guests rooms were build in 2009 ~lovely lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Ranked #5 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2013

we liked this palace classy and charming it was my first stay at what they called "pousada". it was a mix between old and new, and knowing what i know now, after two other pousadas in the south. this one by far was my favorite. the wifi worked in the room which was great. the other two didn't have wifi in the rooms. which is for another review. needless to say lesser one. smiling
our room was huge, great tub overlooking a balcony heavenly bedding for sure!! the bath robes thick and comfy.classy touches throughout the room.
the lobby is full of drama of old times. the ceiling art work of 13th century were amazing!!!
the dinner was top style! the breakfast i must admit was pure class. with great options and lovely display of fresh food option, fruit, baked goods, tiny yogurt cups and fresh juices.
the pool and the view from the pool ... oh the view was breath taking!!
i will recommend this place and the city of Porto as a must stop if you are in Lisbon 200 miles away !
and i forgot to say the staff spoken english~ in portugal is not a given~ smiling

Room Tip: ask for a blacony they dont have many but i asked and i got it~
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank navawritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Freixo, Gerente at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to Know you enjoyed your stay and found our service and facilities very good.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to Any of our Pousadas.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,845)
There are newer reviews for Pestana Palacio do Freixo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

717 - 723 of 1,845 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2013

Amazing Hotel! We brought our 4 boys (ages 11 to 5) to Porto for four nights on the front end of our vacation in Portugal. We loved the hotel and the location. It is just outside the city center, which makes it less congested. A five to ten minute cab ride into town. The infinity pool is amazing, we went swimming everyday.

I see some comments about the hotel staff not being very friendly or professional. We did not experience this. The first morning we mistakenly showed up for breakfast 20 minutes late and most of the food was put away. They went back into the kitchen to bring us whatever we wanted, they could not have been more accommodating.

The physical hotel is beautiful and the views of the river are incredible. The layout is a little confusing but once we got the hang of it, we managed just fine.

I do agree the signage at the entrance could be more clear. we used the maps on our iPad to drive from Lisbon to the hotel. It is a very easy drive, but we passed the hotel on our first drive by. It took a few minutes to figure it out.

Overall, I can highly recommend the hotel and a few days in Porto. We had a great time.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor with windows facing a commercial area. The upper floors or windows facin...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4boysdad412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Freixo, Gerente at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to Know you enjoyed your stay with us.
I'm happy to know you took the time to visit and enjoy the city. We now look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I made reservations for our group of 10 travelling from north to south. We arrived early after a long flight, tired but committed to seeing parts of the city. The staff was extremely friendly and eager to help. They got us some coffee while we regrouped to venture out for some site seeing. When we finally returned to check in later in the afternoon, everything went smoothly. We had a beautiful room overlooking the palace. The beds were comfortable. Wifi worked well. The breakfast was more than adequate and certainly better than the typical chain breakfasts. We enjoyed drinks in the bar and the staff was very friendly. The grounds are beautiful. We stayed only 2 nights but I wish it had been longer. Porto turned out to be one of my favorite cities as we travelled throughout Portugal. I just may have to return and I would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canadachris44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Freixo, Gerente at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to Know you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your compliments about the service provided by our staff! They are indeed a great team.
Looking forward to welcome you back
Best regards
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Freixo Palace Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

How lovely! A beautiful building. Amazing views. Swimming pool was truly lovely. It was a revelation and we are heading back to Portugal as soon as we can.

The staff were very helpful and all spoke good English. The service in the restaurant ws splendid on the first night, but not so good the second. We were asked to come back later although we had booked a table, as they were overwhelmed by number of diners. As you had to book it seemed a little unprepared of them. But everything else was great. The service by the pool was excellent and even the laundry service got several stains out that I didn't think would shift.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLCKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Freixo, Gerente at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your opinion about our hotel with us and with all our potential clients.
I’m glad you enjoyed our facilities and found our staff extremely nice and helpful. Looking forward to welcoming you back!
Kindest regards
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Freixo Palace Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stayed here for just a night on our way through Porto. Beautiful old palace that has been converted to a hotel. Friendly staff, nicely appointed rooms, great infinity pool, terrific view of the River Douro. About a 10 minute taxi ride to the port lodges across the river. Nearby shopping, dining. Long wait for a table at breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLAChicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Freixo, Gerente at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to Know you enjoyed your stay with us.
I'm happy to know you took the time to visit and enjoy the city. We now look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Best regards
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Freixo Palace Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Our small suite overlooking the river was absolutely lovely. We took advantage of the special internet rate and asked for a river view. (320 Euros for two nights.) The pool area was lovely and the pool was great for lap swimming early in the morning. The complimentary breakfast was outstanding with a great selection of fresh fruit, pastries, breakfast meats, eggs and juices. A car is a necessity since the hotel is not an easy walk from downtown Porto.

Getting around between the new building and the reception area, bar and restaurant was a challenge. Signage is poor and it took us the better part of a day to determine how to get from the room to various venues. As others have reported, the hotel seems to be understaffed, especially in the afternoon and evening. We asked for ice three times and finally, after an hour, walked down to the bar and got it ourselves. There were plenty of servers at breakfast, however.

The rave bar across the river was loud and irritating in the evening, but closing the windows in our room eliminated most of the noise. On balance, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and certainly would return if we were booked into the same room.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeforney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Freixo, Gerente at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your opinon about our hotel with others and also thank you very much for your comments about our services, facilities and staff.
Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We recently spent one night at the Palacio do Freixo on our honeymoon. We had the BEST experience there. Not only is the pousada beautiful but the staff was extremely helpful. Luis Alexandre welcomed us was extremely friendly when we checked in. He took the time to draw out on a map all the places we should visit. He also took the time to explain all of the facilities and special features available to us at the Palace during our stay. We were there for our honeymoon, so he sent champagne and a fruit platter up to the room to make our experience even more special. We were so impressed with his professionalism and his willingness to go above and beyond to make sure we had a pleasant stay. We wish we would have stayed at the Palace longer--it was the highlight of our honeymoon. We spent most of the night just exploring the grounds and sipping on made-to-order Sangria from the bar. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Freixo, Gerente at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for submitting your review about your stay where you share your experience at the Pousada do Porto Freixo Palace Hotel. Our biggest aim is to ensure memorable holidays to all our dear guests.
Thank you very much for your contribution and recommendation.
We look forward to welcome you again.
With kind regards,
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Freixo Palace Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
1.9 mi away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
2.0 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Pestana Vintage Porto
#10 of 108 in Porto
2,161 reviews
1.7 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#6 of 108 in Porto
570 reviews
3.0 mi away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#8 of 108 in Porto
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Palacio do Freixo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palacio do Freixo

Address: Estrada Nacional 108, 206 | Campanha, Porto 4300-316, Portugal (Formerly Pousada do Porto - Freixo Palace Hotel)
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Porto
#2 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#3 Spa Hotel in Porto
#4 Business Hotel in Porto
#5 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range: £134 - £459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Palacio do Freixo 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the most unique and vibrant city of Portugal, discover the palace of the eighteenth century that, for a few days, will be your haven. Pestana Palácio do Freixo belongs to the Leading Hotels of the World and offers a unique and absolutely memorable experience, wrapped in classic luxury and filled with contemporary comfort. Located on the river that gives life to the best wine in the world, Pestana Palácio do Freixo rises serene, between French-style gardens and granite stonework, in a contrasting and balanced dialogue that welcomes you with care and attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Pestana Palacio do Freixo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Do Freixo Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing