We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall very good experience but some points of attention”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Ranked #5 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Vlierden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
407 reviews
204 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Overall very good experience but some points of attention”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

Hotel is really beautifull restored, the old palace and certainly the factory where the rooms are. Our room was very nice appointed and had everything we need. The surroundings as well as the poolarea are quite nice as well. Still there are some things which are not ok if you pretend to be an upper class hotel. There was mold on ghe sealings of the bathtub in our rooms. There where quite a lot of tiles missing in the benches of the turkish steam bath. If you go for a swim in the early morning you have to go by reception to get a pool towel (quite a stroll in this hotel) the setup of the breakfast area is not logical and it is too small you have to wait for a table. It is a bit far from the city, and only at the last day we learned from an posted letter near the pool there is a shuttle service, that cod have been told at checking in... All in all, quite a nice stay, but for the money we paid we expect a top notch experience, which it was not in our eyes. If i could get a very nice promotional rate i would go back, all in all it is a nice place to be. But when only rack rates available i would get a hotel closer to or in the city.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterEijsbouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,173
    336
    78
    34
    14
See reviews for
343
931
16
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Our recent stay at this pousada left us with mixed feelings. The main building, which is a restored palace, is an interesting and elegant place. Although a little worn down in areas there is a definite charm. Getting to the building where the rooms are located next door in a converted flour factory felt like traveling through a maze because of the poor floor plan which could definitely be improved or better signed. Our actual room was a disappointment. It was located at street level so that if the curtains were open we could see any passerby – so naturally we kept the curtains drawn and since the room had dark ochre walls, it was like being in a cave. We were especially disappointed when we saw that the rooms facing the Douro River had a fabulous view and would have been much brighter. Service was non-descript, though it did seem as though staff was young and not very well trained.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dtheresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

This is our second stay at this hotel. The most comfortable we have stayed in for all of Portugal. Beautiful setting with the outdoor pool overlooking the river. The buffet breakfast has more varied options than any other we've experienced. Th

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cj_sfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Freixo, Gerente at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your opinion about our hotel with us and with all our potential clients.
I’m glad you enjoyed our facilities and found our staff extremely nice and helpful. Looking forward to welcoming you back!
Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
185 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

we liked this palace classy and charming it was my first stay at what they called "pousada". it was a mix between old and new, and knowing what i know now, after two other pousadas in the south. this one by far was my favorite. the wifi worked in the room which was great. the other two didn't have wifi in the rooms. which is for another review. needless to say lesser one. smiling
our room was huge, great tub overlooking a balcony heavenly bedding for sure!! the bath robes thick and comfy.classy touches throughout the room.
the lobby is full of drama of old times. the ceiling art work of 13th century were amazing!!!
the dinner was top style! the breakfast i must admit was pure class. with great options and lovely display of fresh food option, fruit, baked goods, tiny yogurt cups and fresh juices.
the pool and the view from the pool ... oh the view was breath taking!!
i will recommend this place and the city of Porto as a must stop if you are in Lisbon 200 miles away !
and i forgot to say the staff spoken english~ in portugal is not a given~ smiling

Room Tip: ask for a blacony they dont have many but i asked and i got it~
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank navawritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Freixo, Gerente at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to Know you enjoyed your stay and found our service and facilities very good.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to Any of our Pousadas.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Amazing Hotel! We brought our 4 boys (ages 11 to 5) to Porto for four nights on the front end of our vacation in Portugal. We loved the hotel and the location. It is just outside the city center, which makes it less congested. A five to ten minute cab ride into town. The infinity pool is amazing, we went swimming everyday.

I see some comments about the hotel staff not being very friendly or professional. We did not experience this. The first morning we mistakenly showed up for breakfast 20 minutes late and most of the food was put away. They went back into the kitchen to bring us whatever we wanted, they could not have been more accommodating.

The physical hotel is beautiful and the views of the river are incredible. The layout is a little confusing but once we got the hang of it, we managed just fine.

I do agree the signage at the entrance could be more clear. we used the maps on our iPad to drive from Lisbon to the hotel. It is a very easy drive, but we passed the hotel on our first drive by. It took a few minutes to figure it out.

Overall, I can highly recommend the hotel and a few days in Porto. We had a great time.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor with windows facing a commercial area. The upper floors or windows facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Freixo, Gerente at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to Know you enjoyed your stay with us.
I'm happy to know you took the time to visit and enjoy the city. We now look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

I made reservations for our group of 10 travelling from north to south. We arrived early after a long flight, tired but committed to seeing parts of the city. The staff was extremely friendly and eager to help. They got us some coffee while we regrouped to venture out for some site seeing. When we finally returned to check in later in the afternoon, everything went smoothly. We had a beautiful room overlooking the palace. The beds were comfortable. Wifi worked well. The breakfast was more than adequate and certainly better than the typical chain breakfasts. We enjoyed drinks in the bar and the staff was very friendly. The grounds are beautiful. We stayed only 2 nights but I wish it had been longer. Porto turned out to be one of my favorite cities as we travelled throughout Portugal. I just may have to return and I would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canadachris44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Freixo, Gerente at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to Know you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your compliments about the service provided by our staff! They are indeed a great team.
Looking forward to welcome you back
Best regards
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Freixo Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

How lovely! A beautiful building. Amazing views. Swimming pool was truly lovely. It was a revelation and we are heading back to Portugal as soon as we can.

The staff were very helpful and all spoke good English. The service in the restaurant ws splendid on the first night, but not so good the second. We were asked to come back later although we had booked a table, as they were overwhelmed by number of diners. As you had to book it seemed a little unprepared of them. But everything else was great. The service by the pool was excellent and even the laundry service got several stains out that I didn't think would shift.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLCKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Freixo, Gerente at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your opinion about our hotel with us and with all our potential clients.
I’m glad you enjoyed our facilities and found our staff extremely nice and helpful. Looking forward to welcoming you back!
Kindest regards
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Freixo Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
1.9 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
2.0 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
1.7 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Porto River Aparthotel
Porto River Aparthotel
#4 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Palacio do Freixo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palacio do Freixo

Property: Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Address: Estrada Nacional 108, 206 | Campanha, Porto 4300-316, Portugal (Formerly Pousada do Porto - Freixo Palace Hotel)
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Porto
#2 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#4 Spa Hotel in Porto
#4 Business Hotel in Porto
#5 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Palacio do Freixo 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is situated by Porto's Douro River in a restored 18th-century Baroque building. It offers grand public areas with original architecture. Rooms at Pestana Palacio do Freixo are spacious, air-conditioned and have a separate seating area. Bathrooms include luxury amenities and a hairdryer. Some rooms offer Douro River views. Guests can relax on a sun lounger next to the Palacio Do Freixo's outdoor infinity pool which overlooks the river. The restaurant Palatium serves a daily buffet breakfast cooked with fresh ingredients. Guests can order light snacks at the pool or evening cocktails at the hotel's bar. The hotel is situated 2.5 km from the Dolce Vita Shopping Area and 1 km from Campanha Train Station. Porto Airport is a 20-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Palacio do Freixo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Do Freixo Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing