We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Nearby Hotels
US$236
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$287
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$226
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$303
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$283
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$65
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,049)
Filter reviews
2,049 results
Traveller rating
1,478
406
100
42
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,478
406
100
42
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold palacedouro riverinfinity poolflour millfactory buildingshuttle busbeautiful hotelshuttle servicemain buildingpublic roomswalk along the riverporto centrea short taxi rideguest roomsrooms are largebreakfast was excellentvisiting porto
Filter
Updating list...
781 - 786 of 2,049 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I agree with other reviewers - finding this place is not easy and even when you get there you think you are in the wrong place as the surrounding area is quite industrial. But, when you enter the Palace - where all the public rooms are - it is quite jaw dropping. The rooms are in a separate building - the lighting in the corridors is very dim - probably to hide the fowl colour on the walls! Our room was large and had lovely view of the river. The restaurant was excellent - for evening meal. Breakfast was very busy and ok. ( had been spoiled at previous stop !)
Pool and sunbathing areas are all lovely. Very helpful bar staff by pool. Would stay here again - taxi into Porto very reasonable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cariBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Freixo, Gerente at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,
Thank you very much for your feedback. Your constructive comments have already been shared with our management and we promise to focus on improving them.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon,
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

From the check in to the check out, a really nice hotel. Perfect stay at the Palacio do Freixo hotel, managed by Pestana group and give to it a nice touch of a classic palace with the modern touches and service.

The hotel is not close to the city, you have either to get a taxi (6-8 Euro), drive to there (not so easy to find parking) or walk less then 5 minutes and take a bus (ZR line) that leave you in the Luiz I bridge and then you can explore the city. We usually took this option and could not regret of it ! The main entrance is located just after the "Museu da Imprensa" (Press and Media Museum). It is closed after 10 PM, but you can call the hotel and they will open.

From Luiz I bridge to the hotel is about 3 km, along the Douro river, and we walked back to the hotel in the afternoon and it was such a nice walk ! There is a lot of people jogging, fishing there and you can see all main bridges of Porto from a different perspective.

Staff is always courteous, but not fast all times, especially in the pool area. The pool area was our favorite spot there, once you can refresh from the hot summer of Portugal and by the end of the day, have a great time just waiting for the sunset in the Douro river.

Food is quite good, but quite expensive as well. They have a pretty good sort of wines and a sommelier is always available to give you good indications. Good sort of food in the breakfast as well.

The room was quite big to European standards and it is located in the old factory area. It has all modern amenities and free wifi connection to internet. The bathroom is a litlle dark, but very clean.

We had a very good experience in this hotel and definitely we will go back there !

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdolfoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Freixo, Gerente at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013
Google Translation

Estimado Hóspede,
Gostaria de começar por agradecer o tempo que disponibilizou para publicar a sua opinião sobre a Pousada do Porto Freixo Palace Hotel no TripAdvisor, é para nós uma ferramenta de promoção do destino e do nosso Hotel com bastante relevo.
É para nós motivo de grande satisfação e orgulho saber que conseguimos corresponder as expectativas
Esperamos poder recebê-lo brevemente numa das Unidades Pestana.
Com os nossos respeitosos cumprimentos,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This hotel is well described by previous reviewers and the hotel website which is accurate.

However our stay was spoilt by a wedding in the hotel occurring concurrent to our stay. It was a super wedding I'm sure but the disco directly outside our bedroom window started at 1.00am and finished at 4.30am when somebody finally pulled the plug.Boom! Boom! Boom! This is the sort of thing that creases you with laughter when it happens to somebody else, but to happen to us....! After a complaint the management surely made amends but actually booking out our room to anyone was unacceptable because management knew perfectly well this client and others were absolutely not going to get any sleep that night. If you are going to have a disco outside a bedroom window you don't book out that room. Period. Unless to the DJ perhaps. Especially not at 190euros per night. And management should not wait for the complaint before offering recompense when they know perfectly well they are going to ruin a guest's stay.
So,fellow Tripadvisor followers. If you are anticipating visting this hotel over a weekend do go as it is very nice. However, email to the hotel, via their head office if necessary, and confirm there is no wedding while you stay. If there is a wedding, accept no reassurances,DON'T GO.

Room Tip: Email the hotel if you are planning a Saturday stay to confirm there is no wedding while you are there. If there is a wedding ask for a rear room or DONT GO. The river view (front) is nice.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indefatigable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We were treated like a king and queen by the staff of this wonderful hotel. The main building (palace) is reception, bar, lounge and restaurant and is a feature filled area. Accomodation is in the building next door a fully converted (and well modernized) old factory. The rooms are a good size with all necessary amenities. Beds are very comfortable and windows double glazed. There is a beautiful horizon pool and associated bar overlooking the Douro River. It is very nice to enjoy the hospitality in such a location. The bar was good as was the restaurant choices. Average to high prices but good food. Breakfast was buffet style with a wide choice. Great hotel. Thou not in the city centre they have a free shuttle bus in and out of town.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ce105wine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Freixo, Gerente at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to Know you enjoyed your stay with us.
I'm happy to know you took the time to visit and enjoy the city. We now look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The restored palace is fabulous. The modern rooms are very comfortable. Service was pleasant. The "mood lighting" in the bathroom and hallways is a bit dark. Pool is lovely. We passed by the main entrance three times before we found the hotel. They could certainly do with a bit of landscaping and water in the fountain out front. Location requires taking a 10 minute drive to the heart of Porto

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Freixo, Gerente at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,
Thank you very much for your feedback. Your constructive comments have already been shared with our management and we promise to focus on improving them.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon,
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews