We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Ranked #5 of 106 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
50 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

From the check in to the check out, a really nice hotel. Perfect stay at the Palacio do Freixo hotel, managed by Pestana group and give to it a nice touch of a classic palace with the modern touches and service.

The hotel is not close to the city, you have either to get a taxi (6-8 Euro), drive to there (not so easy to find parking) or walk less then 5 minutes and take a bus (ZR line) that leave you in the Luiz I bridge and then you can explore the city. We usually took this option and could not regret of it ! The main entrance is located just after the "Museu da Imprensa" (Press and Media Museum). It is closed after 10 PM, but you can call the hotel and they will open.

From Luiz I bridge to the hotel is about 3 km, along the Douro river, and we walked back to the hotel in the afternoon and it was such a nice walk ! There is a lot of people jogging, fishing there and you can see all main bridges of Porto from a different perspective.

Staff is always courteous, but not fast all times, especially in the pool area. The pool area was our favorite spot there, once you can refresh from the hot summer of Portugal and by the end of the day, have a great time just waiting for the sunset in the Douro river.

Food is quite good, but quite expensive as well. They have a pretty good sort of wines and a sommelier is always available to give you good indications. Good sort of food in the breakfast as well.

The room was quite big to European standards and it is located in the old factory area. It has all modern amenities and free wifi connection to internet. The bathroom is a litlle dark, but very clean.

We had a very good experience in this hotel and definitely we will go back there !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdolfoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Freixo, Gerente at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Google Translation
Estimado Hóspede,
Gostaria de começar por agradecer o tempo que disponibilizou para publicar a sua opinião sobre a Pousada do Porto Freixo Palace Hotel no TripAdvisor, é para nós uma ferramenta de promoção do destino e do nosso Hotel com bastante relevo.
É para nós motivo de grande satisfação e orgulho saber que conseguimos corresponder as expectativas
Esperamos poder recebê-lo brevemente numa das Unidades Pestana.
Com os nossos respeitosos cumprimentos,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,235
    342
    83
    36
    14
See reviews for
352
974
16
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffielduk
Level Contributor
238 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This hotel is well described by previous reviewers and the hotel website which is accurate.

However our stay was spoilt by a wedding in the hotel occurring concurrent to our stay. It was a super wedding I'm sure but the disco directly outside our bedroom window started at 1.00am and finished at 4.30am when somebody finally pulled the plug.Boom! Boom! Boom! This is the sort of thing that creases you with laughter when it happens to somebody else, but to happen to us....! After a complaint the management surely made amends but actually booking out our room to anyone was unacceptable because management knew perfectly well this client and others were absolutely not going to get any sleep that night. If you are going to have a disco outside a bedroom window you don't book out that room. Period. Unless to the DJ perhaps. Especially not at 190euros per night. And management should not wait for the complaint before offering recompense when they know perfectly well they are going to ruin a guest's stay.
So,fellow Tripadvisor followers. If you are anticipating visting this hotel over a weekend do go as it is very nice. However, email to the hotel, via their head office if necessary, and confirm there is no wedding while you stay. If there is a wedding, accept no reassurances,DON'T GO.

Room Tip: Email the hotel if you are planning a Saturday stay to confirm there is no wedding while you are the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indefatigable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We were treated like a king and queen by the staff of this wonderful hotel. The main building (palace) is reception, bar, lounge and restaurant and is a feature filled area. Accomodation is in the building next door a fully converted (and well modernized) old factory. The rooms are a good size with all necessary amenities. Beds are very comfortable and windows double glazed. There is a beautiful horizon pool and associated bar overlooking the Douro River. It is very nice to enjoy the hospitality in such a location. The bar was good as was the restaurant choices. Average to high prices but good food. Breakfast was buffet style with a wide choice. Great hotel. Thou not in the city centre they have a free shuttle bus in and out of town.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ce105wine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Freixo, Gerente at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to Know you enjoyed your stay with us.
I'm happy to know you took the time to visit and enjoy the city. We now look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

The restored palace is fabulous. The modern rooms are very comfortable. Service was pleasant. The "mood lighting" in the bathroom and hallways is a bit dark. Pool is lovely. We passed by the main entrance three times before we found the hotel. They could certainly do with a bit of landscaping and water in the fountain out front. Location requires taking a 10 minute drive to the heart of Porto

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Freixo, Gerente at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,
Thank you very much for your feedback. Your constructive comments have already been shared with our management and we promise to focus on improving them.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon,
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This was the first Pousada Hotel we stayed in and received the warmest welcome by the staff.
The main building has been restored so beautifully. The staff were so helpful we could not fault anything at all they offered recommendations for restaurants which proved to be amazing and places we would never have found ourselves.
The hotel facilities were first class, the rooms large clean and peaceful.
There is not one thing I could fault.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Freixo, Gerente at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Guest ,
Thank you very much for your comments. The fact you have enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to gives feedback it’s the best award we can get and that’s what makes work even harder to meet all our guests’ expectations! Thank you!
We now look forward to the pleasure of meeting you back soon.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

Finding the entrance to this hotel by car was a bit of a challenge, approached through was seems like some waste land surrounded by industrial buildings but once you drive up a ramp into the car park everything changes. Reception in the original building was very welcoming and efficient. The rooms are in a separate block which was fine once you worked out the layout. Our room had what should have been a great view across the hotel pool and river beyond but a large historic industrial chimney blocked some of the view - another odd feature of the setting. The room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. We had an excellent dinner in the restaurant and the buffet breakfast was first class. We chose the location to be a little out of the city so it was easy to get to in our car from the motorway and that proved to be the case (apart from finding the entrance as above). We took a cab to the centre of the city for about 7 euros and then walked down to the river and across to the port cellars. The walk back to the hotel from there took about 40 minutes. Overall, the hotel was perfect for our short trip to Porto and we would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonandDenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Freixo, Gerente at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to Know you enjoyed your stay with us.
I'm happy to know you took the time to visit and enjoy the city. We now look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
280 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We spent three nights here before heading off inland. The reception staff were excellent throughout our stay. Good sized rooms with robes/slippers to make a trip to the infinity pool easy. dinner in the restaurant was 150€ for four but 3 of us had 3 courses and two bottles of wine. Great service in restaurant at dinner and breakfast (which had a great selection incl a free glass of sparkling!). Couldn't fault this hotel and loved the decor in the public room areas. Provide a shuttle bus into town centre AM and PM.

Room Tip: Go superior for a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Freixo, Gerente at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to Know you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your compliments about the service provided by our staff! They are indeed a great team.
Looking forward to welcome you back
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
1.9 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
2.0 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
1.7 mi away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#8 of 106 in Porto
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Palacio do Freixo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palacio do Freixo

Property: Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Address: Estrada Nacional 108, 206 | Campanha, Porto 4300-316, Portugal (Formerly Pousada do Porto - Freixo Palace Hotel)
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Porto
#2 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#4 Spa Hotel in Porto
#4 Business Hotel in Porto
#5 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Palacio do Freixo 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is situated by Porto's Douro River in a restored 18th-century Baroque building. It offers grand public areas with original architecture. Rooms at Pestana Palacio do Freixo are spacious, air-conditioned and have a separate seating area. Bathrooms include luxury amenities and a hairdryer. Some rooms offer Douro River views. Guests can relax on a sun lounger next to the Palacio Do Freixo's outdoor infinity pool which overlooks the river. The restaurant Palatium serves a daily buffet breakfast cooked with fresh ingredients. Guests can order light snacks at the pool or evening cocktails at the hotel's bar. The hotel is situated 2.5 km from the Dolce Vita Shopping Area and 1 km from Campanha Train Station. Porto Airport is a 20-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Palacio do Freixo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Do Freixo Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing