We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Nearby Hotels
US$450
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$399
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$234
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$530
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$356
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$308
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$300
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$330
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$286
HotelQuickly
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (2,049)
Filter reviews
2,049 results
Traveller rating
1,478
406
100
42
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,478
406
100
42
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold palacedouro riverinfinity poolflour millfactory buildingshuttle busbeautiful hotelshuttle servicemain buildingpublic roomswalk along the riverporto centrea short taxi rideguest roomsrooms are largebreakfast was excellentvisiting porto
Filter
Updating list...
778 - 783 of 2,049 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Just returned from Porto from an enjoyable trip to this very interesting and atmospheric city. Being usually lucky weather wise I suppose we were bound to get some inclement weather at some point and had rain every day during our long weekend, but then its not 'green' Portugal for nothing. Any issue with the weather was offset by Porto and the superb Palacio do Freixo. Staff were extremely friendly and absolutely nothing was too much trouble for them. Breakfast was good and plentiful and rooms and facilities were of a high standard. As we enjoy walking we did not mind the 45 minutes relatively brisk walk to get from the hotel to the main bit of Town and it was all along the river Duoro so no complaints. Taxis and buses are easily available anyway.
Definately will stay here again next visit to Porto.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miwani59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Freixo, Gerente at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your excellent comments in Tripadvisor. Your opinion is very important to the Pousada do Porto Freixo Palace Hotel and to other guests that consider a trip to Porto. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future.
With kind regards
Freixo Palace Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Our holiday was booked at short notice and we were not sure what to expect. From the moment of our arrival at the Hotel (a Pousada) we were warmly welcomed by the reception staff, and found that all the staff were unfailingly polite and helpful. Restaurant food was good, as was the breakfast buffet, which was very generous. Our room overlooked the river and was very clean and comfortable. The room was quiet - no noisy gurgling pipes, or TV coming through the walls. We walked in to Porto one day and enjoyed seeing all the activity on and around the river. We found the old city very walkable - if rather steep at times! - and again encountered nothing but friendly welcomes whether in cafes, shops, museums, or churches. Taxis to and from Porto cost from 6 to 8 euros a trip, depending upon where we travelled from. We also used the Blue Bus hop on and off, which enabled us to see a lot more of the town than would have been possible otherwise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Douro. Ask for a double bed, we had twins pushed together.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josephine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Freixo, Gerente at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to Know you enjoyed your stay with us.
I'm happy to know you took the time to visit and enjoy the city. We now look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel. We had upgraded to a superior room. On checkin we were given a small room, 2 twins pushed together. When I spoke to the clerk at the desk, he informed me this was a superior room, "because it had a view". Browsing other rooms, we were well aware we had received one of the smallest rooms in the hotel. The hotel seems to have had better days. It is a palace but you actually stay in another building which can be like a maze to get to. We were told it was about 30 minute walk to the old town, it actually took us over an hour to get there. We took the hop on hop off bus into town in the mornings then a taxi back in the evenings. The service was so, so. Not overly friendly or personable. Breakfast was acceptable, dinners pricey but OK. Overall this was not what I expected for the price we paid. I would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank judy845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I agree with other reviewers - finding this place is not easy and even when you get there you think you are in the wrong place as the surrounding area is quite industrial. But, when you enter the Palace - where all the public rooms are - it is quite jaw dropping. The rooms are in a separate building - the lighting in the corridors is very dim - probably to hide the fowl colour on the walls! Our room was large and had lovely view of the river. The restaurant was excellent - for evening meal. Breakfast was very busy and ok. ( had been spoiled at previous stop !)
Pool and sunbathing areas are all lovely. Very helpful bar staff by pool. Would stay here again - taxi into Porto very reasonable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cariBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Freixo, Gerente at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,
Thank you very much for your feedback. Your constructive comments have already been shared with our management and we promise to focus on improving them.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon,
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

From the check in to the check out, a really nice hotel. Perfect stay at the Palacio do Freixo hotel, managed by Pestana group and give to it a nice touch of a classic palace with the modern touches and service.

The hotel is not close to the city, you have either to get a taxi (6-8 Euro), drive to there (not so easy to find parking) or walk less then 5 minutes and take a bus (ZR line) that leave you in the Luiz I bridge and then you can explore the city. We usually took this option and could not regret of it ! The main entrance is located just after the "Museu da Imprensa" (Press and Media Museum). It is closed after 10 PM, but you can call the hotel and they will open.

From Luiz I bridge to the hotel is about 3 km, along the Douro river, and we walked back to the hotel in the afternoon and it was such a nice walk ! There is a lot of people jogging, fishing there and you can see all main bridges of Porto from a different perspective.

Staff is always courteous, but not fast all times, especially in the pool area. The pool area was our favorite spot there, once you can refresh from the hot summer of Portugal and by the end of the day, have a great time just waiting for the sunset in the Douro river.

Food is quite good, but quite expensive as well. They have a pretty good sort of wines and a sommelier is always available to give you good indications. Good sort of food in the breakfast as well.

The room was quite big to European standards and it is located in the old factory area. It has all modern amenities and free wifi connection to internet. The bathroom is a litlle dark, but very clean.

We had a very good experience in this hotel and definitely we will go back there !

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdolfoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Freixo, Gerente at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013
Google Translation

Estimado Hóspede,
Gostaria de começar por agradecer o tempo que disponibilizou para publicar a sua opinião sobre a Pousada do Porto Freixo Palace Hotel no TripAdvisor, é para nós uma ferramenta de promoção do destino e do nosso Hotel com bastante relevo.
É para nós motivo de grande satisfação e orgulho saber que conseguimos corresponder as expectativas
Esperamos poder recebê-lo brevemente numa das Unidades Pestana.
Com os nossos respeitosos cumprimentos,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews