We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pestana Palacio do Freixo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Ranked #5 of 103 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Warboys
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

stayed here for 4 nights in early January. The place is split in to two parts.
The old house with the reception bar and restaurant. With the bedrooms in the building next joined by a covered walk way.

Can nott fault the food or the rooms. The staff were great and nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BigPhilWarboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Freixo, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your opinion about our hotel with us and with all our potential clients.
I’m glad you enjoyed our facilities and found our staff extremely nice and helpful. Looking forward to welcoming you back!
Kind regards
Pousada do Porto Freixo Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,138
    324
    78
    34
    14
See reviews for
328
904
16
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yuma, AZ
Level Contributor
215 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed here for two days just before Christmas. I had checked the hotel reviews on line before booking the hotel and all of the reviews were positive. The hotel was everything I had hoped for and more. Very comfortable with everything one might want in a hotel. A beautiful location overlooking the Douro and just a short taxi or shuttle ride into downtown. The hotel provides shuttle service. We had intended on traveling north of Porto to Viana do Castelo but the weather turned bad. The staff was most helpful in assisting us in changing our plans and finding a nice Pousada in the south. If I am ever back in Porto, I'll be staying here. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dnreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Freixo, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your opinion about our hotel with us and with all our potential clients.
I’m glad you enjoyed our facilities and found our staff extremely nice and helpful. Looking forward to welcoming you back!
Kindest regards
Pousada do Porto Freixo Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We staying here Xmas eve and day. We pretty much had the pool and sauna to ourselves. Using two elevators to get from the room to the bar, lobby and restaurants was a bit confusing. Breakfast was terrific, including the champagne we poured in our oj. No reservations available for lunch on Xmas day but dinner was good. The amuse Boucher were a bit uninspired, but the cod entree was excellent. Dessert too was not of interest. Loved the port when we signed in. They could use a shuttle to town. Don't get lost trying to find the place as we ended up quite lost.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYNJexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Freixo, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your excellent comments in Tripadvisor. Your opinion is very important to the Pousada do Porto Freixo Palace Hotel and to other guests that consider a trip to Porto. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future.
With kind regards
Freixo Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo
Level Contributor
86 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at Palacio do Freixo and definetly it was one of the best hotels during our trip to Portugal. The hotel is a perfect combination of antique and modern, history and comfort. The old building where the restaurant is located was perfectly restored and is beautifully maintained. The rooms are located in another building with all the comfort you may need. Excellent sleep quality with spotless sheets and duvet. Spacious rooms and nice bathroom. The breakfast is great, very good options with a friendly stafff. The hotel restaurant is a must go place. Try the "bochechas de porco", exquisite!!!
Even though it is located on the margins of river Douro, it is a 10 minutes drive by car to the city centre, not a problem if you rent a car like we did. Nice gym and heated indoor swimming pool. The outdoor one seemed very nice too but weather conditions didn't allow us to use it.
Very good choice!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saopaulo36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Freixo, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Google Translation
Exmo Sr,
Gostaria de agradecer a sua disponibilidade em colocar a sua descrição sobre a experiência que teve durante a sua estadia na Pousada do Porto Freixo Palace Hotel.
Os seus comentários serão partilhados com toda a Equipa que certamente ficará satisfeita e motivada.
Esperamos poder receber-vos em breve.
Com os melhores cumprimentos,
Pousada do Porto Freixo Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

If you are about to visit Porto this is a fantastic place to stay. Friendly helpful staff throughout all areas, excellent accomodation, that is clean, spacious and comfortable in nice size bedrooms. Though a little way out from Porto Centre it is only a 7.50 Euro taxi ride away when ordered by the consierge on your behalf, which they are only too pleased to do, the return fare is a little bit less. We thoroughly enjoyed Porto and the stay was even more enjoyable because of the standard of hospitality afforded by the Palacio do Freixo, just wish we had been able to stay for a couple of nights longer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the river Douro, peaceful, private perfection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Freixo, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad to Know you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your compliments about the service provided by our staff! They are indeed a great team.
Looking forward to welcome you back
Best regards
Freixo Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

One of the most beautiful hotels we stayed in on our recent trip to Spain and Portugal was the Pousada Palacio do Freixo in Porto, Portugal. This is a Historical palace in Northern Portugal overlooking the Douro river and close to Porto's city centre and Port wine cellars. Since the hotel is away from the mainstream of activity it is preferable to eat at the hotel restaurant. The food is fabulous and the service really 5 star. The decor is really old world. Unfortunately it was raining during our stay there so the outdoor restaurant and pool could not be used. Would recommend it most heartily.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the Douro river. There are very few rooms with balconies, so one needs to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bernper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Freixo, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your opinion about our Pousada with us and with all our potential clients.
I’m glad you enjoyed our facilities and found our staff extremely nice and helpful. Looking forward to welcoming you back!
Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walnut creek,ca.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Easy to find by car.Great attention to restoration.Service was excellent.Would recommend to a friend.Found on T.A. Thanks...it was as promised.And an indoor as well as outdoor pool.Aroom facing the river in the old building would have been nice but who knew..our room overlooked decaying houses and light industry..just close your eyes and head for the pool bar

Room Tip: River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thebearmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Freixo, Gerente de recepção at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments. The fact you have enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to give feedback it’s the best award we can get.
Our main objective is to achieve all our guests’ satisfaction and we promise to focus on that! Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
1.9 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
2.0 mi away
Pestana Vintage Porto
1.7 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Porto River Apartments
Porto River Apartments
#3 of 103 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Palacio do Freixo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palacio do Freixo

Property: Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Address: Estrada Nacional 108, 206 | Campanha, Porto 4300-316, Portugal (Formerly Pousada do Porto - Freixo Palace Hotel)
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Porto
#2 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#4 Business Hotel in Porto
#4 Spa Hotel in Porto
#5 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Palacio do Freixo 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is situated by Porto's Douro River in a restored 18th-century Baroque building. It offers grand public areas with original architecture. Rooms at Pestana Palacio do Freixo are spacious, air-conditioned and have a separate seating area. Bathrooms include luxury amenities and a hairdryer. Some rooms offer Douro River views. Guests can relax on a sun lounger next to the Palacio Do Freixo's outdoor infinity pool which overlooks the river. The restaurant Palatium serves a daily buffet breakfast cooked with fresh ingredients. Guests can order light snacks at the pool or evening cocktails at the hotel's bar. The hotel is situated 2.5 km from the Dolce Vita Shopping Area and 1 km from Campanha Train Station. Porto Airport is a 20-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Pestana Palacio do Freixo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Do Freixo Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing